MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: April 2010 all highlights

Polarization as a way to measure transverse gas motions in galaxy clusters

Scientists at the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics (MPA) have calculated the expected polarization of bright X-ray emission lines in galaxy clusters, showing that the polarization signal is particularly sensitive to the gas motions perpendicular to the line of sight. The polarization, which is caused by resonant scattering in the hot intracluster medium, opens the unique possibility to study transverse gas motion in clusters of galaxies.

Fig. 1: Both panels show the degree polarization in various emission lines as a function of projected distance from the cluster centre. In the right panel, polarization in the most prominent resonant line of iron with an energy of 6.7 keV is shown in the Perseus cluster, while the polarization in several of the most prominent resonant lines in the Virgo (M87) cluster are shown in the left panel.

Fig. 2: These plots show the polarization degree and direction of a simulated cluster in the line of iron at 6.7 keV, where the colours indicate the polarization degree (in per cent) and the short dashed lines the orientation of the electric vector. The contours of the X-ray surface brightness are superposed. The left panel shows the case when the gas is at rest, the right panel shows the results when gas motions are taken into account.

Galaxy clusters are the largest gravitationally bound structures in the Universe. About 80 per cent of their mass is due to dark matter, 15 per cent due to hot gas and only a few per cent of the mass corresponds to stars. Hot gas is therefore the dominant baryonic component of clusters and the largest mass constituent which can be observed directly. Along the line of sight, the motion of the gas inside the cluster can in principle be measured by analysing the Doppler shift of X-ray spectral lines. However, given that the expected shift is very small, X-ray spectrometers with high spectral resolution are needed. Measuring the gas motion perpendicular to the line of sight through the usual spectroscopic techniques is even more difficult, as the shift is about 100 times smaller. We therefore investigated the effects of gas motions on the polarization in the emitted X-ray light.

The hot gas (107 - 108 K) in galaxy clusters emits X-ray radiation in a continuum and in emission lines of ionized heavy elements. As iron is the most abundant element, the resonant lines of ionized iron are especially strong and bright. In these lines the scattering cross section is much larger than in the continuum and the optical depth can be of the order of one or even larger, which means that on average each photon emitted suffers at least one scattering. For instance, the optical depth of the iron line at an energy of 6.7 keV in the brightest clusters in the sky, the Perseus and Virgo clusters, is approximately 3 and 1.4, respectively.

The atomic structure of the ions defines the process of line scattering, i.e. the absorption and re-emission of a photon, as a combination of isotropic and Rayleigh scattering. It is well known that the Rayleigh component leads to a polarization in the emitted radiation (just like in the case of Thomson scattering) if there is a quadrupole moment in initial radiation field. In galaxy clusters such a quadrupole moment arises naturally if either the scattering takes place far from the bright central core of the cluster and/or if there are gas motions. The expected degree of polarization is high: in the Perseus cluster it reaches about 7 per cent in the iron line at 6.7 keV; in the Virgo cluster it is several per cent in the most promising lines (see Fig. 1).

Transverse gas motions in the cluster can change the expected degree and direction of the polarization, since the cross section of scattering along the direction of the motion is decreasing. Using modern, fully three- dimensional simulations of galaxy clusters we calculated the polarization degree of the X-ray lines expected when taking gas motions into account. In Fig. 2 one can see that the polarization degree in the iron line reaches about 25 per cent within a distance of 500 kpc from the core if the cluster gas is at rest. Including gas motions decreases the polarization down to about 10 per cent and causes a rotation of the polarization plane.

A new era of high resolution X-ray spectroscopy and polarimetric studies is coming, driven by progress in the development of a new generation of X-ray detectors. The first polarimetric mission linkPfeilExtern.gif GEMS , based on the photo-effect principle, is already approved and funded and will be launched in the near future. Several more missions are under discussion. Measuring the polarization degree of the bright X-ray emission lines and comparing these with simulations will provide us with new information on the bulk and turbulent gas motions in clusters of galaxies.


Irina Zhuravleva, Eugene Churazov, Sergey Sazonov, Rashid Sunyaev, Klaus Dolag


Further Reading:

Zhuravleva I.V., Churazov E.M., Sazonov S.Y., Sunyaev R.A., Forman W., Dolag K., 'Polarization of X-ray lines from galaxy clusters and elliptical galaxies - a way to measure the tangential component of gas velocity', MNRAS, 403, 129—150 (2010)



drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2010-3-29

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: April 2010 Zur Übersicht

Polarisation als Maß für die Bewegung von Gas in Galaxienhaufen

Wissenschaftler am Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik (MPA) haben das erwartete Polarisationssignal von hellen Röntgenlinien in Galaxienhaufen berechnet und gezeigt, dass dieses Signal besonders empfindlich von der Gasbewegung quer zur Sichtlinie abhängt. Die Polarisation, die durch Resonanzstreuung im heißen Intracluster-Medium verursacht wird, eröffnet die einzigartige Möglichkeit, die Bewegung von Gas in Galaxienhaufen quer zur Sichtlinie zu untersuchen.

Abb. 1: Diese Grafiken zeigen den Polarisationsanteil in verschiedenen Emissionslinien als Funktion des projizierten Abstands vom Haufenzentrum. Auf dem rechten Bild ist die Polarisation in der stärksten Eisen-Resonanzlinie bei einer Energie von 6,7 keV im Perseus- Haufen gezeigt, auf dem linken Bild die Polarisation in einigen der stärksten Resonanzlinien im Virgohaufen (M87).

Abb. 2: In diesen Simulationen sind der Anteil der Polarisation sowie deren Richtung in der Eisenlinie bei 6,7 keV gezeigt, wobei die Farben ein Maß für die Stärke der Polarisation darstellen und die kurzen Striche die Orientierung des elektrischen Vektors wiedergeben. Dem überlagert sind die Konturen der Oberflächenhelligkeit im Röntgenbereich zu sehen. Das linke Bild zeigt den Fall, wenn das Gas sich in Ruhe befindet, das rechte Bild die Ergebnisse, wenn Gasbewegungen berücksichtigt werden.

Galaxienhaufen sind die größten gravitativ gebundenen Objekte im Universum. Etwa 80 Prozent ihrer Masse besteht aus Dunkler Materie, 15 Prozent aus heißem Gas und nur wenige Prozent aus Sternen. Das heiße Gas ist deshalb die dominante baryonische Komponente in Haufen und die größte Masse, die man direkt beobachten kann. Entlang der Sichtlinie kann man die Bewegung des Gases im Haufen prinzipiell mit Hilfe des Dopplereffekts in Röntgenspektrallinien bestimmen. Allerdings braucht man dazu Röntgenspektrometer mit hoher Auflösung, da die erwarteten Dopplerverschiebungen sehr klein sind. Bewegungen quer zur Sichtlinie mit den herkömmlichen spektroskopischen Methoden zu messen ist quasi unmöglich, da die Dopplerverschiebung hier etwa 100 Mal kleiner ist. Deshalb untersuchten wir, wie die Bewegungen des Gases die Polarisation des Röntgenlichts beeinflussen.

Das heiße Gas (107 - 108 K) in Galaxienhaufen emittiert Röntgenstrahlung sowohl als Kontinuum als auch in Emissionslinien von ionisierten schweren Elementen. Da Eisen das häufigste Element ist, sind die Eisen-Resonanzlinien besonders stark und hell. Für diese Linien ist der Streuquerschnitt viel größer als für das Kontinuum und die optische Tiefe erreicht Werte von eins und darüber, was bedeutet, dass jedes emittierte Photon im Mittel mindestens einmal gestreut wird. So beträgt zum Beispiel die optische Tiefe für die Eisenlinie bei einer Energie von 6,7 keV in den hellsten Galaxienhaufen am Himmel, dem Perseus- und dem Virgo-Haufen, ungefähr 3 bzw. 1,4.

Die atomare Struktur der Ionen bestimmt die Absorption und Re-Emission eines Photons als eine Kombination aus isotropischer und Rayleigh- Streuung. Es ist bekannt, dass der Rayleigh-Anteil an der Streuung zu einer Polarisation der emittierten Strahlung führt (genau wie bei der Thomson-Streuung), wenn im ursprünglichen Strahlungsfeld ein Quadrupolmoment vorhanden ist. In Galaxienhaufen entsteht ein derartiges Quadrupolmoment natürlicherweise, wenn entweder die Streuung weit ab vom hellen, zentralen Kern des Haufens stattfindet und/oder wenn Gasbewegungen vorhanden sind. Der erwartete Anteil an Polarisation ist groß: im Perseus-Haufen erreicht sie etwa 7 Prozent in der Eisenlinie bei 6,7 keV, im Virgohaufen einige Prozent in den vielversprechendsten Linien (siehe Abb. 1).

Transversale Gasbewegungen im Galaxienhaufen ändern den erwarteten Anteil und die Richtung der Polarisation, da der Streuquerschnitt in der Bewegungsrichtung abnimmt. Mithilfe von modernen, vollständig drei- dimensionalen Simulationen von Galaxienhaufen berechneten wir die erwartete Polarisation der Röntgenlinien, wenn man Gasbewegungen berücksichtigt. In Abb. 2 sieht man, dass das die Polarisation in der Eisenlinie 500 kpc vom Haufenzentrum entfernt etwa 25 Prozent erreicht, wenn das Gas sich in Ruhe befindet. Mit dem Einfluss von Gasbewegungen verringert sich die Polarisation auf etwa 10 Prozent und die Polarisationsebene dreht sich.

Mit hoch auflösender Röntgenspektroskopie und polarimetrischen Studien bricht eine neue Ära an, die von der Entwicklung einer neuen Generation von Röntgendetektoren getrieben wird. Die erste polarimetrische Mission linkPfeilExtern.gif GEMS , die auf dem Prinzip des Photoeffekts beruht, ist bereits genehmigt und finanziert und wird in Bälde starten. Mehrere weitere Missionen sind im Gespräch. Die Messung der Polarisation von hellen Röntgen-Emissionslinien und der Vergleich mit Simulationen wird uns mit neuen Informationen über die großräumige und turbulente Gasbewegung in Galaxienhaufen versorgen.


Irina Zhuravleva, Eugene Churazov, Sergey Sazonov, Rashid Sunyaev, Klaus Dolag


Veröffentlichung:

Zhuravleva I.V., Churazov E.M., Sazonov S.Y., Sunyaev R.A., Forman W., Dolag K., 'Polarization of X-ray lines from galaxy clusters and elliptical galaxies - a way to measure the tangential component of gas velocity', MNRAS, 403, 129—150 (2010)



drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2020, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 29.3.2010