MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: May 2008 all highlights

Measuring invisible pressure with optical and X-ray data

We can use either optical observations of stars or X-ray observations of hot gas in galaxies and clusters to independently determine the gravitating mass, which holds stars and gas in place. Both approaches should give the same answer, unless we miss important ingredients in our modeling. Scientists at Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics (MPA), IKI, CfA, IAS and MPE, have been comparing optical and X-ray data for nearby elliptical galaxies in search of such ingredients.

Fig. 1: Optical (left) and X-ray (right) images of elliptical galaxy NGC1399 (central galaxy in the Fornax cluster)

Fig. 2: Potential determined from X-ray (blue curve) and from optical (red line) data. Good agreement between two curves suggests that the contribution of low energy cosmic rays to gas pressure does not exceed 10%.

Elliptical galaxies, consisting of up to a trillion (1012) stars, have all the characteristics of old objects in the Universe, which have not changed much during the last few billion years. In such steady systems, the motions of stars obey well-established rules, which are a direct consequence of classical mechanics. In particular, if we know the velocity dispersion of stars and the size of the galaxy we can immediately estimate the mass of the galaxy. However, this is not the only way to measure the galaxy mass. Massive elliptical galaxies often posses hot gaseous atmospheres, which are powerful sources of X-ray emission. If the gas is in hydrostatic equilibrium - the galaxy's gravity is balanced by the pressure of the gas, then we can use the gas to make an independent estimate of the galaxy mass. For this we need to measure accurately the gas temperature and its spatial distribution.

With the launch of the Chandra X-ray observatory, having angular resolution of order of 0.5 arc second, the quality of X-ray images is comparable to ground based optical data (Figure 1), and therefore the mass of the galaxy can be equally well determined by each method. Any disagreement between the two methods is a valuable tool to determine the characteristics of the gas. For instance, it has been suggested that relativistic protons - an elusive constituent of cosmic rays - are often mixed with the thermal plasma that we see in X-rays. Due to their large mass, the protons, unlike electrons, do not produce much radiation and we cannot easily detect their presence in the gas. However, if relativistic protons make a substantial contribution to the gas pressure, then the gas spatial distribution will be broadened. The net result would be an error in the mass determination - X-ray analysis is expected to give a lower mass, compared to the mass determined from the optical data.

This comparison was made for a few well-studied elliptical galaxies. To make the comparison less sensitive to observational noise, the gravitational potential, rather than the mass itself, has been calculated and compared as shown in Figure 2. The potentials derived from X-ray and optical data came up remarkably close to each other with the discrepancy amounting to less than 10%. This immediately translates into a similarly small upper limit on the contribution of cosmic rays to the gas pressure. Moreover, this 10% limit is perhaps applicable to other hard to detect effects including departures from hydrostatic equilibrium, gas motions, substantial magnetic fields or incorrect modeling of stellar kinematics. Of course it is possible that different effects have larger amplitudes, but opposite signs so that they cancel each other. However, it would be a remarkable coincidence that the residual discrepancy is so small. The conclusion reached so far is that in the most round and well-behaved systems the gas hydrostatic equilibrium is a good approximation and the contribution of cosmic rays to the gas pressure is small. The next step will be to look at systems that are more complicated and use the X-ray observations to study the characteristics of their stellar populations, which are difficult to measure by other means.


Eugene Churazov, William Forman, Alexey Vikhlinin, Scott Tremaine, Ortwin Gerhard, Christine Jones.


Publications

Eugene Churazov, William Forman, Alexey Vikhlinin, Scott Tremaine, Ortwin Gerhard, Christine Jones, "Non-thermal pressure in M87 and NGC 1399 gas: X-ray vs. optical potential profiles",
2008, submitted to MNRAS, linkPfeilExtern.gifarXiv:0711.4686



drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2008-5-5

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: Mai 2008 Zur Übersicht

Unsichtbarer Druck mit optischen und Röntgendaten gemessen

Die gravitierende Masse von Galaxien und Galaxienhaufen, die Sterne und Gas zusammenhält, lässt sich sowohl durch optische Beobachtungen der Sterne und wie auch durch Röntgenbeobachtungen des heißen Gases unabhängig messen. Beide Methoden sollten zum gleichen Ergebnis führen, außer wir hätten wesentliche physikalische Effekte übersehen. Wissenschaftler vom Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik (MPA), CfA, IAS und MPE haben die optischen und Röntgendaten für nahe elliptische Galaxien verglichen, um nach solchen unbekannten Effekten zu suchen.

Abb. 1: Optisches (links) und Röntgenbild (rechts) der zentralen elliptischen Galaxie NGC 1399 im Fornax-Haufen.

Abb. 2: Aus Röntgendaten bestimmtes Potential (blaue Kurve), und das aus optischen Daten ermittelte Potential (rote Kurve). Die gute Übereinstimmung zwischen den beiden Kurven legt nahe, dass der Beitrag der niedrigenergetischen kosmischen Strahlung zum Gasdruck 10% nicht übersteigt.

Elliptische Galaxien, aus bis zu einer Trillion (1012) Sternen bestehend, gehören zu den alten Objekten im Universum, und haben sich über die letzten Milliarden Jahre kaum verändert. In solchen stationären Systemen folgen die Sterne gut etablierten Bahnen, die direkt aus der klassischen Mechanik folgen. Insbesondere, wenn man die Geschwindigkeitsverteilung der Sterne und den charakteristischen Durchmesser der Galaxie kennt, lässt sich daraus die Masse der Galaxie bestimmen. Dies ist aber nicht der einzige Weg, um ihre Masse zu ermitteln. Massereiche elliptische Galaxien besitzen oft auch heiße Gasathmosphären, die starke Strahlungsquellen im Röntgenlicht sind. Wenn sich dieses Gas im hydrostatischen Gleichgewicht befindet - sich die gravitative Anziehung der Galaxie also mit dem Druck des Gases im Gleichgewicht befindet - dann kann man das heiße Gas für eine unabhängige Bestimmung der Galaxienmasse benutzen. Dafür müssen wir die Temperatur und die räumliche Verteilung des Gases genau messen.

Mit dem Start des Chandra Röntgen-Observatoriums, dessen Teleskop eine Auflösung von 0.5 Bogensekunden hat, ist die Qualität der Röntgenbilder vergleichbar mit der bodengebundener optischer Aufnahmen geworden (Abb.1), und somit kann die Masse der Galaxie mit beiden Methoden gleich gut bestimmt werden. Wenn die beiden Methoden in ihren Ergebnissen nicht übereinstimmen, lässt dies wertvolle Rückschlüsse auf die Natur des heißen Gases zu. Zum Beispiel ist die Meinung vertreten worden, dass relativistische Protonen - eine schwer zu sehende Komponente der kosmischen Strahlung - oft mit dem thermischen Plasma vermischt sind, das wir in Röntgenstrahlen sehen. Wegen ihrer im Vergleich zu Elektronen großen Masse strahlen Protonen kaum, und so können wir ihr Vorhandensein im Gas nur schwer nachweisen. Wenn jedoch relativistische Protonen einen wesentlichen Teil zum Gasdruck beitragen, vergrößert sich die räumliche Ausdehnung des Gases. Das Endergebnis wäre ein Fehler in der Massenbestimmung - die Analyse der Röntgenstrahlung würde eine kleinere Masse ergeben als die optische Methode.

Dieser Vergleich wurde jetzt für wenige gutuntersuchte elliptische Galaxien durchgeführt. Um die Analyse weniger empfindlich gegenüber Beobachtungsunsicherheiten zu machen, wurde das Gravitationspotential statt der Masse bestimmt, und wie in Abb.2 verglichen. Die aus Röntgen- und optischen Daten abgeleiteten Potentiale kommen einander sehr nahe, mit weniger als 10% Diskrepanz. Dies ergibt direkt eine ähnlich kleine obere Grenze für den Beitrag der kosmischen Strahlung zum Gasdruck. Darüber hinaus ist diese 10% Grenze auch verwendbar, um andere schwer zu messende Effekte zu charakterisieren, wie Abweichungen vom hydrostatischen Gleichgewicht, Gasbewegungen, wesentliche Magnetfelder, oder Fehler in den Modellen für die optische Analyse. Natürlich ist es prinzipiell möglich, dass die verschiedenen Effekte größere Amplituden haben, aber umgekehrte Vorzeichen, so dass sie sich teilweise aufheben würden. Jedoch wäre es eine bemerkenswerte Koinzidenz, wenn die übrigbleibende Diskrepanz zwischen den beiden Potentialbestimmungen dann so klein ausfallen würde. Die Schlussfolgerung ist daher, dass in den meisten sphärischen und regulären Galaxien der Beitrag der kosmischen Strahlung zum Gasdruck klein sein muss. Der nächste Schritt wird sein, kompliziertere Systeme zu untersuchen, und die Röntgenbeobachtungen zu benutzen, um ansonsten schwer messbare Charakteristika ihrer Sternpopulationen zu bestimmen.


Eugene Churazov, William Forman, Alexey Vikhlinin, Scott Tremaine, Ortwin Gerhard, Christine Jones.


Veröffentlichungen:

Eugene Churazov, William Forman, Alexey Vikhlinin, Scott Tremaine, Ortwin Gerhard, Christine Jones, "Non-thermal pressure in M87 and NGC 1399 gas: X-ray vs. optical potential profiles",
2008, eingereicht bei MNRAS, linkPfeilExtern.gifarXiv:0711.4686



drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2020, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 5.5.2008