MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: November 2008 all highlights

Solar prominences: the need for dynamical modelling

Recent observations from space have shown that the ultraviolet lines of hydrogen (the socalled Lyman lines) are very asymmetric. This new and very puzzling result has now been explained by a group of scientists from the Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik and from the Astronomical Institute of the Academy of Sciences in Ondrejov, Czech Rep. It was found that for the modelling a large degree of fine structure together with a strong dynamical behaviour of the structures is required.

Fig. 1: Prominence seen on the solar limb in the light of one line of neutral helium. The white line gives the position of the spectrograph slit used for the Lyman line observations.

Fig. 2: Image of a filament observed against the solar disc in the H-alpha line with the Swedish 1-m Solar Telescope (SST). The picture shows a high degree of fine structure with many narrow fibrils which produce the filament configuration (courtesy of O. Engvold).

Fig. 3: Line profiles of Lyman-alpha (upper part) and Lyman-beta (lower part) of the prominence observed on May 25,2005 by SUMER. The spectra are taken at different positions along the slit .

Fig. 4: Theoretical profiles of the Lyman-alpha to Lyman-gamma lines at a few selected positions along the threads. The full lines represent the profiles which result from the model with 10 individual threads. The dot-dashed lines give the profiles obtained for a single-thread model at the same position.

Solar prominences are relatively cool structures having around 8000 K which extend high into the corona which is several million K hot. They can be observed best in the strong H-alpha line of neutral hydrogen. They can also be seen in other spectral lines and an example is shown in our Fig. 1. When seen against the solar disc in H-alpha they appear as dark structures called filaments which usually have very detailed fine structure.A typical example is given in Fig. 2.

With the SUMER (Solar Ultraviolet Measurements of Emitted Radiation) spectrograph onboard of SOHO (Solar and Heliospheric Observatory) they have been observed recently in the Lyman lines of hydrogen. The position of the spectrograph slit is shown by the solid white line in Fig. 1. Some examples of the profiles taken at several positions along the slit of the lowest two of these lines are given in Fig. 3. One surprising result of these new observations was the fact that in many cases these line profiles are highly non-symmetric.

Theoretical models for prominence fine structures have been developed by Ulrich Anzer in collaboration with Petr Heinzel and Stanislav Gunar from the Astronomical Institute in Ondrejov. With these models we were able to reproduce the observed asymmetries. For this investigation we used a configuration which consisted of several individual thread structures which had randomly selected line-of-sight (LOS) velocities and the threads were also randomly displaced in the direction perpendicular the LOS. We applied detailed radiative transfer calculations to these models. From our calculations we found that rather small LOS velocities in the range between -10 km/s and +10 km/s were sufficient to produce large asymmetries. Some examples can be seen in Fig. 4. The physical mechanism which produces these results lies in the fact that the different threads have different relative velocities. Therefore the emission from one such thread will be absorbed by the threads in front of it and this absorption is Doppler shifted with respect to the emitter. This then can lead to a large asymmetry of the profiles. The interesting point is that already small velocities can give such asymmetries. The reason for this is that on the one hand the line profiles are strongly reversed with two narrow peaks on the two sides, and that on the other hand the absorption profiles are very steep.

These new results give strong support for the necessity to include fine structure dynamics in realistic prominence models.


Ulrich Anzer


Publications

Stanislav Gunar, Petr Heinzel, Ulrich Anzer and Brigitte Schmieder, "On Lyman-line asymmetries in quiescent prominences", 2008, Astronomy & Astrophysics 490, 307 - 313



drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2008-10-20

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: November 2008 Zur Übersicht

Sonnenprotuberanzen: die Notwendigkeit einer dynamischen Modellierung.

Neue Weltraumbeobachtungen der Sonne haben gezeigt, dass die ultravioletten Linien des Wasserstoffs (die sogenannten Lyman Linien) sehr asymmetrisch sind. Dieses unerwartete Resultat wurde nun kürzlich von einer Gruppe von Wissenschaftlern des Max-Planck- Instituts für Astrophysik und des astronomischen Instituts der Akademie der Wissenschaften in Ondrejov, tschechische Rep., erklärt. Es zeigte sich, dass für diese Modellierung ein hoher Grad an Feinstruktur in Verbindung mit einem dynamischen Verhalten dieser Strukturen nötig sind.

Abb. 1: Bild einer Protuberanz am Sonnenrand im Licht einer Linie des neutralen Heliums. Die weiße Linie markiert die Position des Spektrographenspalts für die Lyman-Linien-Beobachtungen.

Abb. 2: H-alpha Bild eines Filaments auf der Sonnenscheibe vom schwedischen 1-m Solar Telescope (SST). Das Filament zeigt einen hohen Grad an Feinstruktur (von O. Engvold).

Abb. 3: Linienprofile von Lyman-alpha (oberer Teil) und Lyman-beta (unterer Teil) einer von SUMER am 25. Mai 2005 beobachteten Protuberanz. Die Spektren sind an verschiedenen Positionen entlang des Spalts aufgenommen.

Abb. 4: Theoretische Profile von Lyman-alpha bis Lyman-gamma berechnet für verschiedene Fadenpositionen. Die vollen Linien zeigen die Profile für ein Modell mit 10 individuellen Fäden. Die strich-punktierten Linien zeigen die Profile eines einzelnen Fadens an der gleichen Stelle.

Sonnenprotuberanzen sind relativ kühle Gebilde von etwa 8000 K, die weit in die meherere Milionen K heiße Korona hineinragen. Man kann sie am besten in der starken H-alpha Linie des neutralen Wasserstoffs beobachten. Aber auch in anderen Spektrallinien sind sie gut sichtbar und ein Beispiel dafür ist in Abb. 1 gezeigt. Wenn man sie gegen den Hintergrund der Sonnenscheibe in H-alpha betrachtet, erscheinen sie als dunkle Strukturen, die Filamente genannt werden. Sie haben im Allgemeinen eine sehr detailierte Feinstruktur; ein typisches Beispiel dafür ist in Abb. 2 gezeigt.

Mit Hilfe des SUMER (Solar Ultraviolet Measurements of Emitted Radiation) Spektrographen an Bord des SOHO (Solar and Heliospheric Observatory) Satelliten wurden diese auch in den Lyman Linien des Wasserstoffs beobachtet. In Abb. 1 ist die Position des Spektrographenspalts als weiße Linie eingezeichnet. Beispiele für die gemessenen Linienprofile der ersten zwei Lyman Linien an mehereren Stellen entlang dem Spalt sind in Abb. 3 gezeigt. Ein überraschendes Ergebnis dieser Messungen war, dass in vielen Fällen die Profile sehr unsymmetrisch sind.

Theoretische Modelle für die Protuberanzenfeinstruktur wurden von Ulrich Anzer in Zusammenarbeit mit Petr Heinzel und Stanislav Gunar vom astronomischen Institut in Ondrejov entwickelt. Mit Hilfe dieser Modelle konnten wir die beobachteten Asymmetrien reproduzieren. Für unsere Untersuchung benutzten wir eine Konfiguration die aus mehereren individuellen Fadenstrukturen besteht, die zufällig gewählte Geschwindigkeiten entlang der Sichtlinie (LOS, line-of-sight) besitzen; außerdem sind sie senkrecht zur LOS um zufällige Distanzen versetzt. Für diese Modelle wurden detaillierte Strahlungstransportrechnungen durchgeführt. Unsere Rechnungen ergaben, dass bereits relativ kleine LOS-Geschwindigkeiten zwischen -10 km/s und +10 km/s ausreichen, um starke Asymmetrien zu produzieren. Ausgewählte Beispiele berechneter Linienprofile sind in Abb. 4 dargestellt. Der physikalische Mechanismus, der zu diesem Ergebnis führt, liegt in den verschiedenen Geschwindigkeiten der einzelnen Fäden zueinander. Deshalb wird die Strahlung von einem Faden von allen vor ihm liegenden mit entsprechenden Dopplerverschiebungen absorbiert. Dies kann die gefundenen Linienasymmetrien produzieren. Entscheidend dabei ist die Tatsache, dass bereits relativ kleine Geschwindigkeiten große Asymmetrien ergeben. Dies ist deshalb der Fall, weil zum einen die Linienprofile zwei sehr ausgeprägte enge Spitzen besitzen und zum anderen die Absorptionsprofile steile Flanken haben.

Diese neuen Ergebnisse zeigen uns, dass für realistische Protuberanzenmodelle die Dynamik der Feinstrukturen von entscheidender Bedeutung ist.


Ulrich Anzer


Veröffentlichungen:

Stanislav Gunar, Petr Heinzel, Ulrich Anzer and Brigitte Schmieder, "On Lyman-line asymmetries in quiescent prominences", 2008, Astronomy & Astrophysics 490, 307 - 313



drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2020, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 20.10.2008