MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: December 2006 all highlights

The Outer Disks of Galaxies Observed by GALEX

The Galaxy Evolution Explorer (GALEX) satellite was launched by NASA in April 2003. It is an orbiting space telescope that is observing galaxies in ultraviolet (UV) light across 10 billion years of cosmic history (Figure 1). UV light is emitted primarly by massive young stars and it can hence be used as a very sensitive probe of recent star formation in a galaxy. However, UV radiation is almost entirely absorbed by ozone in the upper atmosphere of the Earth so astronomers must obtain their observations from space.

Fig. 1: An artists impression of GALEX in orbit around the Earth. The Solar panels are deployed and the telescope cover is open, nominal operations are proceeding.

Fig. 2: This image highlights the hidden spiral arms (blue) that were discovered around the nearby galaxy NGC 4625 by the ultraviolet eyes of NASA's Galaxy Evolution Explorer.

Fig. 3: Correlations between NUV-r (an indicator of the age of stars in the outer disk of the galaxy), D$_n$(4000) (an indicator of stellar age in the inner galaxy), and L[OIII]/$M_{BH}$ (an indicator of accretion rate onto the black hole).

Guinevere Kauffmann, astronomer from the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics, in collaboration with colleagues from the USA, France and Korea, has been analyzing GALEX data in order to learn about the recent star formation histories of galaxies in the local Universe. The analysis has been carried out with galaxies that were observed both by GALEX and by the linkPfeilExtern.gifSloan Digital Sky Survey, a very large optical survey of almost a million nearby galaxies. The galaxy spectra obtained by the SDSS yield distances, luminosities and other physical characteristics of the galaxy (see linkPfeil.gif Research Highlight April 2002), while the GALEX data are useful for locating young, hot stars.

Traditionally, galaxies in the nearby Universe have been divided into two major classes: 1) elliptical galaxies, which have massive spheroids and red optical colours, and 2) spiral galaxies, which have actively star-forming blue disks. One surprise discovery from GALEX is that many early-type galaxies that look "red and dead" when viewed in optical light, turn out to have very extended outer disks that are only visible in the ultra-violet. An example of such a galaxy is shown in Figure 2. The galaxy NGC 4265 only showed an oval-shaped ball of light when observed in visible light. In UV light one sees a disk with a beautiful set of spiral arms (see linkPfeilExtern.gifhttp://www.galex.caltech.edu/ for a press release about this galaxy).

The work of Kauffmann and collaborators extends this result to the entire population of elliptical galaxies in the local Universe. The analysis demonstrates that UV disks are a common phenomenon among this population. Interestingly, all elliptical galaxies where the central supermassive black hole is growing at an appreciable rate (see linkPfeil.gif Research Highlight July 2004) have outer UV-bright disks (Figure 3). This suggests that the disks contain a reservoir of gas necessary for ongoing growth of the central spheroids and supermassive black holes. The disks are subject to dynamical instabilities such as warps and bars, and gas will then flow inwards towards the nucleus of the galaxy.

So how do the outer UV disks discovered by GALEX form? In the standard theoretical scenario, disks form by the condensation of gas in gravitationally dominant dark matter halos. If the gas initially has the same angular momentum as the dark matter and conserves this angular momentum during its contraction, the distribution of disk sizes can be predicted. These predictions are found to be in good agreement with the observed sizes of spiral galaxies. Future work will determine whether the same is true of the UV disks around ellipticals.


Guinevere Kauffmann


Acknowledgements:

GALEX (Galaxy Evolution Explorer) is a NASA Small Explorer, launched in April 2003. We gratefully acknowledge NASA's support for construction, operation, and science analysis for the GALEX mission, developed in cooperation with the Centre National d'Etudes Spatiales (CNES) of France and the Korean Ministry of Science and Technology.


Publication

Guinevere Kauffmann, Timothy M. Heckman, Tamas Budavari, Stephane Charlot, Charles G. Hoopes, D. Christopher Martin, Mark Seibert, Tom A. Barlow, Luciana Bianchi, Tim Conrow, Jose Donas, Karl Forster, Peter G. Friedman, Young-Wook Lee, Barry F. Madore, Bruno Milliard, Patrick F. Morrissey, Susan G. Neff, R. Michael Rich, David Schiminovich, Todd Small, Alex S. Szalay, Ted K. Wyder, S.K. Yi:
"Ongoing Formation of Bulges and Black Holes in the Local Universe: New Insights from GALEX", linkPfeilExtern.gifastro-ph/0609436



drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2006-11-27

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: Dezember 2006 Zur Übersicht

GALEX beobachtet Scheiben in elliptischen Galaxien

Der Galaxy Evolution Explorer (GALEX) Satellit wurde im April 2003 von der NASA gestartet. Das Weltraumteleskop (Abb. 1) beobachtet Galaxien im ultravioletten (UV) Licht über 10 Milliarden Jahre kosmischer Entstehungsgeschichte hinweg. UV-Strahlung wird hauptsächlich von massereichen jungen Sternen emittiert und eignet sich deshalb, vor kurzem entstandene Sterne in Galaxien nachzuweisen. Allerdings wird UV-Strahlung fast gänzlich durch das Ozon in der Erdatmosphäre absorbiert; deshalb sind solche Beobachtungen nur mit einem Weltraumteleskop möglich.

Abb. 1: Künstlerische Darstellung von GALEX in der Umlaufbahn um die Erde. Die Sonnenkollektoren sind ausgefahren und der Schutzdeckel ist geöffnet; in diesem Zustand können Beobachtungen durchgeführt werden.

Abb. 2: Dieses Bild hebt die versteckten Spiralarme (blau) hervor, die in der nahgelegenen Galaxie NGC 4265 mit den ultravioletten Augen von NASA's GALEX entdeckt wurden.

Abb. 3: Korrelationen zwischen dem Farbindex NUV-r (ein Indikator für das Alter der Sterne in der äußeren Scheibe der Galaxie), D_n(4000) (ein Indikator für das stellare Alter im inneren der Galaxie), und L[OIII]/$M_{BH}$ (ein Indikator der Akkretionsrate auf das schwarze Loch).

Guinevere Kauffmann, Astronomin am Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik, hat zusammen mit Kollegen aus den USA, Frankreich und Korea GALEX-Daten analysiert, um die jüngste Sternentstehunggeschichte in Galaxien im lokalen Universum zu entschlüsseln. Es wurden Galaxien anlysiert, die sowohl mit GALEX wie auch dem linkPfeilExtern.gifSloan Digital Sky Survey (SDSS), einer optischen Himmelsdurchmusterung von knapp einer Millionen Galaxien, beobachtet wurden. SDSS nimmt auch Spektren auf, aus denen die Entfernungen, Helligkeiten und andere Eigenschaften der Galaxien gewonnen werden können (siehe linkPfeil.gif Aktuelle Forschung April 2002), während GALEX junge, heiße Sterne in diesen Galaxien nachweist.

Galaxien werden traditionell in zwei Hauptkategorien aufgeteilt: 1) elliptische Galaxien, mit massereichen sphäroidalen Komponenten und roten optischen Farben, und 2) Spiralgalaxien mit blauen Scheiben, in denen Sterne entstehen. Eine überraschende Entdeckung von GALEX war, dass viele elliptische Galaxien, die "rot und tot" im optischen Licht erscheinen, ausgedehnte äußere Scheiben im UV-Licht aufweisen. Abb. 2 zeigt ein Beispiel einer solchen Galaxie: NGC 4265 erscheint als ovaler Ball im sichtbaren Licht. Im UV-Licht sieht man eine Scheibe mit wunderschönen Spiralarmen (siehe linkPfeilExtern.gifhttp://www.galex.caltech.edu/ für eine Pressemitteilung über diese Galaxie).

Kauffmann und ihre Forschungskollegen konnten dieses Ergebnis auf die gesamte Population von elliptischen Galaxien im lokalen Universum ausweiten. Ihre Forschungsarbeit zeigt, dass derartige UV Scheiben häufig in diesen Galaxien vorkommen. Interessanterweise zeigen alle elliptischen Galaxien, in denen das zentrale superschwere schwarze Loch momentan merklich weiterwächst (siehe linkPfeil.gif Aktuelle Forschung Juli 2004) solche UV-hellen Scheiben (Abb. 3). Dies impliziert, dass diese Scheiben ein Gasreservoir enthalten, welches für das Wachstum des schwarzen Loches und des Galaxienzentrums nötig ist. In den Scheiben können dynamische Instabilitäten wie Balken und Wölbungen auftreten, durch die Gas ins Zentrum der Galaxie transportiert wird.

Wie entstehen nun die äußeren UV-Scheiben, die GALEX entdeckt hat? Im Standard-Szenario bilden sich Scheiben durch Gaskondensation in Halos aus dunkler Materie. Falls das Gas den gleichen Drehimpuls hat wie die dunkle Materie und diesen Drehimpuls während des Kontrahierens erhält, können die Größen der entstehenden Scheiben berechnet werden. Diese Vorhersagen sind in gutem Einklang mit den beobachteten Größen von Spiralgalaxiesn. Weitere Arbeiten werden zeigen ob dies auch für die UV-Scheiben in elliptischen Galaxien gilt.


Guinevere Kauffmann


Danksagungen:

GALEX (Galaxy Evolution Explorer) ist ein NASA Small Explorer, der seit April 2003 in Betrieb ist. Wir danken der NASA für die Unterstützung beim Bau, Durchführung, und Datenanalyse der GALEX-Mission, entwickelt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Centre National d'Etudes Spatiales (CNES), Frankreich, und dem koreanischen Ministerium für Forschung und Technologie.


Originalveröffentlichung

Guinevere Kauffmann, Timothy M. Heckman, Tamas Budavari, Stephane Charlot, Charles G. Hoopes, D. Christopher Martin, Mark Seibert, Tom A. Barlow, Luciana Bianchi, Tim Conrow, Jose Donas, Karl Forster, Peter G. Friedman, Young-Wook Lee, Barry F. Madore, Bruno Milliard, Patrick F. Morrissey, Susan G. Neff, R. Michael Rich, David Schiminovich, Todd Small, Alex S. Szalay, Ted K. Wyder, S.K. Yi:
"Ongoing Formation of Bulges and Black Holes in the Local Universe: New Insights from GALEX", linkPfeilExtern.gifastro-ph/0609436



drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2021, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 4.1.2007