MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: October 2007 all highlights

Summed hard X-ray spectrum of local AGN: a link to the cosmic X-ray background.

It is widely believed that the cosmic X-ray background (CXB) is the summed redshifted emission from all active galactic nuclei (AGN) in the visible Universe and hence a unique integral record of the history of growth of massive black holes. Scientists at the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics have carried out yet another crucial test of this paradigm.

Fig. 1: Upper panel: Cumulative 3-300 keV spectrum of local AGN with hard X-ray luminosities (in the 17-60 keV or 3-20 keV energy band) ranging from 1041 to 1043.5 erg/s, obtained by stacking individual AGN spectra measured by INTEGRAL and RXTE. The associated statistical and combined statistical and systematic uncertainties are shown by error bars and yellow-coloured regions, respectively. The solid line is the best-fit model of the data by a sum of absorbed and unabsorbed power-law spectra with a high-energy exponential cutoff. The dashed lines indicate the contributions of unobscured, obscured and Compton thick AGN. Lower panel: The same but for AGN with hard X-ray luminosities over 1043.5 erg/s.

Fig. 2: Upper part of the plot: Solid line - the result of convolving the local cumulative AGN spectrum (sum of the two spectra shown in Fig. 1) with the redshift dependence of the AGN X-ray luminosity density inferred from deep extragalactic surveys conducted by Chandra and XMM-Newton. The vertically hatched region represents the associated statistical uncertainty and the horizontally hatched region the additional 20% systematic uncertainty in the overall normalization. The points with error bars represent the cosmic X-ray background spectrum measured by INTEGRAL during Earth occultation observations (linkPfeil.gifResearch Highlight October 2006). For comparison in the lower part of the plot the result of a similar calculation for the case of no cosmological evolution of AGN (i.e. the same total AGN luminosity per cubic Mpc at all redshifts as at z=0) is shown.

Over the recent years a wealth of observational data has provided further strong support to the picture in which the CXB is a superposition of AGN. In particular, the bulk of the CXB at energies below several keV has been directly resolved by X-ray telescopes into individual AGN. However, the peak of the CXB spectral energy distribution is located near 30 keV where 99% of the background emission remains unresolved and it was never directly demonstrated that the sum of the hard X-ray (between ten and several hundred keV) spectra of all AGN residing in a given volume of Universe is indeed compatible with the measured spectral energy distribution of the CXB (see linkPfeil.gifResearch Highlight October 2006 on a recent CXB measurement by INTEGRAL). Such crucial comparison has now been made by MPA researchers using all-sky hard X-ray surveys performed by the RXTE (linkPfeil.gifResearch Highlight February 2004) and INTEGRAL (linkPfeil.gifResearch Highlight October 2006 and linkPfeil.gifResearch Highlight May 2007) observatories.

The goal was to determine the cumulative spectrum of the local (at redshift z<0.1) AGN population in the broad energy band 3-300 keV. To this end a stacking analysis was performed of the spectra of 84 AGN detected by the PCA instrument aboard RXTE and of 68 AGN detected by the IBIS/ISGRI instrument aboard INTEGRAL, properly taking into account the space densities of AGN with different luminosities (using the well-known 1/Vmax technique).

The resulting summed spectrum (Figure 1) peaks at 50-80 keV and rolls over both below 20 keV (due to photoabsorption in obscured AGN which outnumber unobscured ones) and above 100-200 keV. This local cumulative AGN spectrum proves to be consistent, albeit within the significant statistical and systematic uncertainties, with the CXB spectral energy distribution in both shape and normalization (Figure 2) if the strong "cosmic downsizing" of AGN between redshifts z~1 and z=0, known from deep X-ray surveys with Chandra and XMM-Newton, has occured without significant changes in the average hard X-ray spectral shape of AGN.

The implication is that the popular concept of the CXB being a superposition of AGN is grossly correct. Improved measurements of the cumulative spectral distribution and cosmological evolution of AGN by current and future X-ray and hard X-ray astronomy missions will provide tighter constraints on the cosmic history of massive black hole growth and AGN unification schemes.


S. Sazonov, M. Revnivtsev, R. Krivonos, E. Churazov, R. Sunyaev


Reference:

S. Sazonov, R. Krivonos, M. Revnivtsev, E. Churazov, and R. Sunyaev, Cumulative hard X-ray spectrum of local AGN: a link to the cosmic X-ray background, submitted to Astronomy and Astrophysics, linkPfeilExtern.gifarXiv0708.3215



drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2007-9-20

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: Oktober 2007 Zur Übersicht

Kosmische Röntgenhintergrundstrahlung aus Aktiven Galaktischen Kernen

Viele Wissenschaftler glauben, dass der kosmische Röntgenhintergrund (CXB von engl. cosmic X-ray background) die Summe der rotverschobenen Emission aller aktiven Galaxienkerne (AGN von engl. active galactic nuclei) des sichtbaren Universums darstellt und damit Rückschlüsse auf das Wachstum der massereichen schwarzen Löcher gezogen werden können. Wissenschaftler des Max-Planck-Instituts für Astrophysik haben nun einen weiteren wichtigen Aspekt dieses Modells überprüft.

Abb. 1: Oben: Kumulatives 3-300 keV Spektrum der lokalen AGN mit harter Röntgenleuchtkraft (im 17-60 keV oder 3-20 keV Energieband) im Bereich von 1041 bis 1043.5 erg/s, gewonnen durch Summieren der Spektren einzelner, von INTEGRAL und RXTE beobachterter AGN. Die statistischen und systematischen Unsicherheiten werden durch die Fehlerbalken bzw. den gelben Bereich angegeben. Die durchgezogene Linie zeigt das zu den Daten am besten passende Modell, welches als Summe von absorbierten und nicht-absorbierten Spektren (Potenzgesetz mit exponentiellem Abfall) berechnet wurde. Die gestrichelten Linien zeigen die Beiträge von nicht-verdunkelten, verdunkelten und für Compton-Strahlung dichten AGN.
Unten: wie obere Abbildung, aber für AGN mit harter Röntgenleuchtkraft, die größer als 1043.5 erg/s ist.

Abb. 2: Oben: Durchgehende Linie - Das kumulative lokale AGN Spektrum, berechnet unter Berücksichtigung der Rotverschiebungsabhängigkeit der AGN Röntgenleuchtkraftsdichte, wie sie von den tiefen Himmelsdurchmusterungen mit Hilfe von Chandra und XMM-Newton abgeleitet werden kann. Der vertikal schraffierte Bereich zeigt die statistischen, der horizontal schraffierte Bereich die 20% systematischen Unsicherheiten in der globalen Normalisierung an. Die Punkte mit Fehlerbalken zeigen den CXB, wie er mit INTEGRAL gemessen wurde (linkPfeil.gifAktuelle Forschung Oktober 2006).
Unten: Zum Vergleich das Ergebnis ohne kosmologische Entwicklung der AGN.

Die grosse Menge der über die letzten Jahre gewonnenen Beobachtungsdaten bestätigt das Bild, dass sich der kosmische Röntgenhintergrund als Superposition der Strahlung vieler AGN erklären lässt. Insbesondere war es mit Röntgenteleskopen möglich, bei Energien unterhalb von einigen keV den größten Teil des CXB in einzelne AGN aufzulösen. Jedoch befindet sich das Maximum des CXB Spektrums in der Nähe von 30 keV, wo 99% der Hintergrundemission noch nicht aufgelöst werden konnte und es wurde bisher noch nicht direkt nachgewiesen, dass die Superposition der harten Röntgenstrahlung (zwischen zehn und einigen hundert keV) aller AGN innerhalb eines bestimmten Raumbereiches des Universums mit der gemessenen spektralen Energieverteilung übereinstimmt (linkPfeil.gifAktuelle Forschung Oktober 2006). Dieser wichtige Vergleich wurde nun von Wissenschaftlern am MPA durchgeführt mit Hilfe von Daten der Himmelsdurchmusterungen von RXTE (linkPfeil.gifAktuelle Forschung Februar 2004) und INTEGRAL (linkPfeil.gifAktuelle Forschung Oktober 2006 und linkPfeil.gifAktuelle Forschung Mai 2007).

Das Ziel ist also, das kumulative Spektrum der lokalen AGN Population (Rotverschiebung z<0.1) in dem breiten Energieband von 3 bis 300 keV zu bestimmen. Bisher wurde die Überlagerungsanalyse für insgesamt 152 AGN unter Berücksichtigung der Raumdichte von AGN unterschiedlicher Leuchtkraft durchgeführt (davon wurden 84 AGN mit dem PCA Instrument des RXTE Satelliten und 68 mit dem IBIS/ISGRI Instrument an Bord von INTEGRAL beobachtet).

Das resultierende Spektrum (Abbildung 1) hat ein Maximum bei 50-80 keV und fällt unterhalb von 20 keV (auf Grund der Photoabsorption in optisch verdunkelten AGN, welche am häufigsten vorkommen) und oberhalb von 100-200 keV ab. Dieses lokale kumulative AGN Spektrum erweist sich, trotz gewisser statistischer und systematischer Unsicherheiten, sowohl in der spektralen Form, als auch der Amplitude mit dem Spektrum des CXB konsistent (Abbildung 2). Das trifft allerdings nur zu, wenn es beim sogenannten "cosmic downsizing" der AGN zwischen z~1 und z=0, wie es von tiefen Himmelsdurchmusterungen mit Hilfe von Chandra und XMM-Newton im Röntgenbereich bekannt ist, zu keinen wesentlichen Modifikationen der Form des AGN Spectrums im harten Röntgenbereich kommt.

Dies bestätigt, dass die Vorstellung über die Erklärung des kosmische Röntgenhintergrunds korrekt ist. Verbesserte Messungen zur kumulativen spektralen Verteilung und kosmologischen Entwicklung der AGN mit Hilfe von laufenden und zukünftigen Röntgenmissionen werden ermöglichen, mehr über das Wachsen massereicher schwarzer Löcher und das Gesamtbild der AGN zu lernen.


S. Sazonov, M. Revnivtsev, R. Krivonos, E. Churazov, R. Sunyaev


Veröffentlichung:

S. Sazonov, R. Krivonos, M. Revnivtsev, E. Churazov, and R. Sunyaev, Cumulative hard X-ray spectrum of local AGN: a link to the cosmic X-ray background, submitted to Astronomy and Astrophysics, linkPfeilExtern.gifarXiv0708.3215



drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2019, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 1.10.2007