Rashid Sunyaev awarded with the 2008 Henry Norris Russell Prize of the American Astronomical Society

The American Astronomical Society (AAS) announced that the 2008 Henry Norris Russell Prize is awarded to Rashid Sunyaev, Director at the Max-Planck Institute for Astrophysics in Garching. The Russell Prize is the highest award of the AAS and is chosen annually on the basis of a lifetime of eminence in astronomical research.

The official citation states: "The Henry Norris Russell Prize of the American Astronomical Society is awarded to Rashid Sunyaev of the Space Research Institute (IKI) of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Moscow, Russia, and Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics (MPA), Garching, for his seminal contributions to high energy astrophysics and cosmology. His theoretical insights defined the modern paradigm for gravitational accretion, provided interpretations for a host of high energy processes in the Galaxy and beyond, and laid the foundation for the current era of precision cosmology."

Further information:

linkPfeilExtern.gifAmerican Astronomical Society
linkPfeilExtern.gifHenry Norris Russell Lectureship Recipients
linkPfeil.gif2008 Crafoord Prize awarded to Max Planck Astrophysicist Rashid Sunyaev
linkPfeil.gifProf. Rashid A. Sunyaev