MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: January 2006 all highlights

Feeding the Milky Way Central Black Hole with Stellar Winds

Using novel computer simulations, scientists at the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics have investigated the gas flows in the centre of the Milky Way. The models show that the black hole there, Sgr A*, swallows only a small fraction of the gas, and that the rate at which this happens is highly variable with time. Most of the gas, however, escapes away from the black hole. This explains partially the current low luminosity of Sgr A*, but the scientists' models also lead to the prediction that periods of much higher activity can be expected in the future.

Fig. 1: Movie showing the gas expelled from the stars, the "stellar winds", in a simulation of the Galactic Centre. The stars are shown as black dots in the movie, and the black hole (not shown) is in the centre. Part of the gas cools and form clumps (shown in yellow) and, in this simulation, a disc is formed by these clumps. However, most of the gas escapes from the inner region, while a small quantity is consumed by the black hole. [To play you may need to install the free DivX codecs.]

Fig. 2:"Accretion rate", that is the quantity of gas consumed by the black hole, as a function of time for the simulation shown in Fig. 1. When one of the cool clumps goes to the proximity of the black hole, it is eaten and a peak in the accretion rate is produced.

It is now believed that there is a super-massive black hole at the centre of every galaxy. Our own Galaxy, the Milky Way, is no exception. At its centre, 26,000 light years away from us, there is a very massive black hole called Sgr A*. It is 3 million times more massive than the Sun. Astronomers cannot see the black hole directly, but they have used the largest telescopes to measure the motion of stars close to it. The orbits of stars around Sgr A*, like the Moon orbit around the Earth, permit astronomers to calculate the mass of the central object, and in this case show beyond any doubt the presence of the giant monster.

Even though black holes cannot be directly seen (they are black), the gas that falls onto them usually emits a lot of radiation, because the matter is compressed by the strong gravitational force, making it very hot. This is how quasars are created, very bright objects in the centres of far away galaxies, which are powered by accreting black holes. But in Sgr A* almost nothing is seen. This is a puzzle, because there are many stars close to the black hole. The stars are at a safe distance from the black hole, but the gas they expel, the "stellar winds", should be falling onto the black hole and producing much more light. To understand the reason of this low luminosity, it is very important to know how much gas gets captured by the black hole. Moreover, Sgr A* is the closest massive black hole from us, and studying its dimness will help to understand black holes in general.

In the Galactic centre, there are dozens of stars, each producing gas that flows in all directions. The gas is attracted to the black hole by gravity, and moreover gas streams coming from different stars collide with each other. All this produces very complicated gas motions. One cannot study this complexity with analytical equations, so it is necessary to run sophisticated simulations in super-computers to get a clear picture of what is happening.

Using Gadget, a computational code developed at MPA, scientists at this institute have started to study this problem. They have found that the stellar winds indeed produce a complicated gas morphology in the inner region (see Fig. 1). Part of the gas forms cool clumps, and some of these clumps have a trajectory that takes them to the black hole. Each time this happens, maybe every 100 years, the amount of material that falls onto the black hole, the so-called "accretion rate" (see Fig. 2), increases, and the region could become very luminous. It is interesting to note that observations show that just 350 year ago Sgr A* was indeed much brighter. This higher luminosity was perhaps caused by the kind of variability found in this simulation, and we can expect similar activity in the future.

The new simulations also showed that only a fraction of the winds go to the inner region, close to the black hole. This can be understood as a consequence of the stellar motions. Since the stars are orbiting the black hole, they give already some important initial velocity to the stellar winds, making it easier for the gas to escape from the black hole. However, this effect is not enough to explain the very low luminosity of the gas around Sgr A*, and it seems that the complicated processes of radiative cooling and hydrodynamic shock waves in the close proximity of the black hole play an important role. With the results of the detailed simulations being ran at MPA, physicists develop a better understanding of the physics of this inner region and how the "feeding" of supermassive black holes works.


J. Cuadra, S. Nayakshin, V. Springel, T. Di Matteo

Further information

linkPfeil.gif Accretion of Stellar Winds in the Galactic Centre

Original publications

Accretion of cool stellar winds on Sgr A*: another puzzle of the Galactic Centre?, MNRAS 360 (2005) L55
linkPfeilExtern.gifastro-ph/0502044

Galactic Centre stellar winds and Sgr A* accretion, MNRAS, in press
linkPfeilExtern.gifastro-ph/0505382

Related topics at the MPA website

linkPfeil.gif The parallel lives of super-massive black holes and their host galaxies

linkPfeil.gif Colliding galaxies light up dormant black holes

linkPfeil.gif The largest N-body simulation of the universe

linkPfeil.gif Low Mass Black Holes Still Grow Today

linkPfeil.gif RXTE 3-20 keV all sky survey, Statistical properties of local AGNs

linkPfeil.gif Frozen accretion and spectacular X-ray bursts from the black hole in our Galactic Center

linkPfeil.gif Does the black hole in the center of our Galaxy rotate clockwise?

linkPfeil.gif The Connection Between Active Galactic Nuclei and Starbursts


drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2006-1-2

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: Januar 2006 Zur Übersicht

Wie das Schwarze Loch im Zentrum unserer Galaxis gefüttert wird

Mit neuartigen numerischen Simulationen haben Wissenschaftler am MPI für Astrophysik untersucht, wie Gas in das Zentrum der Galaxis fließt. Die Modelle zeigen, daß das dortige Schwarze Loch, Sgr A*, nur einen kleinen Teil des vorhandenen Gases schluckt, und dies mit einer stark variablen Rate. Der größte Teil entweicht wieder aus der Nähe des Lochs. Die erklärt zum Teil die zur Zeit niedrige Leuchtkraft von Sgr A*, aber die Modelle führen auch zu der Vorhersage, daß in Zukunft Episoden viel höherer Aktivität zu erwarten sind.

Abb. 1: Der Film zeigt von Sternen ausströmendes Gas ("Sternwinde") im Zentrum unserer Milchstraße, in einer numerischen Simulation. Die Sterne sind mit Punkte markiert, das Loch selbst (nicht dargestellt) ist in der Bildmitte. Ein Teil des Gases kühlt ab, bildet Klumpen (gelb) und es ensteht daraus in dieser Simulation eine Scheibe. Das meiste Gas aber entweicht aus diesem Bereich, nur ein kleiner Teil wird vom Loch geschluckt. [Zum Abspielen wird der kostenlose DivX-Codec gebraucht].

Abb. 2:"Akkretionsrate", d.h. die Gasmenge die vom Loch eingefangen wird als Funktion der Zeit, aus der Simulation von Abb. 1. Wenn einer der kühlen Klumpen in die Nähe des Lochs gerät, wird er geschluckt und verursacht eine Spitze in der Akkretionsrate.

Es wird jetzt angenommen, daß es im Zentrum jeder Galaxie ein schweres Schwarzes Loch gibt. Unsere eigene Milchstraße ist keine Ausnahme; im Zentrum gibt es ein schweres Loch an der Stelle einer Radioquelle namens Sgr A*, 3 Millionen mal so schwer wie die Sonne. Astronomen können es nicht direkt sehen, haben aber mit Großteleskopen die Bewegungen von Sternen in der Nähe vermessen. Deren Bahnbewegungen um das Loch, wie die Bahn des Mondes um die Erde, erlaubt es die Masse des Zentralen Objektes zu berechnen, und dies zeigt eindeutig die Anwesenheit des riesigen Monsters.

Obwohl schwarze Löcher nicht direkt zu sehen sind (sie sind ja schwarz), strahlt einfallendes Gas im allgemein stark, weil es durch die starke Schwerkraft zusammengepreßt und dadurch sehr heiß wird. Auf dieser Weise entstehen Quasare, die sehr hellen Objekte in den Zentren weit entfernter Galaxien, deren Strahlung von solch akkretierenden Schwarzen Löcher gespeist wird. Nur, in Sgr A* wird fast nichts gesehen. Ein Rätsel, denn es gibt viele Sterne in der Nähe. Sie sind in sicherer Entfernug vom Loch, aber das Gas das sie ausschwitzen, der sog. "Sternwind", sollte ins Loch fallen und dabei viel Strahlung freisetzen. Um die Ursache dieser geringen Leuchtkraft zu verstehen, muß man wissen wie viel vom vorhandenen Gas tatsächlich vom Loch eingefangen wird. Ausserdem ist Sgr A* das näheste Loch dieser Größe, und das Verständnis seiner geringen Helligkeit wird beitragen zum Verständnis von Schwarzen Löchern in Allgemenein.

Im Zentrum der Galaxis produzieren Dutzende von Sterne Gas, das in allen Richtungen wegfließt. Es wird von Loch angezogen; Gasströmungen aus unterschiedlichen Richtungen stoßen dabei zusammen und liefern komplizierte Bewegungen, die nicht mit analytischen Rechnungen zu erfassen sind. Aufwändige Simulationen auf Hochleistungsrechnern werden gebraucht um eine klares Bild dieser Vorgängen zu bekommen.

Mit Gadget, einem am Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik entwickelten Rechenprogramm haben Wissenschaftler dieses Institutes angefangen, dieses Problem zu studieren. Sie fanden, daß die Sternwinde in der Nähe des Lochs tatsächlich komplizierte Muster bilden (Abb. 1). Ein Teil des Gases bildet kühle Klumpen, und einige dieser laufen auf Bahnen, die sie zum Loch bringen. Jedesmal wenn dies passiert, vielleicht etwa alle 100 Jahre, nimmt die Gasmenge die auf dem Loch trifft zu, die sog. "Akkretionsrate" (Abb. 2) schnellt hoch und das Gebiet wird sehr hell. Interessant in diesem Zusammenhang ist die Erkenntnis, daß Sgr A* vor 350 Jahre viel heller war als jetzt. Diese hohe Leuchtkraft war womöglich die Folge der in den Simulationen gefundenen Variabilität, und ähnliche Aktivität ist für die Zukunft zu erwarten.

Die neuen Simulationen haben auch gezeigt daß nur ein Teil der Sternwinde in die Nähe des Lochs gelangt. Dies ist zu verstehen aus den Bewegungen der Sterne. Die Bahnbewegung ums Loch gibt dem Sternwind eine Anfangsgeschwindigkeit mit, und erleichtert so das Entweichen des Gases aus der Nähe des Lochs. Dieser Effekt reicht aber nicht aus, um die sehr niedige Leuchtkraft des Gases um Sgr A* herum zu erklären. Komplikationen in der Strahlungskühlung und den hydrodynamischen Stoßwellen in der direkten Nähe des Schwarzen Lochs spielen wahrscheinlich eine wichtige Rolle. Mit den Ergebnissen der Simulationen entwickeln Physiker nun ein besseres Verständnis der Physik in diesem Innenbereich, und wie das "Füttern" von Schwarzen Riesenlöchern funktioniert.


J. Cuadra, S. Nayakshin, V. Springel, T. Di Matteo

Weitere Informationen

linkPfeil.gif Accretion of Stellar Winds in the Galactic Centre

Originalpublikationen

Accretion of cool stellar winds on Sgr A*: another puzzle of the Galactic Centre?, MNRAS 360 (2005) L55
linkPfeilExtern.gifastro-ph/0502044

Galactic Centre stellar winds and Sgr A* accretion, MNRAS, in press
linkPfeilExtern.gifastro-ph/0505382

Verwandte Themen auf unserer Website

linkPfeil.gif Das parallele Leben von supermassiven schwarzen Löchern und ihren Muttergalaxien

linkPfeil.gif Kollidierende Galaxien wecken schlafende Schwarze Löcher

linkPfeil.gif Die größte N-Teilchen Simulation des Universums

linkPfeil.gif Schwarze Löcher geringer Masse wachsen auch heute noch

linkPfeil.gif Himmelsdurchmusterung im Röntgenbereich

linkPfeil.gif Eingefrorene Akkretion und Spektakuläre Röntgenblitze von dem Schwarzen Loch im Zentrum der Milchstrasse

linkPfeil.gif Dreht sich das schwarze Loch im Zentrum unserer Galaxie im Uhrzeigersinn?

linkPfeil.gif Die Verbindung zwischen aktiven Galaxienkernen und Ausbrüchen der Sternentstehung


drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2020, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 2.1.2006