MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: June 2007 all highlights

Building up the brightest galaxies of the Universe.

Brightest cluster galaxies are among the most luminous and massive systems in the Universe at the present epoch. Scientists at MPA have studied their formation and evolution by coupling the largest dark matter cosmological simulation carried out so far to the state-of-art semi-analytic models.

Fig. 1: The "merger tree" of a model BCG.

Fig. 2: Assembly (blue) and formation (green) histories of model BCGs. The solid lines indicate the median value, and the dashed regions indicate the scatter.

Brightest cluster galaxies (BCGs) are the very luminous galaxies that inhabit the cores of rich galaxy clusters ( linkPfeil.gif Research Highlight November 2003 , linkPfeil.gif Research Highlight March 2007 ). These galaxies are among the most luminous and most massive systems in the Universe at the present epoch, and their formation involves complex physical processes like "cooling flows" and "cannibalism". The former mechanism is related to the fact that the hot gas (typically 2-14 keV) in the cores of galaxy clusters can lose energy via X-ray radiation. As the gas cools, the pressure decreases so that the intra-cluster medium gradually contracts. The second mechanism is due to the loss of momentum and kinetic energy of moving bodies through gravitational interaction with the surrounding matter. As a consequence, galaxies orbiting in a galaxy cluster, gradually sink towards the centre, eventually merging with the central galaxy.

Scientists at MPA have studied the formation and evolution of BCGs taking advantage of the largest dark matter cosmological simulation carried out so far - the Millennium Simulation (linkPfeil.gif Research Highlight August 2004). In order to model the observable properties of the galaxies (like their mass, luminosity, colour, etc.), Gabriella De Lucia & Jeremy Blaizot have coupled the high-resolution N-body simulation to semi-analytic models of galaxy formation (linkPfeil.gif Research Highlight May 2004). In these models, the evolution of the baryonic components (gas and stars) is "painted" on top of the history of dark matter haloes using simple relations that are supported by observational data and by theoretical arguments.

Fig.1 shows the "history" of a BCG. In the astronomical jargon, this diagram is referred to as "galaxy merger tree", and it can be considered as the equivalent of a family tree. The BCG itself is plotted at the top, and all its progenitors (and also their histories) are plotted backward in time recursively. Galaxies with stellar masses larger than ~10^10 Msun are shown as symbols, while lower mass galaxies are shown as lines. The size of the symbols scales with stellar mass, while the colour scales with the colour of the galaxy itself, which can be considered as a proxy for the age of the stellar population. The left-most branch in Fig.1 represents what is usually called "main branch". This is obtained by connecting the galaxy at each time-step to the progenitor with the largest stellar mass (the main progenitor) at the previous time-step. Fig.1 shows that this particular branch does not contain all the information needed to explain the properties of the final galaxy. When viewed at earlier times, the BCG is no longer a single object, rather it is the "ensemble" of its progenitors at that time. At late times, the main branch contains most of the final mass, but this is not true at earlier times when the main progenitor is only marginally more massive than other branches of the tree.

Given the complexity of the merger history shown in Fig.1, it is helpful to define some "times" that mark important phases in the evolution of a BCG. In particular, we call "assembly time" the time when the main progenitor contains half the final stellar mass of the BCG, and "formation time" as the time when the total mass of stars formed reaches half of the final mass. By total mass, we mean, at each cosmic time, the sum of the stellar masses of all the progenitors present at a given time, i.e. the projection of Fig. 1 onto the vertical time axis.

Fig. 2 shows the evolution of the mass in the main branch (blue) and of the total mass of stars formed (green) as a function of cosmic time. The solid lines and the dashed regions in Fig.2 show the median and the scatter obtained considering an ensemble of 125 BCGs. For essentially all the objects in the sample, half of the stars that end up in the final galaxy are already formed more than 10 billion years ago. Only at much later times (typically after about 7 billion years) these stars merge toghether to form a single massive system. Since, however, most of the galaxies accreted onto BCGs have little gas and are already dominated by old stars, this late accretion does not change the apparent age of BCGs at present time.

Model BCGs are therefore old (i.e. their stars formed very early), but their mass assembled quite late. The increase in mass in the last ~8 billion years found by these models, appears to be in qualitative agreement with observational data. Future detailed comparisons with observations will provide strong constraints on the physical processes regulating the formation and evolution of this special class of objects.


Gabriella De Lucia and Jeremy Blaizot

Publication

Gabriella De Lucia, Jeremy Blaizot
"The hierarchical formation of the brightest cluster galaxies",
Mon. Not. R. Astron. Soc., 375, 2 (2007)


drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2007-5-31

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: Juni 2007 Zur Übersicht

Wie man die hellsten Galaxien des Universums bastelt.

Hellste Haufengalaxien gehören zu den leuchtkräftigsten und massereichsten Objekten im heutigen Universum. Mithilfe der bisher größten kosmologischen Simulation Dunkler Materie sowie modernster semi-analytischer Modelle haben Wissenschaftler des MPA nun ihre Entstehung und Entwicklung untersucht.

Abb. 1: Der "merger tree" einer simulierten BCG.

Abb. 2: Die Masse im Hauptast (blau) und die Gesamtmasse an gebildeten Sternen (grün) als Funktion der Zeit für ein Ensemble simulierter BCGs. Die durchgezogenen Linien zeigen den Median, die schraffierten Bereiche die Streuung.

Hellste Haufengalaxien (auf englisch "Brightest Cluster Galaxies", BCGs) sind die extrem hellen Galaxien in den Zentren von Galaxienhaufen ( linkPfeil.gif Research Highlight November 2003 , linkPfeil.gif Research Highlight March 2007 ). Diese Galaxien gehören zu den leuchtkräftigsten und massereichsten Objekten im heutigen Universum und ihre Entstehungsgeschichte beinhaltet komplizierte physikalische Prozesse wie "cooling flows" und "Kannibalismus". Ersterer bezieht sich darauf, dass das heiße Gas (typischerweise 2-14 keV) in den Zentren von Galaxienhaufen durch Abstrahlung von Röntgenstrahlen Energie verliert. Wenn das Gas auf diese Art kühlt, sinkt der Druck, und infolgedessen kontrahiert und verdichtet sich das Gas. Der zweite Mechanismus resultiert daraus, dass ein sich bewegendes Objekt kinetische Energie und Impuls durch gravitative Wechselwirkung mit der umgebenden Materie verliert. Dadurch sinken Galaxien in Galaxienhaufen allmählich ins Zentrum, wo sie mit der zentralen Galaxie verschmelzen.

Wissenschaftler am MPA haben die Entstehung und Entwicklung von BCGs anhand der Millennium Simulation untersucht - der zur Zeit größten kosmologischen Simulation Dunkler Materie (linkPfeil.gif Research Highlight August 2004) modellieren zu können, haben Gabriella De Lucia & Jeremy Blaizot die hochauflösende N-Teilchen Simulation mit semi-analytischen Modellen der Galaxienentstehung gekoppelt (linkPfeil.gif Research Highlight May 2004). In diesen Modellen werden die baryonischen Komponenten (Gas und Sterne) und ihre Entwicklung auf die Entstehungsgeschichten Dunkler Materie Halos "aufgemalt" anhand einfacher Beziehungen, welche auf Beobachtungen und theoretischen Argumenten basieren.

Abb. 1 zeigt die Entstehungsgeschichte einer BCG. Unter Astronomen wird dieses Diagramm als "merger tree" ("Verschmelzungsbaum") bezeichnet, und entspricht dem Stammbaum einer Galaxie. Die BCG wird ganz oben im Diagramm gezeigt, und ihre Vorfahren (und deren Entstehungsgeschichten) werden rekursiv, in der Zeit rückläufig gezeigt. Galaxien mit stellaren Massen größer als ~10^10 Sonnenmassen werden durch Symbole angezeigt, masseärmere Galaxien als Linien. Die Größe der Symbole skaliert mit der stellaren Masse, während die Farbe mit der Farbe der Galaxie skaliert, und somit als Anzeichen des mittleren Alters der Sternenpopulation gesehen werden kann. Der linke "Ast" in Abb. 1 ist der "Hauptast" ("main branch"). Dieser entsteht dadurch, dass man zu jedem Zeitschritt die Galaxie mit dem Vorfahren mit der größten stellaren Masse des vorigen Zeitschrittes (dem Hauptvorfahren) verbindet. Wie Abb. 1 zeigt, genügt der Hauptast nicht, um die Eigenschaften der endgültigen Galaxie zu erklären. Zu frühen Zeiten kann die BCG nicht als einzelnes Objekt, sondern nur als das Ensemble ihrer Vorfahren beschrieben werden. Später enthält der Hauptast dann einen Großteil der endgültigen Masse, aber dies gilt nicht zu früheren Zeiten, wo der Hauptvorfahre kaum mehr Masse besitzt als die anderen Vorfahren (bzw. Äste).

Angesichts der Komplexität der Verschmelzungsgeschichte in Abb. 1 ist es hilfreich, gewisse Zeitpunkte zu definieren, die wichtige Phasen in der Entstehung der BCG markieren. Insbesondere bezeichnen wir als "assembly time" den Zeitpunkt, an dem der Hauptvorgänger die Hälfte der endgültigen stellaren Masse der BCG enthält, und als "formation time" den Zeitpunkt, an dem die Gesamtmasse an bereits gebildeten Sternen die Hälfte der endgültigen stellaren Masse erreicht. Mit Gesamtmasse meinen wir zu jeder Epoche die Summe der stellaren Massen all der zu diesem Zeitpunkt vorhandenen Vorfahren (also die Projektion von Abb. 1 auf die vertikale Zeitachse).

Abb. 2 zeigt die Masse im Hauptast (blau) und die Gesamtmasse an gebildeten Sternen (grün) als Funktion der Zeit. Die durchgezogenen Linien und schraffierten Bereiche zeigen den Median und die Streuung für ein Ensemble von 125 BCGs. Für fast alle BCGs hat sich die Hälfte der Sterne der endgültigen Galaxie bereits vor mehr als 10 Milliarden Jahren gebildet. Erst viel später (typischerweise nach etwa 7 Milliarden Jahren) befinden sich diese Sterne in einem einzelnen, massereichen System. Da allerdings die meisten Galaxien, die mit der BCG verschmelzen, hauptsächlich alte Sterne und nur noch wenig Gas enthalten, ändern diese Verschmelzungen nicht das mittlere Alter der BCGs heute.

Die simulierten BCGs sind deshalb alt (d.h. ihre Sterne sind sehr früh entstanden), aber ihre Masse wurde erst spät zusammengefügt. Die Massenzunahme in den letzten ~8 Milliarden Jahren in diesen Modellen scheint qualitativ mit Beobachtungen übereinzustimmen. Zukünftige detaillierte Vergleiche mit Beobachtungen werden genauere Beschreibungen der physikalischen Prozesse ermöglichen, die die Entstehung und Entwicklung dieser speziellen Objekte regulieren.


Gabriella De Lucia and Jeremy Blaizot

Veröffentlichung

Gabriella De Lucia, Jeremy Blaizot
"The hierarchical formation of the brightest cluster galaxies",
Mon. Not. R. Astron. Soc., 375, 2 (2007)


drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2019, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 2.7.2007