MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: April 2004 all highlights

Looking into the heart of a supernova

Based on the presently most detailed and most elaborate computer simulations of supernova explosions of massive stars researcher at the Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik in Garching by Munich have predicted the gravitational wave signal produced by these events.



Fig. 1: Radial scales in a blue giant star of about 20 solar masses. The star has radius of about 30 million kilometers, while the core is about ten thousand times smaller (radius of a few thousand kilometers) at the onset of its collapse. The neutron star formed by the collapse is still about 100 times smaller in size. At a scale of 1:1000000 the neutron would be the size of a marble, and if located at the Marienplatz in downtown Munich the surface of the star would have a radius of 30km passing through the city of Freising.



Fig. 4: A gravitational wave signal from the famous Supernova 1987A, which exploded in the Large Magellanic Cloud at a distance of about 150,000 lightyears, would have been detectable with the LIGO II interferometer experiment (see linkPfeil.gifGravitational wave bursts from core collapse supernovae). The picture shows a Hubble Space Telescope image (Space Telescope Science Institute, Hubble Heritage Team, AURA/STScI/NASA).

Supernovae are dramatic explosions of red or blue giant stars which can be detected millions of light years away because for several weeks they shine as bright as a whole galaxy consisting of hundreds of billions of stars. This amazing optical outburst commences when the explosion wave, generated in the optically obscured stellar center, eventually reaches the surface layers of the star. As giant stars have very large radii (30 to 500 million km) in spite of the large speed of the explosion wave (  10000km/sec), the spectacular optical outburst begins only hours after the actual onset of the catastrophe, which occurs in the very center of the star. There the burnt out stellar core containing a mass comparable to that of our sun collapses in a fraction of a second to a neutron star thereby liberating the energy which causes the supernova explosion (Fig.1).

The only means to get direct and immediate information about the supernova "engine" is from observations of neutrinos emitted by the forming neutron star, and through gravitational waves which are emitted when the collapse does not proceed perfectly symmetrically. Contrary to electromagnetic waves, which are oscillations of the electromagnetic field in spacetime, gravitational waves are oscillations of the fabric of spacetime itself. According to Albert Einstein, who first predicted their existence, gravitational waves are produced whenever matter (or equivalently energy) is accelerated aspherically. However, measurable signals are only produced by astrophysical sources involving very strong gravitational fields and velocities close to the speed of light, both of which are encountered, for example, in aspherical supernovae, or during the merger process of two neutron stars resulting in the formation of a black hole.

The researchers at the Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik could show that for a supernova exploding in our Galaxy or its neigbourhood, the gravitational wave signal should be detectable by linkPfeilExtern.gifgravitational wave detectors presently in operation or under construction . Contrary to what was common wisdom before, they find that the dominant contribution to the gravitational wave signal is not necessarily produced when the collapse of a rotating stellar core is stopped at neutron star densities (the so-called bounce signal), but instead by violent turbulent mass motions (Fig.2) which take place inside the forming neutron star and in its immediate neigbourhood independent whether the star is rotating or not (Fig.3). Because the mass motions stir up the whole center of the star the neutrinos produced during the event are emitted asymmetrically, and hence also cause a strong gravitational wave signal. According to the Max-Planck researchers a measurement of the gravitational wave signal of a galactic supernova together with a measurement of its neutrino signal would provide important insights about the working of the "heart" of a supernova.

Ewald Müller

Literature:
Müller, E., Rampp, M., Buras, R., Janka, H.-T. und Shoemaker, D.H., Astrophysical Journal 603 (2004) 221-230





Fig. 2: Four snapshots illustrating the violent mass motions in a rotating supernova model. The side length of the plots is 600 km, and the numbers in the top left corners give the times since maximum compression (bounce). The red-orange regions are rising bubbles of hot matter. The location of the explosion wave is visible as the sharp deformed green-blue discontinuity, and the oblate blue ellipse at the center indicates the forming neutron star which is flattened by centrifugal forces.



Fig. 3: Gravitational wave signal due to violent mass flow (solid line) and asymmetric neutrino emission (thin line) predicted for a rotating supernova explosion model. The insert shows an enlargement of the bounce signal previously thought to be always the dominant contribution to the gravitation wave signal of a supernova explosion.


drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2004-4-1

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: April 2004 Zur Übersicht

Blick ins Innerste einer Supernova

Mit Hilfe der gegenwärtig detailiertesten und umfangreichesten Computersimulationen von Supernovaexplosionen massereicher Sterne haben Forscher am Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik in Garching bei München das zu erwartende Gravitationswellenssignal dieser Ereignisse berechnet.



Abb. 1: Größenverhältnisse in einem blauen Riesenstern von etwa 20 Sonnenmassen. Der Radius des Sterns beträgt etwa 30 Millionen Kilometer, während sein Kernbereich zu Beginn des Kollaps etwa zehntausandmal kleiner ist (Radius von einigen tausend Kilometern). Der durch den Kollaps entstehende Neutronenstern ist nochmals etwa hundertmal kleiner. Im Maßstab 1 zu 1000000 hätte der Neutronenstern die Größe einer Murmel. Befände sich diese Murmel auf dem Marienplatz im Zentrum von München, so wäre die Oberfläche des Sterns in der 30km entfernten Stadt Freising zu finden.



Abb. 4: Gravitationalwellen von der berühmten Supernova 1987A, die in der Grossen Magellanschen Wolke in einer Entfernung von rund 150.000 Lichtjahren explodiert ist, wären mit dem LIGO II Interferometer-Experiment nachweisbar gewesen (siehe linkPfeil.gifGravitationswellenausbrüche bei Supernovaexplosionen). Die Abbildung zeigt eine Aufnahme durch das Weltraumteleskop Hubble (Space Telescope Science Institute, Hubble Heritage Team, AURA/STScI/NASA).

Supernovae sind gigantische Explosionen von roten oder blauen Riesensternen, die man noch in Entfernungen von Millionen von Lichtjahren beobachten kann. Sie leuchten für mehrere Wochen so hell wie eine ganze Galaxie, die aus Hunderten von Milliarden Sternen besteht. Das optische Spektakel beginnt, wenn die Explosionswelle, die im von aussen nicht sichtbaren Sternzentrum ausgelöst wird, die oberflächennahen Schichten des Sterns erreicht. Da Riesensterne extrem groß sind (Radien von 30 bis 500 Millionen km), setzt der spektakuläre Ausbruch erst Stunden nach dem eigentlichen Beginn der Katastrophe ein, obwohl die Explosionswelle mit Geschwindigkeiten von einigen 10000km/sec durch den Stern rast. Im Zentrum des Sterns kollabiert der ausgebrannte stellar Kern, der eine Masse besitzt, die etwas größer als die unsere Sonne ist, in Bruchteilen einer Sekunde zu einem Neutronenstern (Fig.1). Die dabei frei werdende Energie verursacht die Supernovaexplosion.

Die einzigen Möglichkeiten, direkte Informationen über die Vorgänge im Zentrum einer Supernova zu bekommen, sind Beobachtungen von Neutrinos, die beim Entstehen des Neutronensterns in riesiger Zahl ausgesandt werden, und von Gravitationswellen. Letztere werden immer dann erzeugt, wenn der Kollaps nicht perfekt sphärisch verläuft. Im Gegensatz zu elektromagnetischen Wellen, die Schwingungen des elektromagnetischen Feldes in Raum und Zeit sind, schwingt im Falle von Gravitationswellen das Raumzeitgefüge selbst. Nach Einstein, der die Existenz von Gravitationswellen erstmals vorhergesagt hat, werden Gravitationswellen immer erzeugt, wenn sich Materie (oder äquivalent dazu Energie) nicht kugelsymmetrisch verteilt ist und beschleunigt bewegt. Die Entstehung starker, d.h. messbarer Signale erfordert aber extrem starke Gravitationsfelder und sehr schnelle Bewegungen mit fast Lichtgeschwindigkeit. Beide Bedingungen sind zum Beispiel im Falle von Supernovae oder bei der Kollision zweier Neutronensterne erfüllt.

Die Forscher am Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik konnten zeigen, dass eine Supernova, die in unserer Milchstraße oder in ihrer unmittelbaren Nachbarschaft explodiert, ein Gravitationswellensignal aussendet, das man mit den linkPfeilExtern.gifGravitationswellendetektoren, die zur Zeit in Betrieb oder im Aufbau sind, nachweisen kann. Bisher war man davon ausgegangen, dass der Hauptbeitrag zum Gravitationswellensignal dann entsteht, wenn der Kollaps des rotierenden stellaren Kerns beim Erreichen von Neutronensterndichten abrupt gebremst wird (Rückprallsignal). Nach der neuen Studie sind aber turbulente Massenbewegungen (Fig.2), die im Innern und um den entstehenden Neutronensterns herum auftreten, die wichtigste Quelle von Gravitationswellen (Fig.3). Besonders interessant ist dabei, dass die turbulenten Plasmaströmungen unabhängig davon auftreten, ob der Stern rotiert oder nicht, also stellare Kerne starke Gravitationswellensiganle auch dann produzieren, wenn sie nicht durch Rotation deformiert sind. Die heftigen Massenbewegungen wühlen dabei große Bereiche im Sterninnern auf, so dass die dort entstehenden Neutrinos ebenfalls asphärisch aus dem Stern entweichen und daher ein starkes Gravitationswellensignal erzeugen. Aufgrund dieser Tatsachen gehen die Max-Planck-Forscher davon aus, dass eine gleichzeitige Messung des Gravitationswellen- und des Neutrinosignals einer galaktischen Supernova entscheidende direkte Informationen über die Vorgänge im "Herz" einer Supernova liefern wird.

Ewald Müller

Literatur:
Müller, E., Rampp, M., Buras, R., Janka, H.-T. und Shoemaker, D.H., Astrophysical Journal 603 (2004) 221-230





Abb. 2: Vier Momentaufnahmen, die die heftigen Materiebewegungen in einem rotierenden Supernovamodell illustieren. Die Kantenlänge der Einzelbilder beträgt 600 km und die Zahl in der linken oberen Ecke gibt die Zeit an (in tausendstel Sekunden), die seit dem Zeitpunkt maximaler Kompression (Rückprall) verstrichen ist. Rote und orange Regionen stellen aufsteigende Blasen von heißer Materie da. Die Position der Explosionswelle ist durch den scharfen Übergang von grün nach blau gegeben. Die blaue, elliptische Struktur im Zentrum markiert den sich bildenden Neutronstern, der durch die Wirkung der Zentrifugalkräfte abgeflacht ist.



Abb. 3: Vorhergesagtes Gravitationswellensignal infolge heftiger Materiebewegungen (dicke Linie) und nichtsphärischer Neutrinoemission (dünne Linie) für eine rotierende Supernova. Der Ausschnitt zeigt in Vergrößerung das Rückprallsignal, von dem man bisher immer angenommen hatte, dass es das Gravitationswellensignal einer Supernova dominieren würde.


drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2019, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 1.4.2004