MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: September 2005 all highlights

A Violation of Cosmological Isotropy?

Researchers at the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics and their collaborators in Oslo, Norway, and Pasadena, USA have found evidence that anomalies in the Cosmic Microwave Background (CMB) radiation on large angular scales indicate that the Universe may have a preferred direction. Such a possibility would require a significant reappraisal of current theory and that the long-held assumption of cosmological isotropy should be abandoned.

Fig. 1: Examples of CMB anisotropy patterns induced by Bianchi models of different parameters. Each plot shows the full sky in orthographic projection.

Fig. 2: (a) shows the WMAP data, namely the small fluctuations in the CMB over the full sky in a Mollweid projection. (b) shows the best correlated Bianchi model (enhanced by a factor of 4). (c) the WMAP data corrected for the Bianchi component.

Since the Copernican Revolution removed humanity from the center of the Universe, two of the most fundamental principles guiding cosmologists have been the principles of cosmological homogeneity (or the linkPfeilExtern.gifCopernican Principle) and of cosmological linkPfeilExtern.gifisotropy. Observations show that these approximately hold true in the region of space we can observe, but new data from the Wilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe yield provocative indications that the principle of isotropy may need to be re-examined.

The linkPfeilExtern.gifCosmic Microwave Background radiation is one of the cleanest probes available for studying the large scale structure of the Universe. According to the linkPfeilExtern.gifBig Bang picture, the CMB originated at the moment when the expanding Universe first became cool enough for the plasma of free electrons and protons to form neutral hydrogen and thus to become transparent to photons - the so-called recombination epoch - which happened when the universe was only a few hundred thousand years old. If the Universe were exactly homogeneous and isotropic, the CMB would be exactly the same in every direction on the sky - but then there would be no galaxies, stars, planets, or cosmologists! The small inhomogeneities which eventually formed into these objects are also present in the CMB, where they are seen as small fluctuations in temperature about a mean value of 2.725 K. Statistically speaking, these fluctuations should be uniformly distributed over the sky if the Universe is isotropic, and to a large degree, they are.

While the data are generally considered to be in very good agreement with the standard view, they contain anomalies on large angular scales that indicate there may be a preferred direction to the universe. In particular, linkPfeilExtern.gifEriksen et al. have shown that the fluctuations show more power in one hemisphere than in the other, for a specifically determined coordinate frame. Motivated by this result, A. J. Banday and T. R. Jaffe of the MPA, along with collaborators H. K. Eriksen and F. K. Hansen in Oslo, Norway, and K. M. Górski in Pasadena, USA, have investigated a specific class of cosmological models which are homogeneous, but admit anisotropy.

Homogeneous models that include shear (anisotropic expansion) and vorticity (global rotation) are known as linkPfeilExtern.gifBianchi type VIIh models. CMB photons propagate along linkPfeilExtern.gifgeodesics that are rotating about the symmetry axis and "stretched" (or redshifted) due to the shear expansion. The radiation will then appear hotter or colder depending on the particular path the photons have taken, resulting in an additional anisotropy in the observed CMB in the form of a spiral pattern (see Figure 1 for examples).

The researchers have compared these models to the data and linkPfeilExtern.gifshown that the asymmetry may be due to a combination of shear (along a particular axis) and vorticity (about that axis). The data and the matching Bianchi model are shown in Figure 2 (a) and (b) respectively. If this anisotropic Bianchi component is removed from the CMB data (Figure 2 (c)), the power asymmetry and several related statistical anomalies are corrected.

Unfortunately, such a model is inconsistent with both the theory of linkPfeilExtern.gifinflation and with the measured total energy density of the Universe. However, the researchers stress that a pragmatic approach should be taken in the interpretation of the results. In particular,
i) the Bianchi model provides a means to statistically quantify deviations from isotropy, and
ii) the best-fit model provides a template temperature pattern which other models may need to reproduce in order to explain the observed anomalies.

Ultimately, a viable theory should be developed to self-consistently explain the observations on all angular scales, and make independently verifiable predictions for other cosmological probes. Nevertheless, the current results do suggest that the long-held assumption of cosmological isotropy may need to be abandoned.


T. R. Jaffe, A. J. Banday

Further Information:

linkPfeilExtern.gifWilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe home page

linkPfeilExtern.gifNed Wright's Cosmology Tutorial

linkPfeil.gifNote on Bianchi models (PostScript)

T. R. Jaffe, A. J. Banday, H. K. Eriksen, K. M. Górski, & F. K. Hansen, Evidence of Vorticity and Shear at Large Angular Scales in the WMAP Data: A Violation of Cosmological Isotropy?, 2005, ApJL, 629, L1, (linkPfeilExtern.gifastro-ph/0503213).

H. K. Eriksen, F. K. Hansen; A. J. Banday, K. M. Górski, & P. B. Lilje, Asymmetries in the Cosmic Microwave Background Anisotropy Field, 2004, ApJ 605, 14 (linkPfeilExtern.gifastro-ph/0307507).


drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2005-8-18

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: September 2005 Zur Übersicht

Eine Verletzung der kosmischen Isotropie?

Wissenschaftler am Max-Planck Institut für Astrophysik (MPA) und ihre Mitarbeiter aus Oslo (Norwegen) und Pasadena (USA) haben kürzlich Hinweise dafür gefunden, dass Anomalitäten des Kosmischen Mikrowellenhintergrundes (CMB, von Cosmic Microwave Background) auf großen Winkelskalen ein Universum mit ausgezeichneter Richtung nahelegen. Diese Möglichkeit würde eine signifikante Reevaluation der heutigen Theorie erfordern und die Aufgabe der allgemein akzeptierten Annahme von kosmischer Isotropie implizieren.

Abb. 1: Beispiele für durch Bianchi Modelle mit verschiedenen Parametern induzierte CMB Anisotropiemuster. Jeder Graph zeigt den gesamten Himmel in orthographischer Projektion.

Abb. 2: (a) zeigt die WMAP Daten, d.h die kleinskaligen Fluktuationen der CMB Temperatur in Mollweide Projektion. (b) stellt das bestkorrellierte Bianchi Modell (durch einen Faktor 4 verstärkt) dar. (c) die WMAP Daten nach Extraktion des Bianchi Betrages.

Seit die Kopernikanische Revolution die Menschheit aus dem Zentrum des Universums gestoßen hat, sind die kosmologische Homogenität und Isotropie die zwei fundmentalsten Leitprinzipien der Kosmologen. Beobachtungen zeigen, dass diese näherungsweise erfüllt sind, jedoch liefern neue Daten des WMAP Satelliten provokative Indikationen auf die Notwendigkeit einer Nachprüfung der Isotropieannahme.

Die kosmische Mikrowellenhintergrundstrahlung bietet eine der direktesten Möglichkeiten zur Untersuchung der großskaligen Struktur des Universums. Nach der Standardurknalltheorie entstand der CMB im dem Moment als das expandierende Universum kalt genug war, um die Bildung von neutralem Wasserstoff aus dem Elektron-Proton Plasma zu erlauben. Mit diesem Akt der sogenannten Rekombination, welche nur etwa ein paar hunderttausend Jahre nach dem Urknall geschah, wurde das Universum für Photonen erstmals transparent. Wäre das Universum exakt homogen und isotrop, so wäre auch der Mikrowellenhintergrund in alle Richtungen am Himmel gleich. In diesem Fall gäbe es allerdings auch keine Galaxien, Sterne, Planeten oder Kosmologen! In Wirklichkeit existieren jedoch kleine Inhomogenitäten in der Materieverteilung, die letztendlich die Keime der erwähnten Objekte bilden und welche wiederum als kleine, richtungsabhängige Fluktuationen der Temperatur des Mikrowellenhintergrundes um den Mittelwert von T=2.725 K beobachtbar sind. Im statistischen Sinne sollten diese Temperaturfluktuationen gleichmäßig über den Himmel verteilt sein, was durch Beobachtungen auch weitestgehend bestätigt wurde.

Obgleich die bisherigen Daten generell sehr gut mit diesen Standardbild übereinzustimmen scheinen, enthalten sie Anomalien auf großen Winkelskalen, welche auf eine bevorzugte Richtung im Universum hinweisen. Insbesondere Erikson et al. haben gezeigt, dass die Fluktuationen in einem speziell gewähltem Koordinatensystem mehr Power in einer der Hemispheren als im Vergleich zur anderen haben. Motiviert durch diese Ergebnisse haben A. J. Banday und T. R. Jaffe vom MPA in Kollaboration mit H. K. Eriksen und F. K. Hansen aus Oslo (Norwegen) und K. M. Górski aus Pasadena (USA) eine besondere Klasse von Kosmologischen Modellen untersucht, welche homogen sind jedoch Anisotropie zulassen.

Homogene, kosmologische Modelle, die Scherung (anisotrope Expansion) und Vortizität (globale Rotation) einschliessen, sind als Bianchi Type VIIh Modelle bekannt. In ihnen bewegen sich CMB Photonen entlang von Geodäsen, welche um die Symmetrieachsen rotieren und durch die anisotrope Expansion "gestreckt" (oder rotverschoben) werden. Das Strahlungsfeld erscheint dann in Abhängigkeit von dem von den Photonen eingeschlagenen Weg heisser oder kälter, was dann zu weiterer Anisotropie des beobachteten CMB in Form von spiraligen Mustern führt (vgl. Abbildung 1).

Die Wissenschaftler haben diese Modelle mit den verfügbaren Daten verglichen und damit gezeigt, dass sich die oben erwähnte Asymmetrie zwischen den Hemispheren durch eine Kombination von Scherung (entlang einer bestimmten Achse) und Vortizität (um dieselbe Achse) erklären lässt. Die Beobachtungdaten und das entsprechende Bianchi Modell sind jeweils in Abbildung 2(a) und (b) dargestellt. Wenn man nun die aus dem Bianchi Modell resultierende Anisotropie aus den CMB Daten herausrechnet (Abbildung 2(c)), so beseitigt dies die erwähnte Asymmetrie und weitere damit in Verbindung stehende Anomalien.

Bedauerlicherweise sind solche Modelle nicht vereinbar mit der Inflationstheorie und der gemessenen Gesamtenergiedichte des Universums. Wie dem auch sei, die Wissenschaftler betonen, dass bei der Interpretation der Ergebnisse ein pragmatischer Ansatz gewählt werden sollte. Insbesondere sei erwähnt:
i) die Bianchi Modelle liefern eine Möglichkeit Abweichungen von der Isotropie zu quantifizieren und
ii) das Modell, welches die Daten am besten wiedergibt, kann als Template Temperatur Muster benutzt werden, das von alternativen Modellen reproduziert werden sollte, um die beobachteten Anomalien zu erklären.

Letztenendes sollte eine brauchbare Theorie entwickelt werden, welche in sich stimmig die CMB Beobachtungen auf allen Winkelskalen erklärt und von anderen kosmologischen Beobachtungsquellen unabhängig überprüfbare Vorhersagen macht. Nichtsdestotrotz deuten die derzeitigen Ergebnisse eine Verletzung der bisher allgemein akzeptierten Annahme von kosmischer Isotropie an.


T. R. Jaffe, A. J. Banday, und J. Chluba

Weitere Informationen:

linkPfeilExtern.gifWilkinson Microwave Anisotropy Probe home page

linkPfeilExtern.gifNed Wright's Cosmology Tutorial

linkPfeil.gifNote on Bianchi models (PostScript)

T. R. Jaffe, A. J. Banday, H. K. Eriksen, K. M. Górski, & F. K. Hansen, Evidence of Vorticity and Shear at Large Angular Scales in the WMAP Data: A Violation of Cosmological Isotropy?, 2005, ApJL, 629, L1, (linkPfeilExtern.gifastro-ph/0503213).

H. K. Eriksen, F. K. Hansen; A. J. Banday, K. M. Górski, & P. B. Lilje, Asymmetries in the Cosmic Microwave Background Anisotropy Field, 2004, ApJ 605, 14 (linkPfeilExtern.gifastro-ph/0307507).


drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2019, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 16.8.2005