MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: January 2010 all highlights

Massive, Dense Nuclei in Young Starbursts: Progenitors of Early Type Galaxy Cusps?

An international team of astronomers lead by Tim Heckman (The Johns Hopkins University) and Roderik Overzier (Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics) is using a novel technique to gain new insights into a number of important processes related to the formation and evolution of galaxies. The new results were obtained by focusing on a rare subset of the nearby galaxy population that are the best local analogs of a type of starburst galaxy common only in the very early Universe. As part of this study, the team discovered that some of these local starbursts harbour very young, massive and dense nuclei in their centres. These nuclei are interpreted as being the possible progenitors of “cuspy” cores of typical low-mass, early-type galaxies, but seen at an early, formative stage directly after being triggered by a massive gaseous inflow event in the aftermath of a galaxy merger. These galaxy bulges-in-formation could be ideal sites for the formation or fueling of supermassive black holes.

Fig. 1: False-color HST images of the nearby starburst sample showing the (rest-frame) UV in blue/purple and optical light in yellow/red. The images measure 6" by 6". Although most objects are highly compact in both the UV and optical, a small subset consists of a very bright unresolved component in the middle of an extended, low surface brightness disk. The images demonstrate a wide range of complex morphologies often suggestive of interactions and merging of galaxies.

Fig. 2: HST optical images of six of the nearby UV-luminous starburst galaxies from Figure 1 that show a bright, unresolved object in the centre of a larger, highly disturbed disk.

Fig. 3: Mass (M*) and effective radius (Re) vs. the effective mass surface density (Σe) of the brightest clump identified in each galaxy (squares). The comparison data shown were extracted from a compilation of literature results presented in a similar fashion in Figure 45 in Hopkins et al. (2009), showing globular clusters (crosses), nuclear star clusters (triangles), and the extra-light components in early-type galaxies from the samples of Kormendy et al. (2009, stars) and Lauer et al. (2007, circles) as measured by Hopkins et al. (2009). The six unresolved nuclei from Figure 2 are indicated with filled squares. These objects are consistent with being the progenitor starbursts that formed the old central "extra-light" components seen in local, cuspy-cored elliptical galaxies. The local cusps are believed to have formed in highly dissipative merger events at high redshift, perhaps in a very similar fashion as being witnessed in the sample of local analogs of the high redshift starbursts.

The "Lyman break galaxy analogs" project is a Key Project carried out with the Galaxy Evolution Explorer (GALEX). GALEX is a UV satellite that has imaged a large fraction of the sky in the far- and near-ultraviolet at an unprecedented combination of depth, resolution and sky coverage. By combining the GALEX all-sky survey with the large spectroscopic database of galaxies provided by the Sloan Digital Sky Survey, the team was able to select and study a sample of galaxies in the nearby Universe (z<0.3) that are both the most luminous and the smallest galaxies detected in the far-UV. This selection was specifically chosen in order to search for starburst galaxies having high star formation rates, low dust attenuations, and compact sizes that are most typical for the population of the UV-selected Lyman Break Galaxies (LBGs) at high redshift (z~3). Such galaxies may serve as a local training set, useful for studying typical processes occurring in starburst galaxies and for comparing with LBGs for which only limited information can be derived as their high redshifts render them small and faint.

The technique proved to be very successful, showing that there exists a rare but detectable population of nearby galaxies that is similar to LBGs in most of its physical properties, such as stellar mass, age, metallicity, extinction, star formation rate, size, morphology, (gas) kinematics and the conditions of the interstellar medium. A collage of images obtained with the Hubble Space Telescope (HST) is shown in Figure 1. The sample of nearby LBG analogs consists of a wide variety of disturbed and “clumpy” galaxies. In the UV, the galaxies are characterized by massive complexes of relatively unobscured starburst regions, while in the optical they most often show the faint tidal features that are typically associated with mergers and interactions between galaxies.

As part of an HST follow-up study, the team uncovered a small sample of galaxies (Figure 2) in which the UV and optical morphology is dominated by a single, unresolved component that is the source of a large fraction of the continuum and line emission. On the basis of their optical spectra it has been ruled out that these are unobscured (Type I) active galactic nuclei. Instead, the peculiar nuclei are interpreted as being due to the intense light from young stars. Modeling of the intensity and colour of the light shows that the nuclei must house between a few hundred million and a few billion solar masses in stars, distributed in a very compact region of only a few hundred parsecs in diameter. The very high stellar mass densities implied are similar to those found in the most massive globular clusters and nuclear star clusters seen in late-type galaxies, but the total masses and sizes of the new class of objects are up to two orders of magnitude larger. However, the dense nuclei resemble, at least structurally, the central “cusps” that are observed in typical low-mass early-type galaxies (Figure 3). In early types, these so-called cusps are due to an excess central stellar mass relative to that expected from extrapolating the galaxy's outer Sersic profile inwards. These cusps are believed to be the remnants of (hypothesized) dissipative galaxy mergers at high redshift. These mergers fueled massive central starbursts in the progenitor population of present-day low mass early-type galaxies. The discovery of young, dense nuclei in the analogs of high redshift starburst galaxies suggests that exactly this process may still be occurring in a small fraction of galaxies observed in the nearby Universe. Further evidence for this is given by the fact that the host galaxies of the dense nuclei have total stellar masses comparable to those of typical cuspy early-types (a few times 1010 solar masses) and that they have disturbed optical morphologies (Figure 3) indicating that their central starburst was triggered by a major inflow event.

The new finding also provides an attractive scenario for the formation of supermassive black holes. The centres of local massive galaxies have been shown to host (dormant) supermassive black holes that contain about one thousandth of the total mass of the galaxy. It is not exactly known when and how these black holes formed, but the strong correlation between their masses and those of their hosts suggests a common origin. The massive reservoirs of cold gas in the dense nuclei of the LBG analogs may provide ideal nurseries for the formation of these massive black holes. At present, the nuclei are likely too young (a few tens of Myr) to be efficiently growing a supermassive black hole, as they are still in a supernova-dominated outflow phase which would prevent gas from settling onto an accretion disk surrounding a central black hole. However, 50-100 Myr after the most recent starburst, the strong mechanical feedback from the winds of the most massive stars and core-collapse supernovae will have subsided and the low-velocity winds of evolved stars will dominate the local gas kinematics. This may offer a steady flow of material that can be retained within the potential well of the nucleus where it can cool and be (partially) accreted by a black hole. In order to investigate whether any weakly accreting black holes are already present in the dense nuclei, the team has recently started a follow-up campaign using X-ray imaging spectroscopy, infrared spectroscopy and radio interferometry. The results are expected to shed new light on the formation of intermediate mass black hole “seeds” forming deep inside the forming bulges of young galaxies.


Roderik Overzier


Further reading

Heckman, T.M., Hoopes, C., et al., "The Properties of Ultraviolet-luminous Galaxies at the Current Epoch", 2005, ApJ, 619, L35

Hoopes, C., Heckman, T.M., et al., "The Diverse Properties of the Most Ultraviolet-Luminous Galaxies Discovered by GALEX", 2007, ApJS, 173, 441

Overzier, R.A.,Heckman, T.M., et al., "Morphologies of Local Lyman Break Galaxy Analogs. I. Evidence for Starbursts Triggered by Merging", 2008, ApJ, 677, 37

Overzier, R.A.,Heckman, T.M., et al., "Morphologies of local Lyman break galaxy analogs. II. A Comparison with galaxies at z=2-4 in ACS and WFC3 images of the Hubble Ultra Deep Field", 2009, ApJ, In Press linkPfeilExtern.gif(arXiv:0911.1279)

Overzier, R.A.,Heckman, T.M., et al., "Local Lyman Break Galaxy Analogs: The Impact of Massive Star-Forming Clumps on the Interstellar Medium and the Global Structure of Young, Forming Galaxies", 2009, ApJ, 706, 203



drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2009-12-31

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: Januar 2010 Zur Übersicht

Massive, dichte Kerne in jungen Galaxien mit sehr hohen Sternentstehungsraten: Vorläufer der konzentrierten zentralen Regionen in heutigen elliptischen Galaxien?

Ein internationales Astronomenteam unter der Leitung von Tim Heckman (Johns Hopkins Universität, USA) und Roderik Overzier (Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik) hat eine neuartige Methode entwickelt, um neue Einsichten in die Bildung und Evolution von Galaxien zu erhalten. Um eine Reihe wichtiger Prozesse näher zu untersuchen, konzentrierten sich die Wissenschaftler auf eine seltene Untergruppe der nahen Galaxienpopulation. Diese entspricht lokal am ehesten einem Typ von Galaxien mit sehr hohen Sternentstehungsraten, den sogenannten Starburstgalaxien, die es nur im sehr frühen Universum häufig gab. In Folge der Studie entdeckte das Team, dass einige dieser lokalen Starburstgalaxien sehr junge, massive und dichte Kerne in ihren Zentren beherbergen. Diese Kerne könnten möglicherweise die Vorläufer der hochkonzentrierten Kerne von typischen massearmen, jungen Galaxien sein, allerdings zu einem sehr frühen Zeitpunkt in ihrer Entwicklung, direkt nachdem ihre Entstehung durch einen gewaltigen Gaszustrom nach einer Galaxienverschmelzung ausgelöst wurde. Diese sich bildenden Galaxienzentren könnten ideale Gebiete für die Entstehung oder das Wachstum von supermassiven schwarzen Löchern sein.

Abb. 1: Falschfarben HST-Aufnahme der Auswahl naher Starburstgalaxien, wobei das UV im Bezugssystem der Galaxie in blau/violett und das optische Licht in gelb/rot dargestellt sind. Die Bilder sind 6" mal 6" groß. Obwohl die meisten Objekte sowohl im UV als auch im optischen Licht sehr kompakt erscheinen, zeigen einige wenige ein sehr helles, unaufgelöstes Objekt in der Mitte einer ausgedehnten Scheibe mit schwacher Oberflächenhelligkeit. Die Bilder zeigen eine Vielfalt an komplexen Morphologien, die oft ein Hinweis auf Wechselwirkungen oder Verschmelzung von Galaxien sind.

Abb. 2: Optische HST-Aufnahmen von sechs nahen, UV-leuchtstarken Starburstgalaxien aus Abbildung 1, die ein helles, unaufgelöstes Objekt in der Mitte einer größeren, stark disturbierten Scheibe zeigen.

Abb. 3: Masse (M*) und effektiver Radius (Re) verglichen mit der effektiven Flächenmassendichte (Σe) der hellsten Verdickung in jeder Galaxie (eingezeichnet). Die Vergleichsdaten stammen aus einer Aufstellung bereits veröffentlichter Daten, die ähnlich wie in Abbildung 45 von Hopkins et al. (2009) dargestellt sind, wobei Kugelhaufen (Kreuze), zentrale Sternhaufen (Dreiecke) und die zusätzlichen Lichtkomponenten in frühen Galaxien aus der Selektion von Komendy et al. (2009, Sterne) und Lauer et al. (2007, Kreise) von Hopkins et al. (2009) gemessen wurden. Die sechs unaufgelösten Objekte aus Abbildung 2 sind durch ausgefüllte Quadrate repräsentiert. Diese Objekte passen zu den Starburst-Vorläufern, die die alten, zentralen Komponenten für das ”Extra-Licht“ bildeten, die in nahen, elliptischen Galaxien mit hochkonzentrierten Zentren beobachtet werden. Man nimmt an, dass sich diese lokalen Kerne in den hoch dissipativen Verschmelzungen bei hoher Rotverschiebung bildeten, möglicherweise in ähnlicher Art und Weise, wie man es in der Auswahl an nahen Galaxien beobachten kann, die den hochrotverschobenen Starbursts ähneln.

Das “Lyman Break Galaxy Analogs”-Projekt wird mit dem “Galaxy Evolution Explorer” GALEX durchgeführt. GALEX ist ein UV-Satellit, der einen Großteil des Himmels im fernen und nahen Ultraviolett beobachtete, mit einer bis dahin unerreichten Kombination aus Tiefe, Auflösung und Himmelsbedeckung. In Verbindung mit der großen spektroskopischen Galaxiendatenbank des Sloan Digital Sky Survey konnte das Team eine Anzahl von Galaxien im nahen Universum (z<0.3) identifizieren und untersuchen, die sowohl die lichtstärksten als auch kleinsten Galaxien sind, die im fernen UV nachgewiesen wurden. Diese Auswahl wurde getroffen, um nach Starburstgalaxien mit hohen Sternentstehungsraten, wenig Verdunkelung durch Staub und kleinen Ausmaßen zu suchen, die besonders typisch für die UV-selektierten Lyman-Break-Galaxien (LBGs) bei hoher Rotverschiebung (z>3) sind. Solche Galaxien könnten als lokale Beispielobjekte dienen, um typische Prozesse in Starburstgalaxien zu untersuchen und diese dann mit LBGs zu vergleichen, zu denen nur wenige Informationen vorliegen, da sie aufgrund ihrer hohen Rotverschiebung klein und schwach erscheinen.

Die neue Methode war sehr erfolgreich und zeigte, dass es eine kleine aber nachweisbare Population naher Galaxien gibt, die den LBGs in den meisten ihrer physikalischen Eigenschaften ähneln, wie Sternenmasse, Alter, Metallizität, Extinktion, Sternentstehungsrate, Größe, Morphologie, (Gas-)Kinematik und die Beschaffenheit der interstellaren Materie. Abbildung 1 zeigt eine Kollage aus Bildern des Hubble-Space-Telescops (HST). Die Auswahl an nahen, LBG-ähnlichen Galaxien setzt sich zusammen aus einer Vielfalt an gestörten und “klumpigen” Galaxien. Im UV-Bereich zeichnen sich diese Galaxien durch gewaltige Komplexe an relativ wenig von Staub verhüllten Sternentstehungsgebieten aus, während sie im optischen Bereich meist schwache Gezeitenmerkmale zeigen, die normalerweise mit verschmelzenden und wechselwirkenden Galaxien in Verbindung gebracht werden.

Im Rahmen einer HST-Folgestudie entdeckte das Team eine geringe Anzahl von Galaxien (Abbildung 2), bei denen die UV- und die optische Morphologie durch eine einzige, unaufgelöste Komponente dominiert wird, die für einen Großteil der Kontinuums- und Linienemission verantwortlich ist. Aufgrund ihrer optischen Spektren können diese keine aktiven Galaxienkerne (vom Typ 1) sein, die nicht von Staub verdeckt werden. Diese ungewöhnlichen Kerne werden stattdessen als Folge des intensiven Lichts junger Sterne gedeutet. Modelle der Lichtintensität und -farbe zeigen, dass die Kerne zwischen wenigen hundert Millionen und einigen Milliarden Sonnenmassen in Sternen beherbergen müssen, die in einem sehr kompakten Gebiet von nur wenigen hundert Parsec im Durchmesser verteilt sind. Die sehr hohen Sternmassendichten sind ähnlich denen, die man in den massereichsten Kugelsternhaufen und zentralen Sternhaufen von Scheibengalaxien findet. Die Gesamtmassen und Ausdehnungen dieser neuen Klasse von Objekten aber sind bis zu zwei Größenordnungen größer. Trotzdem ähneln diese dichten Kerne, wenigstens strukturell, den dichten Zentren die man in typischen, massearmen, elliptischen Galaxien findet (Abbildung 3). In diesen Galaxien ergeben sich die dichten Kerne durch einen Überschuss der zentralen Sternmasse relativ zu der, die man aufgrund einer Extrapolation des äußeren Sersic-Profils der Galaxie nach innen erwarten würde. Man nimmt an, dass diese dichten Kerne die Überreste von (hypothetischen) dissipativen Galaxienverschmelzungen bei hoher Rotverschiebung sind. Diese Verschmelzungen lieferten das Material für gewaltige Sternentstehungsgebiete in der Vorgängerpopulation der heutigen massearmen elliptischen Galaxien. Die Entdeckung von jungen, dichten Kernen in nahen Galaxien, die den hoch-rotverschobenen Starburstgalaxien ähneln, impliziert, dass genau dieser Prozess immer noch in einem kleinen Bruchteil der Galaxien des nahen Universums stattfindet. Ein weiterer Hinweis darauf ist die Tatsache, dass die gesamte Sternmasse von Galaxien mit dichten Kernen mit der Masse von typischen dichten, elliptischen Galaxien vergleich bar ist (wenige 1010 Sonnenmassen) und dass sie gestörte optische Morphologien aufweisen (Abbildung 3). Dies lässt darauf schließen, dass die Sternentstehung im Zentrum durch einen großen Materialzustrom ausgelöst wurde.

Das neue Ergebnis bietet auch einen interessanten Ansatz für die Bildung superschwerer schwarzer Löcher. In den Zentren von nahen, schweren Galaxien konnten (ruhende) superschwere schwarze Löcher nachgewiesen werden, die etwa ein Tausendstel der Gesamtmasse der Galaxie enthalten. Man weiß nicht genau, wann und wie sich diese schwarzen Löcher gebildet haben, aber die enge Korrelation zwischen ihrer Masse und der Masse der Galaxie insgesamt deutet auf einen gemeinsamen Ursprung hin. Die gewaltigen Vorräte an kaltem Gas in den dichten Kernen der LBG-ähnlichen Galaxien könnten die ideale Kinderstube für die Bildung dieser schweren schwarzen Löcher sein. Zurzeit sind diese Kerne wahrscheinlich zu jung (wenige Millionen Jahre) um effizient ein superschweres schwarzes Loch wachsen zu lassen. Sie befinden sich noch in einer von Supernovae dominierten Abflussphase, die das Gas daran hindern würde, sich in einer Akkretionsscheibe um das zentrale schwarze Loch zu sammeln. Etwa 50 bis 100 Millionen Jahre nach dem letzten Starburst werden sich die starken, mechanischen Auswirkungen der Winde aus den massereichsten Sternen und Kernkollaps-Supernovae gelegt haben und die langsamen Winde der älteren Sterne werden die lokale Gaskinematik dominieren. Das könnte zu einem stetigen Zufluss an Material führen, das im Schwerefeld des Kerns festgehalten wird, wo es sich abkühlen kann und (teilweise) vom schwarzen Loch aufgesammelt wird. Um zu untersuchen ob sich in den dichten Kernen bereits schwach akkreditierende schwarze Löcher befinden, begann das Team kürzlich mit einer Folgestudie, die Röntgenspektroskopie, Infrarotspektroskopie und Radiointerferenz vereint. Die Ergebnisse dürften ein neues Licht auf die Entstehung schwarzer Löcher mittlerer Masse tief im Innern der sich bildenden Zentren junger Galaxien werfen.


Roderik Overzier


Publikationen

Heckman, T.M., Hoopes, C., et al., "The Properties of Ultraviolet-luminous Galaxies at the Current Epoch", 2005, ApJ, 619, L35

Hoopes, C., Heckman, T.M., et al., "The Diverse Properties of the Most Ultraviolet-Luminous Galaxies Discovered by GALEX", 2007, ApJS, 173, 441

Overzier, R.A.,Heckman, T.M., et al., "Morphologies of Local Lyman Break Galaxy Analogs. I. Evidence for Starbursts Triggered by Merging", 2008, ApJ, 677, 37

Overzier, R.A.,Heckman, T.M., et al., "Morphologies of local Lyman break galaxy analogs. II. A Comparison with galaxies at z=2-4 in ACS and WFC3 images of the Hubble Ultra Deep Field", 2009, ApJ, In Press linkPfeilExtern.gif(arXiv:0911.1279)

Overzier, R.A.,Heckman, T.M., et al., "Local Lyman Break Galaxy Analogs: The Impact of Massive Star-Forming Clumps on the Interstellar Medium and the Global Structure of Young, Forming Galaxies", 2009, ApJ, 706, 203



drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2020, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 31.12.2009