MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: March 2007 all highlights

How are Brightest Cluster Galaxies different from normal galaxies?

At the centers of most galaxy groups and clusters there is often one galaxy which is brighter and more massive than the other cluster galaxies (Fig. 1). Scientists from Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics and from Edinburgh have set out to determine how the environment at the center of galaxy clusters affects the properties of these Brightest Cluster Galaxies (BCGs).

Fig. 1: The center of the galaxy cluster Abell 2244. Many galaxies are visible, but the one at the center is by far the brightest.

Fig. 2: A "gallery" of BCGs. The BCGs are sorted according to the mass of the host cluster (from the smallest systems in the top left corner to the most massive ones in the lower right corner), and every 18th BCG in our sample is shown.

In clusters of galaxies, various physical processes play a role: Clusters are gravitationally dominated by dark matter but also contain vast quantities of hot gas (linkPfeil.gif Research Highlight May 2004). This hot gas cools by emitting X-ray radiation, decreasing its temperature and allowing more gas to flow to the center (so-called "cooling flows", linkPfeil.gif Research Highlight November 2005). The galaxy at the center of a galaxy cluster sits at the center of the dark matter halo, where also the gas density is highest. Furthermore, these galaxies assembled via many mergers of mostly cluster galaxies. The goal of our investigation was to find out whether any of these processes cause BCGs to be notably different from normal galaxies.

For a sample of 625 galaxy groups and clusters from the Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS; linkPfeil.gif Research Highlight April 2002) we have selected the brightest galaxy in the densest, central part of the cluster (Fig. 2). From a catalog of 200000 SDSS galaxies, we chose for each BCG a control galaxy of similar stellar mass, redshift, and color (the color of a galaxy reflects the average age of its stars). Any systematic difference between the two samples can be attributed to the environment at the cluster center.

We find that BCGs are larger than non-BCGs, and have higher velocity dispersions (a measure of the speed of the stars that make up the galaxy). These findings imply a higher dark matter fraction in BCGs, which can be viewed as a direct consequence of their location at the center of a dark matter halo.

Since most BCGs are elliptical galaxies, we can test whether they follow the scaling relations which apply to other ellipticals. One of these is the Faber-Jackson relation, which relates the galaxy luminosity and velocity dispersion. While the non-BCG control sample lies on the same relation as elliptical galaxies in general, for BCGs the relation is significantly different. This is a confirmation of theoretical studies, which predict that the Faber-Jackson relation is determined by the eccentricity of merger orbits, i.e. the merger remnants of galaxy mergers which occur on highly elliptical orbits lie on a different Faber-Jackson relation than those taking place on more circular orbits. Since clusters are located at the intersections of the "cosmic web", the BCGs are expected to form from mergers along the filaments of the matter distribution, and thus mostly elliptical merger orbits.

Finally, we find that BCGs are more likely to host a radio-loud active galactic nucleus ("AGN"). This is particularly interesting, since it has been suggested that these AGNs stop the cooling flows in clusters (linkPfeil.gif Research Highlight November 2005).

Although the properties of BCGs are not exceedingly different from normal galaxies, we can trace the influences of three processes typical of the cluster center: the dark matter halo alters the structural properties, the merging history is reflected in different scaling relations, and the hot gas causes BCGs to be more likely to host radio-loud AGN.


Anja von der Linden


Publication

Anja von der Linden, Philip N. Best, Guinevere Kauffmann, Simon D.M. White,
"How special are Brightest Group and Cluster Galaxies?",
Submitted to MNRAS; linkPfeilExtern.gif astro-ph/0611196

Philip N. Best, Anja von der Linden, Guinevere Kauffmann, Timothy M. Heckman, Christian R. Kaiser,
"On the prevalence of radio-loud AGN in brightest cluster galaxies: implications for AGN heating of cooling flows",
Submitted to MNRAS; linkPfeilExtern.gif astro-ph/0611197



drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2007-2-28

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: März 2007 Zur Übersicht

Wie unterscheiden sich hellste Haufengalaxien von normalen Galaxien?

In den Zentren vieler Galaxienhaufen befindet sich oft eine Galaxie, die heller und massereicher ist als die anderen Galaxien des Haufens (Abb. 1). Wissenschaftler vom Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik und aus Edinburgh haben untersucht, wie die Umgebung des Haufenzentrums die Eigenschaften dieser hellsten Haufengalaxien (englisch "Brightest Cluster Galaxies", BCG) beeinflusst.

Abb. 1: Das Zentrum des Galaxienhaufens Abell 2244. Die Galaxie in der Mitte ist bei weitem die hellste.

Abb. 2: Beispiele von BCGs, sortiert nach der Masse des Galaxienhaufens (von kleinen Galaxiengruppen oben links zu den massereichsten Haufen unten rechts).

Verschiedene Prozesse spielen eine Rolle in Galaxienhaufen: Zu einem großen Teil bestehen sie aus Dunkler Materie. Des Weiteren befindet sich in ihnen viel heisses Gas (linkPfeil.gif Aktuelle Forschung Mai 2004). Dieses Gas verliert Energie durch Abstrahlung von Röntgenstrahlung, wodurch mehr Gas ins Zentrum fliessen kann (sogenannte "cooling flows", linkPfeil.gif Aktuelle Forschung November 2005). Die Galaxie im Zentrum des Galaxienhaufens befindet sich also auch im Zentrum des Dunkle Materie Halos, wo auch die Gasdichte am höchsten ist. Zudem haben sich diese Galaxien durch Kollisionen und Verschmelzung von mehreren Haufengalaxien gebildet. Das Ziel unserer Untersuchung war es, festzustellen, ob sich BCGs durch diese Einflüsse merklich von normalen Galaxien unterscheiden.

Für 625 Galaxienhaufen im Sloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS; linkPfeil.gif Aktuelle Forschung April 2002) haben wir die hellste Galaxie im Zentrum identifiziert (Abb. 2). Aus einem Katalog von 200000 Galaxien im SDSS wird jeder BCG eine Kontrollgalaxie zugewiesen, die eine möglichst ähnliche Masse, Rotverschiebung und Farbe (die Farbe einer Galaxie spiegelt das durchschnittliche Alter ihrer Sterne wieder) aufweist. Jeder systematische Unterschied zwischen den BCGs und diesen Kontrollgalaxien kann dann auf den Einfluss des Haufenzentrums zurückgeführt werden.

BCGs sind größer als die Kontrollgalaxien und haben höhere Geschwindigkeitsdispersionen (ein Maß für die Geschwindigkeit der Sterne der Galaxie). Diese Resultate implizieren, dass die BCGs einen höheren Anteil Dunkler Materie enthalten. Dies kann als direkte Konsequenz ihrer Lage im Zentrum eines Dunkle Materie Halos interpretiert werden.

Da die meisten BCGs elliptische Galaxien sind, können wir untersuchen, ob sie den Skalierungsrelationen anderer elliptischer Galaxien folgen. Eine solche Relation ist die Faber-Jackson Beziehung, welche die Helligkeit und die Geschwindigkeitsdispersion verknüpft. Während die Kontrollgalaxien der normalen Faber-Jackson Beziehung folgen, ist der Zusammenhang für BCGs anders. Dies ist eine Bestätigung theoretischer Vorhersagen, nach denen die Form der Faber-Jackson Beziehung für Galaxien, die durch das Verschmelzen anderer Galaxien gebildet wurden, abhängt von den Bahnparametern der Vorgängergalaxien: kollidieren zwei Galaxien frontal, folgt die entstandene Galaxie einer anderen Faber-Jackson Beziehung. Da Galaxienhaufen an den Knoten des "kosmischen Netz" liegen, werden BCGs hauptsächlich durch Galaxienkollisionen entlang der Filamente gebildet, d.h. entlang elliptischer Bahnen.

Zudem finden wir, dass BCGs öfter einen aktiven galaktischen Kern (englisch: active galactic nucleus, AGN), der Radiowellen abstrahlt, enthalten. Dies ist insbesondere deshalb interessant, da solche AGNs den "cooling flows" entgegenwirken können (linkPfeil.gif Aktuelle Forschung November 2005).

Obwohl sich BCGs nicht sonderlich von normalen Galaxien unterscheiden, können wir den Einfluss von drei Charakteristika des Haufenzentrums feststellen: die Dunkle Materie beeinflusst die Struktur, die Bildungsgeschichte äussert sich darin, dass BCGs auf anderen Skalierungsrelation liegen, und das heisse Gas "aktiviert" die Kerne der BCGs öfter als in normalen Galaxien.


Anja von der Linden


Veröffentlichungen

Anja von der Linden, Philip N. Best, Guinevere Kauffmann, Simon D.M. White,
"How special are Brightest Group and Cluster Galaxies?",
Submitted to MNRAS; linkPfeilExtern.gif astro-ph/0611196

Philip N. Best, Anja von der Linden, Guinevere Kauffmann, Timothy M. Heckman, Christian R. Kaiser,
"On the prevalence of radio-loud AGN in brightest cluster galaxies: implications for AGN heating of cooling flows",
Submitted to MNRAS; linkPfeilExtern.gif astro-ph/0611197



drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2018, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 1.3.2007