MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: February 2011 all highlights

The First Stars in the Universe

The first stars in the Universe, so-called Population III stars, existed a mere few hundred million years after the Big Bang. Research over the past decade led to the consensus that they formed in isolation and were extremely top-heavy, perhaps one hundred times more massive than the Sun. Recently, scientists from the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics with colleagues in Heidelberg and Texas used a new simulation technique with unprecedented spatial and dynamical range to show that this picture might require revision: The stars that formed might have been much less massive.

Fig. 1: The collapse of gas in a dark matter `minihalo', shown in a box with 30,000 lightyears on a side. The gas heats due to the release of gravitational potential energy. Only at the centre the gas cools due to molecular hydrogen. The temperature is color-coded from black (coolest) to white (hottest).

Fig. 2: The gas at the centre of the minihalo forms a disk that fragments into a small cluster of protostars. The size of the box is only 200 astronomical units on a side. The density is color-coded from black (most underdense) to yellow (densest).

Structure formation in the Universe started with the contraction of the smallest dark matter halos. These so-called `minihalos' with about one million solar masses confined the intergalactic gas within their gravitational potential wells, where it became gradually denser and hotter. At the centre of these minihalos, at one point the gas was dense enough to form molecular hydrogen — the simplest molecule in the Universe — which allowed the gas to cool by activating internal degrees of freedom. This cooling then resulted in the runaway gravitational collapse of the gas to densities comparable to that of the Sun. Finally, a protostar formed, which had only a thousandth of a solar mass initially, but which rapidly accreted gas from the surrounding envelope. The newborn star continued to grow until it entered the main sequence of hydrogen burning after about one hundred thousand years.

Numerical simulations performed over the past decade found little evidence for fragmentation during the initial collapse phase, indicating that the first stars formed in isolation. Assuming that all the gas in a minihalo accretes onto the only protostar, simple one-dimensional calculations show that Population III stars will grow to about one hundred times the mass of the Sun. As they are extremely massive, they emit many more ionizing photons than normal, present-day stars and could leave a distinct imprint on the 21-cm background radiation. They influence the reionization of the Universe and, furthermore, give rise to extremely energetic supernova explosions - perhaps even the so-called pair-instability supernova, which disrupts the entire progenitor star and leaves no compact remnant behind.

In recent work, Thomas Greif and his colleagues used a new simulation technique to investigate the evolution of gas up to one thousand years after the formation of the first protostar. In the large spatial and dynamical range covered by their simulation, they found that the gas fragmented quite vigorously into about ten individual protostars instead of forming a single object. Since all individual stars accreted from the same, common gas reservoir, the typical mass of their Population III stars is reduced to about ten solar masses. In the further stellar evolution, this would severely limit the stars’ ability to explode as pair-instability supernovae. Instead, these stars could end their lives as more conventional core-collapse supernovae and gamma-ray bursts, which have a very distinct observational signature.

A second intriguing result of the same simulation is the ejection of protostars from the central gas cloud by gravitational slingshot effects, well before they have accreted even one solar mass. Such low-mass stars are extremely long-lived and could survive over cosmic time to the present day. They might even be observable in our own Galaxy. Discovering these stars would provide a tell-tale signature of the revised formation scenario proposed by Thomas Greif and his collaborators.


Thomas Greif, Volker Springel, Simon White, Simon Glover, Paul Clark, Rowan Smith, Ralf Klessen, Volker Bromm


References:

Thomas H. Greif, Volker Springel, Simon D. M. White, Simon C. O. Glover, Paul C. Clark, Rowan J. Smith, Ralf S. Klessen, Volker Bromm: "Simulations on a Moving Mesh: The Clustered Formation of Population III Protostars", submitted to ApJ
linkPfeilExtern.gifhttp://de.arxiv.org/abs/1101.5491

Paul C. Clark, Simon C. O. Glover, Rowan J. Smith, Thomas H. Greif, Ralf S. Klessen, Volker Bromm: "The Formation and Fragmentation of Disks around Primordial Protostars". Science Express, 3 February 2011, doi: 10.1126/science.1198027


drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2011-2-4

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: Februar 2011 Zur Übersicht

Die Ersten Sterne im Universum

Die ersten Sterne im Universum, auch Population-III-Sterne genannt, entstanden nur wenige hundert Millionen Jahre nach dem Urknall. Zehn Jahre an Forschung auf diesem Gebiet führten zu der Überzeugung, dass diese Sterne bis zu 100mal so viel Masse enthielten wie unsere Sonne. Wissenschaftler des Max-Planck-Instituts für Astrophysik in Garching nutzten nun gemeinsam mit Kollegen aus Heidelberg und Texas eine neue Simulationsmethode mit bisher unerreichter räumlicher und zeitlicher Auflösung, die dieses Ergebnis in Frage stellt: Die ersten Sterne waren womöglich sehr viel kleiner.

Abb. 1: Intergalaktisches Gas kollabiert in einem `Minihalo' aus Dunkler Materie und erhitzt sich durch die Freisetzung von potentieller Energie. Nur im Zentrum kühlt das Gas durch molekularen Wasserstoff. Der gezeigte Ausschnitt ist 30,000 Lichtjahre groß. Die Farben deuten die Temperatur an, wobei Regionen mit der geringsten Temperatur schwarz dargestellt sind, Regionen mit der höchsten Temperatur sind weiß kodiert.

Abb. 2: Im Zentrum des Minihalos bildet sich eine Scheibe, die kurz darauf in eine kleine Gruppe von Protosternen fragmentiert. Die gezeigte Box ist gerade einmal 200 Astronomische Einheiten groß. Die Dichte ist von schwarz (geringste Dichte) bis gelb (höchste Dichte) farbkodiert.

Die Strukturentstehung im Universum begann durch den Kollaps der kleinsten Halos Dunkler Materie. Diese sogenannten `Minihalos' hatten eine Masse von ungefähr einer Million Sonnenmassen und sammelten das intergalaktische Gas in ihrer Umgebung ein, das dadurch dichter und heißer wurde. Schließlich wurde im Zentrum dieser Minihalos die Dichte hoch genug, so dass sich molekularer Wasserstoff bilden konnte — das einfachste Molekül im Universum. Durch die Aktivierung interner Freiheitsgrade im Molekül konnte das Gas abkühlen, was zu einem rasanten, gravitativen Kollaps bis hin zu stellaren Dichten führte. Im Endstadium dieser Entwicklung bildete sich ein Protostern, der zwar anfangs nur ein tausendstel der Masse der Sonne hatte, das umliegende Gas aber rasch akkretierte. Der neugeborene Stern wuchs so weiter, bis nach etwa hunderttausend Jahren die Kernfusion in seinem Innern zündete.

Numerische Simulationen fanden bisher wenige Anzeichen für eine Fragmentation in der ersten Phase des Kollapses. Nimmt man an, dass die gesamte akkretierte Materie in einem Minihalo auf den einzelnen Protostern fällt, ergibt sich aus einfachen eindimensionalen Berechnungen, dass Population-III-Sterne ungefähr 100mal massereicher werden als die Sonne. Die extrem große Masse dieser Sterne führt dazu, dass sie wesentlich mehr ionisierende Strahlung emittieren als normale Sterne im heutigen Universum. Dies wirkt sich wiederum auf die 21cm-Hintergrundstrahlung aus und beeinflusst die Reionisation des Universums. Zudem können derart schwere Sterne als extrem energetische Supernovae explodieren, möglicherweise sogar als Paar-Instabilitäts-Supernovae, die den gesamten Stern zerstören und kein Schwarzes Loch zurücklassen.

Kürzlich haben Thomas Greif und seine Kollegen eine neue Simulationsmethode benutzt, um den Kollaps des Gases über einen Zeitraum von tausend Jahren nach der Entstehung des ersten Protosterns zu untersuchen. Die große räumliche und zeitliche Auflösung ihrer Simulation zeigte, dass das Gas sehr schnell in etwa zehn einzelne Protosterne fragmentierte statt ein einzelnes Objekt zu bilden. Da alle diese Protosterne ihre Materie vom gleichen Gas-Reservoir akkretieren, würde sich die typische Masse der Population-III-Sterne auf zehn Sonnenmassen verringern. Im Laufe der weiteren stellaren Entwicklung wäre in diesem Fall eine Explosion als Paar-Instabilitäts-Supernova unwahrscheinlich. Diese Sterne könnten ihr Leben eher als normale Supernova, eventuell mit einem Ausbruch von Gamma-Strahlung, beenden. In Beobachtungen wären diese einfach zu identifizieren und könnten Aufschluss über den Vorläufer-Stern geben.

Ein weiteres interessantes Resultat der Simulation ist, dass Protosterne durch gravitative Wechselwirkungen mit anderen Protosternen aus der zentralen Gaswolke herausgeschleudert werden können. Da dies in einer frühen Phase ihrer Entwicklung passiert, haben diese Sterne eine recht kleine Masse, weniger als eine Sonnenmasse, und könnten somit bis heute überlebt haben. Möglicherweise könnte man sie sogar in unserer Milchstraße finden. Die Entdeckung derartiger metallfreier Sterne würde das Szenario von Thomas Greif und seinen Kollegen bestätigen.


Thomas Greif, Volker Springel, Simon White, Simon Glover, Paul Clark, Rowan Smith, Ralf Klessen, Volker Bromm


Referenzen:

Thomas H. Greif, Volker Springel, Simon D. M. White, Simon C. O. Glover, Paul C. Clark, Rowan J. Smith, Ralf S. Klessen, Volker Bromm: "Simulations on a Moving Mesh: The Clustered Formation of Population III Protostars", submitted to ApJ
linkPfeilExtern.gifhttp://de.arxiv.org/abs/1101.5491

Paul C. Clark, Simon C. O. Glover, Rowan J. Smith, Thomas H. Greif, Ralf S. Klessen, Volker Bromm: "The Formation and Fragmentation of Disks around Primordial Protostars". Science Express, 3 February 2011, doi: 10.1126/science.1198027


drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2020, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 4.2.2011