MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: December 2005 all highlights

The 3-dimensional structure of a sunspot

Fig. 1: Top: Sunspot image made with the Swedish telescope, combined with a sketch of the inferred 3-dimensional structure (schematic) underneath the spot. The structure consists of a cluster of magnetic strands which continue down into the interior of the Sun (see sketch in Fig. 2). Only the uppermost part of this cluster is shown here and the continuation of the magnetic field lines above the surface is also left out. When the surface layers are stripped away (bottom panel), gaps in this cluster become visible. They are mostly present in the penumbra (the filamentary outer part of the spot) but gaps remain even in the dark umbra. [Schematic, in reality the gaps are much narrower and more numerous.]

Fig. 2: Vertical section through a sunspot and the convective envelope (swirls) of the Sun. What is just a dark patch at the surface is part of a magnetic field that continues above the surface of the Sun (dashed lines) and into the interior.

What would a sunspot look like if one could see below the surface of the Sun? The answer turns out to be rather clear if one looks carefully enough at the surface itself, but the result is quite not what one might have expected. The close look required for this has been made possible by the new Swedish 1-meter Solar Telescope (SST) on La Palma. Figure 1 show the answer, the result of a collaboration between the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics and the Institute for Solar Physics of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. What at the surface looks like a compact magnetic patch turns out to be the end of a looser cluster of magnetic strands underneath, similar to the frayed end of a piece of rope. With this structure as a framework, a whole range of old and new puzzling observations neatly fall into place.

One of the oldest of these puzzles is the brightness of sunspots. The strong magnetic field of a spot is known to suppress the transport of heat from deeper layers to the surface, causing the spot to look dark. This suppression is in fact so effective that the observed radiation from even the darkest parts of spots is actually hard to explain.

In the tenuous visible layers of the Sun the magnetic field lines of a sunspot fill up all available space, but below the surface they can be kept apart by the gas pressure. The calculations now show that below the surface the magnetic field is in all likelihood organized differently from above. They show that the brighter streaks in the outer parts of the spot (the so-called filaments) are just a reflection of narrow gaps free of magnetic field, between bundles of strong field. This structure would become clear if one could look only a bit deeper into the Sun. Through the gaps radiation energy reaches the surface much more easily than through the magnetic field itself.

Apart from the brightness of spots, the model explains the close connection between penumbral filaments and bright 'dots' in the umbra as well as the so-called 'dark cores' of penumbral filaments (recently discovered with the SST), and makes predictions about the polarization of light from sunspots that can be tested in the near future.


Henk Spruit,
Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik,

Göran Scharmer,
Institute for Solar Physics of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.




Publication:

linkPfeilExtern.gif "Fine structure, magnetic field and heating of sunspot penumbrae" , Astronomy and Astrophysics, in press


drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2005-12-5

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: Dezember 2005 Zur Übersicht

Die drei-dimensionale Struktur eines Sonnenflecks

Abb. 1: Oben: Bild eines Sonnenflecks (Swedish 1-meter Solar Telescope), mit Skizze der 3-dimensionalen Struktur unter der Oberfläche. Die Struktur besteht aus einem Bündel magnetischer Fäden, die in das Sonneninnere hineinreichen (s. Abb. 2). Nur der obere Teil dieses Bündels ist dargestellt, und auch der Verlauf der Feldlinien über der Oberfläche ist weggelassen. Wenn eine dünne Oberflächlichenschicht entfernt wird (unten), werden die Lücken im Bündel sichtbar. Sie sind am deutlichsten in der Penumbra (der gestreifte äussere Teil des Flecks) aber sind auch im dunklen Innenbereich (die Umbra) vorhanden. [Vereinfachte Darstellung, in Wirklichkeit sind die Lücken unterteilt in zahlreiche schmalere Lücken].

Abb. 2: Vertikaler Schnitt durch einen Sonnenfleck und die konvektive Hülle der Sonne (Kringel). Was an der Oberfläche nur ein dunkler Fleck ist, ist Teil eines Magnetfeldes das sich über die Oberfläche (gestrichelt) und ins Innere fortsetzt.

Wie würde ein Sonnenfleck ausschauen wenn man unter die Oberfläche der Sonne schauen könnte? Die Antwort, stellt sich heraus, ist ziemlich klar, aber etwas überraschend, wenn man sich die Oberfläche selbst genau genug anschaut. Dieser genaue Blick wurde möglich durch das neue Schwedische Sonneteleskop (SST) auf La Palma. Abbildung 1 zeigt die Antwort, das Ergebnis einer Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik und dem Institut für Sonnenphysik der Schwedischen Akademie der Wissenschaften. Was an der Oberfläche wie eine kompakte magnetische Insel ausschaut, ist das Ende einer viel lockereren Bündel magnetischer 'Fäden': wie das zerfranzte Ende einer Schnur. Eine ganze Reihe von den Beobachtungen aufgeworfenen Puzzlestückchen findet in diesem Bild seinen natürlichen Platz.

Eine der ältesten dieser Puzzles ist die Helligkeit von Sonnenflecken. Das starke Magnetfeld im Fleck unterdrückt den Wärmefluß vom Sonneninnere an die Oberfläche, der Fleck ist dadurch dunkel. Diese Unterdrückung ist aber so effektiv das sogar die Helligkeit von den dunkelsten Stellen im Fleck in wirklichkeit ein Problem liefert.

Im verdünnten Gas der sichbaren Schichten der Sonne füllen die Magnetfeldlinien den ganzen verfügbaren Raum aus, aber unter der Oberfläche kann der Gasdruck Feldlinien getrennt halten. Die Berechnungen zeigen daß unter der Oberfläche hochstwahrscheinlich eine andere Organisation des Magnetfeldes herrscht als darüber. Die hellen Streifen in den Aussenbereichen des Flecks (penumbrale Filamente genannt) sind in diesem darin nur ein Abbild von den schmalen nicht-magnetischen Lücken zwischen starken Magnetfeldbündel. Diese würden sichtbar werden wenn mann nur ein wenig tiefer in die Sonne hineinschauen könnte. Durch diese Lücken kommt die Strahlungsenergie viel leichter an die Sonnenoberfläche als durch das Magnetfeld selbst.

Neben dem Helligkeitsproblem erklärt das Modell auch die enge Verwandschaft von penumbralen Filamenten mit die helleren 'dots' in der Umbra, sowie die sogennanten 'dark cores' der Filamente (erst vor kurzem mit dem SST entdeckt), und macht Vorhersagen über die Polarisation vom Sonnenfleckenlicht, die in näher Zukunft geprüft werden können.


Henk Spruit,
Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik,

Göran Scharmer,
Institute for Solar Physics of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences.




Publikation:

linkPfeilExtern.gif "Fine structure, magnetic field and heating of sunspot penumbrae" , Astronomy and Astrophysics, in press


drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2020, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 5.12.2005