MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: February 2006 all highlights

Connecting the physical properties of galaxies with their clustering

Using the Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS), the most ambitious optical imaging and spectroscopic survey carried out to date, members of a collaboration between the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics and Chinese researchers have explored how the spatial distribution of galaxies depends on properties such as their stellar mass, the rate at which they form stars and whether they have elliptical or spiral morphologies.

Fig. 1: A "slice" through the 3-dimensional distribution of galaxies in the Sloan Digital Sky Survey. The observer on Earth is located at the centre of the circle. The distance from the centre of the circle represents the redshift of the galaxy. The galaxies within 6 degrees of the equator are plotted in this diagram. The large scale structures are clearly seen from this figure.

Fig. 2: The contours of redshift-space two-point correlation function (2PCF) for galaxies in the Sloan Digital Sky Survey (colour lines), compared to that (black lines) obtained by assuming an isotropic distribution of galaxies. The rp and π directions are respectively perpendicular and parallel to the line of sight. Both the effect of redshift space distortions on small scales (often called the Finger-of-God effect) and the infall effect on large scales are clearly visible: on small scales the 2PCF is stretched in the π-direction and on large scales the contours are squashed along the line-of-sight direction.

Our understanding of the large-scale structure (LSS) of the Universe has come primarily from studies of redshift survey of nearby galaxies. The large redshift surveys assembled in recent years, for example the Two Degree Field Redshift Survey (linkPfeilExtern.gif2dFGRS) and the Sloan Digital Sky Survey (linkPfeilExtern.gifSDSS), have provided angular positions and redshifts for samples of hundreds of thousands of galaxies and have allowed astronomers to make detailed maps of how galaxies are distributed in the local Universe. These maps have shown that the galaxies are not distributed homogeneously, but in filamentary structures that surround large empty regions, or voids (Fig. 1)

The MPA-Chinese collaboration have been measuring the degree to which a galaxy of given type is associated spatially with other galaxies of the same type (this is termed the "clustering strength" of the galaxy). The two-point correlation function (2PCF, see Fig.2) of galaxies has long served as the primary way of quantifying the clustering properties of galaxies. As the fundamental lowest order statistic, the 2PCF is simple to compute and provides a full statistical description, if the large-scale structure in the Universe developed from a Gaussian initial density field as is commonly believed. It can also be easily compared with the predictions of theoretical models.

The MPA-Chinese team have found that the more massive the galaxy, the more strongly it is clustered. Elliptical galaxies, which contain very little gas and mainly old stars, are also more strongly clustered than spiral galaxies, which contain a lot of gas and many young stars. These results were known previously, but the surprise from the team's analysis is that the preference for older galaxies to be found in association with other galaxies extends over very large distances -- up to scales of ten Megaparsecs or more. The full power of the Sloan Survey was required in order to accurately measure the clustering on such large scales. The reason why this result is surprising is that 10 Megaparsecs is much larger than the distance over which different galaxies could have exerted any influence on each other on a timescale comparable to the entire age of our Universe. What this implies, is that the ages of stars in a galaxy are somehow imprinted at birth.

According to standard theory, large scale structures in the Universe were gravitationally amplified out of of tiny density perturbations generated in the earliest moments of the Universe following the Big Bang. Regions in the early Universe where the initial perturbations were large evolve into regions that have a high overdensity of galaxies at the present day. Conversely, regions where the initial density fluctuations are very weak, evolve into underdense regions or voids. The MPA-Chinese team is currently exploring how galaxies are predicted to assemble in these models in an attempt to ascertain whether the results of their observational study can be accommodated within this standard picture.


Cheng Li, Guinevere Kauffmann, Gerhard Börner, Yipeng Jing

Further information

linkPfeil.gif http://www.mpa-garching.mpg.de/~leech/papers/clustering/wrp.pdf

Original publications

The dependence of clustering on galaxy properties, MNRAS, in press,
linkPfeilExtern.gifastro-ph/0509873

The dependence of PVD on galaxy properties, MNRAS, submitted,
linkPfeilExtern.gifastro-ph/0509874


drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2006-2-1

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: Februar 2006 Zur Übersicht

Physikalische Eigenschaften von Galaxien beeinflussen ihre räumliche Verteilung

Der Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS) ist zur Zeit die umfassendste Durchmusterung des Himmels, die sowohl optische Bilder wie Spektren liefert. Wissenschaftler des Max-Planck-Instituts für Astrophysik (MPA) und aus China haben gemeinsam untersucht, wie in den SDSS Daten die räumliche Verteilung von Galaxien abhängt von ihren Eigenschaften wie der Masse in Sternen, der Sternentstehungsrate, und ihrer elliptischen oder spiralförmigen Gestalt.

Abb. 1: Ein "Querschnitt durch die dreidimensionale Galaxienverteilung des SDSS ist dargestellt. Der Beobachter auf der Erde befindet sich im Mittelpunkt des Kreises. Die Entfernung vom Mittelpunkt zeigt die Rotverschiebung der Galaxie an. Die Galaxien innerhalb von 6 Grad Winkelabstand vom Äquator sind aufgetragen. In dieser Darstellung sind die großräumigen Strukturen deutlich erkennbar.

Abb. 2:Konturlinien der 2PCF im Rotverschiebungsraum, in dem die Rotverschiebung als Entfernungsmaß dient, für Galaxien des SDSS (farbig) sind verglichen mit den entsprechenden Kurven einer isotropen Verteilung (schwarz). Die rp und πi Richtungen sind senkrecht, bzw. parallel zur Sichtlinie. Durch die Verwendung der Rotverschiebung als Entfernungsmaß entstehen Verzerrungen auf kleinen Skalen (die sogenannten "Finger Gottes") und auf großen Skalen (der "Einfall" von Galaxienpaaren in Massenkonzentrationen): Auf kleinen Skalen ist die 2PCF gedehnt in der πi Richtung und auf großen Skalen sind die Konturen längs der Sichtlinie gestaucht.

Kenntnisse der großräumigen Struktur des Universums (LSS) gewinnen wir hauptsächlich durch die Analyse der Rotverschiebungskataloge naher Galaxien. Große Durchmusterungen, die in den letzten Jahren durchgeführt wurden, wie der "Two Degree Field Redshift Survey" (linkPfeilExtern.gif2dFGRS) und der linkPfeilExtern.gifSDSS, bestimmten für hunderttausende von Galaxien die Position am Himmel und die Rotverschiebung. Die Astronomen konnten daraus detailliert die Verteilung der Galaxien im lokalen Universum kartografieren. Diese dreidimensionalen Himmelskarten haben gezeigt, dass die Galaxien nicht gleichförmig verteilt sind, sondern ein Netzwerk aus Filamenten bilden, die große leere Bereiche, sogenannte "voids", umschließen Abb.1).

Wie stark sind Galaxien eines bestimmten Typs miteinander räumlich korreliert? Die Tendenz zur Haufenbildung verschiedenenr Galaxientypen bestimmten die Forscher vom MPA und aus China durch sorgfältige statistische Analysen von SDSS Daten. Ein quantitatives Maß für die "Klumpungseigenschaften" von Galaxien ist die Zwei-Punkt-Korrelationsfunktion (2PCF, Abb. 2), einfach der mittlere Überschuss an Nachbargalaxien gegenüber einer zufälligen Verteilung in Abhängigkeit vom Abstand zu einer Referenzgalaxie. Diese Funktion lässt sich einfach berechnen und ist sehr geeignet zum quantitativen Vergleich von Beobachtungen und theoretischen Modellen.

Es zeigte sich, dass Galaxien mit großer Masse mehr von ihrer Art um sich haben, als massearme, sie sind stärker geklumpt — ähnlich wie in den Alpen die sehr hohen Gipfel in einem engeren Bereich konzentriert sind. Elliptische Galaxien, die sehr wenig Gas und hauptsächlich alte Sterne enthalten, sind stärker geklumpt als Spiralgalaxien, die viel Gas und viele junge Sterne enthalten. Dieses Verhalten war schon bekannt, aber das überraschende Ergebnis der Analysen des Forscherteams war, dass diese stärkere Klumpung der alten, elliptischen Galaxien noch bis zu sehr großen Entfernungen ausgeprägt ist--bis zu Abständen von einigen zehn Megaparsec und mehr.Die 2PCF konnte auf derart großen Skalen nur deshalb gemessen werden, weil der SDSS genügend viele Galaxienpaare mit solchen Abständen enthält. Das Resultat ist so überraschend, weil auf Skalen von über zehn Magaparsec die verschiedenen Galaxien sich nicht mehr durch physikalische Wechselwirkungen beeinflussen können, jedenfalls nicht innerhalb des Alters des Universums. Dies muss wohl bedeuten, dass der Typ einer Galaxie schon bei der Bildung der anfänglichen Massenkonzentration eingeprägt wird.

Großräumige Strukturen im Kosmos bilden sich nach der Standardtheorie, weil kleine Dichteschwankungen, kurz nach dem Urknall entstanden, auf Grund der Gravitation anwachsen. Bereiche des frühen Universums mit großem Dichteüberschuss entwickeln sich zu Gebieten mit einer großen Überdichte an Galaxien, Bereiche mit schwach ausgeprägten Anfangsschwankungen der Dichte haben auch heute eine unterdurchschnittliche Anzahl von Galaxien und sind praktisch leer. Die deutsch-chinesische Forschergruppe widmet sich jetzt der Frage, wie in den theoretischen Modellen die verschiedenen Galaxientypen im Raum verteilt sind, mit dem Ziel, theoretische Modelle mit den Beobachtungsresultaten zu konfrontieren.


Cheng Li, Guinevere Kauffmann, Gerhard Börner, Yipeng Jing

Weitere Informationen

linkPfeil.gif http://www.mpa-garching.mpg.de/~leech/papers/clustering/wrp.pdf

Originalpublikationen

The dependence of clustering on galaxy properties, MNRAS, in press,
linkPfeilExtern.gifastro-ph/0509873

The dependence of PVD on galaxy properties, MNRAS, submitted,
linkPfeilExtern.gifastro-ph/0509874


drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2018, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 31.1.2006