Zurueck zur Startseite

About the Institute
Scientific Publications
Scientific Research
University Lectures and Seminars
Public Outreach
 About the Institute
linkPfeil Areas of Research
linkPfeil Staff & Facilities
linkPfeil Institute Members
linkPfeil Annual Reports
linkPfeil Job Vacancies
linkPfeil News Archives

Max Planck für Astrophysik The Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik, usually called the MPA for short, is one of about 80 autonomous research institutes within the linkPfeilExtern.gifMax-Planck Society. These institutes are primarily devoted to fundamental research. Most of them carry out work in several distinct areas, each led by a senior scientist who is a "Scientific Member" of the Max-Planck Society.

The MPA was founded in 1958 under the direction of Ludwig Biermann. It was an offshoot of the linkPfeilExtern.gifMPI für Physik which at that time had just moved from Göttingen to Munich. In 1979 the headquarters of the European Southern Observatory (linkPfeilExtern.gifESO) came to Munich from Geneva, and as part of the resulting reorganisation the MPA (then under its second director, Rudolf Kippenhahn) moved to a new site in Garching, just north of the Munich city limits.

The new building lies in a research park barely 50 metres from ESO headquarters and is physically connected to the buildings which house the MPI für Extraterrestrische Physik (linkPfeilExtern.gifMPE). This park also contains two other large research institutes, the MPI für Plasmaphysik (linkPfeilExtern.gifIPP) and the MPI für Quantenoptik (linkPfeilExtern.gifMPQ), as well as many of the scientific and engineering departments of the Technische Universität München (linkPfeilExtern.gifTUM). The MPA is currently led by a Board of four directors, Guinevere Kauffmann, Eiichiro Komatsu, Rashid Sunyaev and Simon White.

Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics, Garching
Karl-Schwarzschild-Str. 1
Postfach 1317
D-85741 Garching, Germany

linkPfeil.gifTravel Directions

Managing Director
Prof. Dr. Eiichiro Komatsu

Scientific Members, Kollegium, Directors
Dr. Guinevere Kauffmann
Prof. Dr. Eiichiro Komatsu
Prof. Dr. Rashid Sunyaev
Prof. Dr. Simon D.M. White

External Scientific Members
Prof. Dr. Martin Asplund
Prof. Dr. Riccardo Giacconi
Prof. Dr. Rolf-Peter Kudritzki
Prof. Dr. Werner Tscharnuter

Head of the administration
Hendrik Wanger

Press and Public Relations
Dr. Hannelore Haemmerle
Phone: 0049 89 30000-3980
Cornelia Rickl
Phone: 089 30000-2201
Dr. Hans-Thomas Janka
Phone: 089 30000-2228

drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Last modified: 2015-7-16