MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: August 2015 all highlights

Three-dimensional computer simulations support neutrinos as cause of supernova explosions

Latest three-dimensional computer simulations are closing in on the solution of an decades-old problem: how do massive stars die in gigantic supernova explosions? Since the mid-1960s, astronomers thought that neutrinos, elementary particles that are radiated in huge numbers by the newly formed neutron star, could be the ones to energize the blast wave that disrupts the star. However, only now the power of modern supercomputers has made it possible to actually demonstrate the viability of this neutrino-driven mechanism.

Supernovae are among the brightest and most violent explosive events in the Universe. They are not only the birth sites of neutron stars and black holes; they also produce and disseminate heavy chemical elements up to iron and possibly even nuclear species heavier than iron, which could be forged during the explosion. Understanding the explosion mechanism of massive stars is therefore of fundamental importance to better define the role of supernovae in the cosmic cycle of matter.

Stars with more than about eight times the mass of our sun evolve by "burning" nuclear fuel to successively heavier chemical elements, thus converting hydrogen to helium, carbon, oxygen, sulfur and silicon, until a dense, degenerate core mostly made of iron builds up in the center. At this stage no further energy gain by nuclear fusion is possible, because neutrons and protons in iron nuclei possess the highest nuclear binding energies.

Fig. 1: SuperMUC supercomputer of the linkPfeilExtern.gifLeibniz Computing Center (LRZ) (Image copyrights: LRZ 2012).

Fig. 2: MareNostrum supercomputer of the linkPfeilExtern.gifBarcelona Supercomputing Center (BSC) (Image copyrights: BSC 2013)

Lacking its central energy source, the stellar iron core cannot escape gravitational instability when its mass grows to a critical limit by ongoing silicon burning in a surrounding shell. A catastrophic collapse sets in and stops abruptly only when the stellar matter reaches densities higher than in atomic nuclei. At this moment repulsive forces between the neutrons and protons resist further compression and the central region bounces back to send a strong shock wave into the overlying, still infalling matter of the iron core.

For more than 30 years there had been hope that ever more improved computer models would finally be able to demonstrate that this "core-bounce shock" is able to trigger a successful supernova explosion by reversing the infall of the outer stellar layers. However, the opposite turned out to be the case: Better models showed that the energy losses of the bounce shock are so dramatic that its outward propagation comes to a halt still well inside of the iron core. It became clear that something has to help reviving the stalled shock. Some mechanism has to supply the shock with fresh energy so that it reaccelerates and expels the stellar mantle and envelope in the supernova blast.

Fig. 3: Sequence of volume-rendering images that show the violent non-spherical mass motions that drive the evolution of the collapsing 20 solar-mass star towards the onset of a neutrino-powered explosion. The whitish central sphere indicates the newly formed neutron star, the enveloping bluish surface marks the supernova shock. (Visualization: Elena Erastova and Markus Rampp, Max Planck Computing and Data Facility (MPCDF)); copyright (2015) by American Astronomical Society).
linkPfeil.gifMovie of the 3D computer simulation(by Aaron Döring)


Fig. 4: Interactive 3D graphics corresponding to the images of Fig. 3.
(Visualization: Elena Erastova and Markus Rampp, Max Planck Computing and Data Facility (MPCDF))

Already in the 1960's it was speculated (in a seminal publication by Stirling Colgate and Richard White) that neutrinos might be involved. Myriads of these high-energy elementary particles are radiated by the extremely hot, newly formed neutron star. If less than one percent of them gets absorbed in the matter behind the stalled shock, a healthy supernova explosion will be the consequence (see linkPfeil.gifMPA research highlight 2001). This was shown, in principle, already in the mid 1980's with first sufficiently detailed numerical simulations by Jim Wilson and interpretative work by Wilson and Hans Bethe.

However, many aspects of the involved physics were still too crude and too approximate to be realistic. In particular, with the observation of Supernova 1987A it became clear that stellar explosions are highly asymmetric phenomena and non-spherical plasma flows must play an important role already at the very beginning of the explosion. Early multi-dimensional computer models ---mostly still in two dimensions, i.e., assuming rotational symmetry around a chosen axis for reasons of computational efficiency--- indeed showed that convection and non-radial mass motions provide crucial support to the neutrino-heating mechanism and enhance the energy deposition by neutrinos. Thus explosions could be obtained although spherical models did not find shock revival and did not lead to explosions (see linkPfeil.gifMPA press release 2009).

Nature, however, has three spatial dimensions and therefore these early successful models were critisized to be unrealistic and not reliable. In fact, not only the assumed axial symmetry is artificial, also the physics of turbulent flows differs in two dimensions compared to the 3D case.

Only very recently the increasing power of modern supercomputers has now made it possible to perform supernova simulations without artificial constraints of the symmetry. A new level of realism in such simulations is thus reached and brings us closer to the solution of a 50 year old problem.

The stellar collapse group at the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics (MPA) plays a leading role in the worldwide race for such models. With all relevant physics included, in particular using a highly complex treatment of neutrino transport and interactions, such computations are at the very limit of what is currently feasible on the biggest available computers. The model simulations are performed on 16,000 cores (equivalent to a similar number of the fastest existing PCs) in parallel, which is the largest share of SuperMUC at the Leibniz-Rechenzentrum (LRZ) in Garching (Fig. 1) and of MareNostrum at the Barcelona Supercomputing Center (BSC; Fig. 2) that the MPA team is granted access to. Nevertheless, one full supernova run, conducted over an evolution time of typically half a second, consumes up to 50 million core hours and takes more than 1/2 year of project time to be completed.

The enormous effort has payed off! The MPA team has recently been able to report a first successful 3D explosion for a 9.6 solar-mass star (see linkPfeil.gifMPA research highlight 2015; linkPfeil.gifMovie of the 3D explosion of a star with 9.6 solar masses by Aaron Döring) and has now also obtained a 3D explosion of a 20 solar-mass progenitor (Figs. 3, 4 and Movie). Based on the presently most advanced description of the neutrino physics in collapsing stellar cores worldwide, these results are a true milestone in supernova modeling. They confirm the viability of the neutrino-heating mechanism in principle, applying our currently best knowledge of all processes that play a role in the center of dying stars, whose extreme conditions in temperature and density are hardly accessible by laboratory experiments on Earth. Since not all aspects of the complex neutrino reactions in the newly formed neutron star are finally understood, the 3D models demonstrate that within existing uncertainties neutrinos can indeed transfer enough energy to revive the stalled shock. As known from previous models in two dimensions, violent nonradial fluid flows must provide crucial support to relaunch the blast wave and will function as seeds of the later, large-scale asymmetries that are observed in supernova explosions.

Further work on the theoretical models is necessary. So far the successful 3D simulations could only be done with rather coarse resolution, because bigger computers would be needed to perform more refined supernova calculations. Moreover, a wider range of stellar masses must be investigated, varying the initial conditions in the pre-collapse cores. A final confirmation of our theoretical picture of the explosion mechanism and the role of neutrinos, however, can only come from observations. On the one hand this demands a closer link of the explosion models to observable supernova properties, on the other hand much hope rests on a next supernova that will occur in our Milky Way galaxy. Such a nearby event will flood the Earth with 1030 neutrinos, of which several thousand to tens of thousands will be captured in huge underground experiments like Super-Kamiokande in Japan and IceCube at the South Pole. Neutrinos (besides gravitational waves) will thus serve as unique messengers: since they escape from the center of the supernova they will bring us information directly from the very heart of the explosion.

Hans-Thomas Janka


Publications:

T. Melson, H.-T. Janka, & A. Marek: Neutrino-driven supernova of a low-mass iron-core progenitor boosted by three-dimensional turbulent convection, Astrophysical Journal Letters, 801, L24 (2015); e-print linkPfeilExtern.gifarXiv:1501.01961

T. Melson, H.-T. Janka, R. Bollig, F. Hanke, A. Marek, & B. Müller: Neutrino-driven explosion of a 20 solar-mass star in three dimensions enabled by strange-quark contributions to neutrino-nucleon scattering, Astrophysical Journal Letters, 808, L42 (2015); e-print linkPfeilExtern.gifarXiv:1504.07631

Acknowledgments:

Elena Erastova and Markus Rampp (Max Planck Computing and Data Facility (MPCDF)) are acknowledged for the images of Figs. 3 and 4, Aaron Döring for the movies of our supernova simulations. This project was partly funded by the European Research Council through grant ERC-AdG No. 341157-COCO2CASA. Computing time was kindly provided by the European PRACE Initiative on SuperMUC (GCS@LRZ, Germany) and MareNostrum (BSC, Spain). The postprocessing of the simulation data was conducted on the IBM iDataPlex System hydra of the Max Planck Computing and Data Facility (MPCDF).

Contact:

Dr. Hans-Thomas Janka
Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics, Garching
Tel.: +49 89 30000-2228
email: hjankampa-garching.mpg.de



drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2015-8-1

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: August 2015 Zur Übersicht

Dreidimensionale Computermodelle stützen Neutrinos als Ursache von Supernovaexplosionen

Neueste Computersimulationen in drei Dimensionen nähern sich einer Antwort auf die jahrzehntealte Frage wie massereiche Sterne als Supernovae explodieren. Bereits Mitte der 1960er Jahre wurde vorgeschlagen, dass Neutrinos dabei eine zentrale Rolle spielen, weil der neu entstehende Neutronenstern im Zentrum eines sterbenden Sterns diese in riesiger Zahl abstrahlt. Doch erst jetzt, mit den stärksten verfügbaren Supercomputern, konnten die Wissenschaftler zeigen, dass dieser neutrinogetriebene Explosionsmechanismus tatsächlich funktioniert.

Supernovae gehören zu den hellsten und gewaltigsten Explosionen im Universum. In ihnen werden Neutronensterne und Schwarze Löcher geboren, und sie produzieren und verteilen auch schwere chemische Elemente bis zum Eisen und möglicherweise noch schwerere Atomkerne, die bei der Explosion entstehen. Ein besseres Verständnis des Mechanismus, der zur Explosion von Supernovae führt, ist daher von zentraler Wichtigkeit, um die Rolle von Supernovae im kosmischen Materiekreislauf genau zu definieren.

Sterne mit mehr als der achtfachen Masse der Sonne durchlaufen ihre Entwicklung unter "Verbrennung" leichterer chemischer Elemente zu immer schwereren, bis in einer Folge von nuklearen Brennstufen aus Wasserstoff über Helium, Kohlenstoff, Sauerstoff und Silizium schließlich ein Kern aus Eisen im Sternzentrum entsteht. In diesem Stadium kann der Stern keine weitere Energie durch Kernfusion mehr gewinnen, weil Neutronen und Protonen in Eisenatomkernen am stärksten gebunden sind.

Abb. 1: Der SuperMUC Höchstleistungsrechner am linkPfeilExtern.gifLeibniz-Rechenzentrum (LRZ) (Bildrechte: LRZ 2012).

Abb. 2: MareNostrum Höchstleistungsrechner am linkPfeilExtern.gifBarcelona Supercomputing Center (BSC) (Bildrechte: BSC 2013)

Da der Stern nun seine zentrale Energiequelle verliert, ist der Kollaps seines Eisenkerns unvermeidlich, sobald dessen Masse durch weiteres Siliziumbrennen in einer umgebenden Schale einen kritischen Grenzwert überschreitet. Innerhalb von Bruchteilen einer Sekunde vollzieht sich eine Implosion des stellaren Eisenkerns, die erst dann abrupt abgestoppt wird, wenn im Zentrum die Dichte von Atomkernen erreicht wird. In diesem Augenblick widersteht die Sternmaterie einer weiteren Kompression, denn die Neutronen und Protonen lassen sich wegen starker gegenseitiger Abstoßungskräfte nicht dichter packen. Der innere stellare Kern prallt daher zurück und erzeugt eine starke Stoßwelle, die sich in die weiterhin kollabierenden, äußeren Schichten des Eisenkerns ausbreitet.

Über 30 Jahre bestand die Hoffnung, dass mit immer weiter verbesserten Computermodellen bewiesen werden könnte, dass der Stoß aus dem Rückprall imstande ist, die Explosion des Sterns direkt einzuleiten. Das Gegenteil stellte sich jedoch heraus. Verbesserte Modelle zeigten, dass dramatische Energieverluste die Stoßwelle noch weit innerhalb des stellaren Eisenkerns zum Stehen bringen. Damit war klar, dass es einer Zufuhr frischer Energie bedarf, um den Stoß erneut zu beschleunigen und so schließlich die Explosion der äußeren Sternschichten auszulösen.

Abb. 3: Folge von volumengrafischen Bildern, die die starken nichtradialen Materieberwegungen zeigen, welche die neutrinogetriebene Explosion eines kollabierenden Sterns mit 20 Sonnenmassen ermöglichen. Die weiße Kugel im Innern stellt den entstehenden Neutronenstern dar, die bläuliche, transparente Hülle deutet die Stoßwelle der Supernovaexplosion an. (Visualisierung: Elena Erastova und Markus Rampp, Max Planck Computing and Data Facility (MPCDF); Bildrechte: American Astronomical Society (2015)).
linkPfeil.gifFilm der dreidimensionalen Computerberechnung (von Aaron Döring).


Abb. 4: Interaktive 3D Grafik zu den Bildern der Abb. 3.
(Visualisierung: Elena Erastova und Markus Rampp, Max Planck Computing and Data Facility (MPCDF))

Bereits in den 1960-er Jahren wurde (in einer fundamentalen Veröffentlichung von Stirling Colgate und Richard White) spekuliert, dass Neutrinos für diese Energiezufuhr verantwortlich sein könnten, denn der heiße Neutronenstern im Zentrum produziert unzählige solcher hochenergetischen Elementarteilchen. Weniger als ein Prozent dieser Neutrinos würde ausreichen, um eine gewaltige Supernova zu verursachen, wenn sie in der Materie hinter dem stehenden Stoß absorbiert werden können (siehe linkPfeil.gifMPA Aktuelle Forschung 2001). Schon Mitte der 1980-er Jahre wurde diese Möglichkeit durch die ersten, einigermaßen geeigneten numerischen Berechnungen von Jim Wilson und durch interpretative Arbeiten von Wilson und Hans Bethe gezeigt.

Allerdings steckten in diesen frühen Modellen noch sehr viele Annahmen und Näherungen, und die Modelle waren daher nicht sehr realistisch. Insbesondere wurde mit der Supernova 1987A klar, dass Sternexplosionen extrem asymmetrisch ablaufen und dass bereits in der frühesten Phase der Explosion nicht-radiale Plasmaströmungen eine wichtige Rolle gespielt haben müssen. Erste mehrdimensionale Computersimulationen ---damals meist in zwei Dimensionen, d.h. zur Einsparung von Rechenzeit unter der Annahme von Rotationssymmetrie um eine angenommene Achse--- konnten belegen, dass Konvektion und turbulente Materiebewegungen den Neutrinoheizmechansimus entscheidend unterstützen können und den Energieübertrag durch Neutrinos verstärken. Dies führt zu erfolgreichen Explosionen, auch wenn sphärisch symmetrische Modelle nicht explodieren (siehe linkPfeil.gifMPA Presseerklärung 2009).

Die Natur besitzt jedoch drei Raumdimensionen, weshalb diese frühen, erfolgreichen Modelle als unrealistisch und nicht überzeugend kritisiert wurden. Tatsächlich ist nicht nur die künstliche Annahme einer Symmetrieachse problematisch, sondern es ist auch bekannt, dass sich turbulente Strömungen in zwei Dimensionen anders verhalten als in drei Dimensionen.

Aber erst in der allerjüngsten Gegenwart ist es durch die zunehmend schnelleren Supercomputer möglich geworden, Supernovaberechnungen ohne unnatürliche Symmetrieannahmen durchzuführen. Damit können die Simulationen wesentlich realistischer sein und die theoretische Modellierung von Supernovae nähert sich mit gewaltigen Schritten der Lösung des 50 Jahre alten Problems.

Die Supernova-Gruppe am Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik (MPA) spielt eine führende Rolle im weltweiten Wettrennen um die ersten erfolgreichen dreidimensionalen Simulationen. Wenn alle relevante Physik in den Modellen berücksichtigt wird, insbesondere was die hochkomplexen Wechselwirkungen der Neutrinos betrifft, bewegen sich solche Simulationen an der absoluten Grenze des aktuell auf den größten verfügbaren Superrechnern gerade noch Machbaren. Dem MPA-Team können momentan maximal 16.000 Prozessorkerne auf dem SuperMUC am Leibniz-Rechenzentrum (LRZ) in Garching (Abb. 1) und auf dem MareNostrum am Barcelona Supercomputing Center (BSC; Abb. 2) zur Verfügung gestellt werden, was der Leistungsfähigkeit etwa einer gleichen Zahl der schnellsten Heimcomputer entspricht. Selbst bei paralleler Nutzung dieser 16.000 Prozessorkerne dauert eine einzige Modellsimulation einer Supernova über eine Entwicklungszeit von etwa einer halben Sekunde immer noch ein halbes Jahr und verschlingt rund 50 Millionen Stunden Rechenzeit.

Dieser enorme Aufwand aber lohnt sich! Die Forschergruppe konnte jüngst eine erste erfolgreiche dreidimensionale Berechnung einer Supernovaexplosion für einen Stern mit 9,6-facher Masse der Sonne berichten (siehe linkPfeil.gifMPA Aktuelle Forschung 2015; linkPfeil.gifFilm zur 3D Explosion eines Sterns mit 9,6-facher Masse der Sonne von Aaron Döring) und hat nun eine weitere dreidimensionale Simulation der Explosion eines Sterns mit 20-facher Sonnenmasse erfolgreich durchgeführt (Abbn. 3 und 4 mit Film). Diese Rechnungen basieren auf der im Augenblick fortschrittlichsten Beschreibung der entscheidenden Neutrinophysik in kollabierenden Sternen, weshalb die Ergebnisse einen wichtigen Meilenstein für die Supernovamodellierung bedeuten. Sie bestätigen im Rahmen der bekannten und im Supernovazentrum wichtigen Prozesse und innerhalb der momentanen Unsicherheiten dieser Physik die grundsätzliche Möglichkeit, dass Neutrinoheizen die Explosion massereicher Sterne auslöst. Wie bereits bei den früheren zweidimensionalen Modellen gesehen, unterstützen nichtradiale Strömungsvorgänge das Einsetzen der Explosion und prägen der expandierenden Materie Asymmetrien auf, die zu den später beobachtbaren Asymmetrien bei Supernovae führen.

Damit ist die Arbeit der Astrophysiker aber noch lange nicht erledigt. Weitere theoretische Modelle sind notwendig. Insbesondere muss die numerische Auflösung der Simulationen verbessert werden, was aber deutlich größere Computer und mehr Rechenzeit erfordern wird. Außerdem müssen Sterne mit anderen Massen untersucht werden. Eine endgültige Bestätigung, dass Neutrinoheizen tatsächlich die Ursache der Sternexplosionen ist, kann aber nur von Beobachtungen geliefert werden. Daher müssen die momentanen Computermodelle noch stärker mit beobachtbaren Phänomenen verknüpft werden. Große Hoffnungen ruhen auf einer möglichen Supernova in unser Milchstraße. Ein so nahes Ereignis würde die Erde mit rund 1030 Neutrinos überfluten, von denen viele Tausend, wenn nicht sogar Zehntausende, in großen unterirdischen Experimenten wie Super-Kamiokande in Japan und IceCube am Südpol eingefangen werden könnten. Diese Neutrinos (neben Gravitationswellen) werden einen fantastischen Blick ins Innern der Supernova ermöglichen. Weil sie direkt aus dem Zentrum der Explosion entweichen, werden sie Informationen über die Prozesse und den Materiezustand im Herz des sterbenden Sterns zu uns tragen.

Hans-Thomas Janka


Veröffentlichungen:

T. Melson, H.-T. Janka, & A. Marek: Neutrino-driven supernova of a low-mass iron-core progenitor boosted by three-dimensional turbulent convection, Astrophysical Journal Letters, 801, L24 (2015); e-print linkPfeilExtern.gifarXiv:1501.01961

T. Melson, H.-T. Janka, R. Bollig, F. Hanke, A. Marek, & B. Müller: Neutrino-driven explosion of a 20 solar-mass star in three dimensions enabled by strange-quark contributions to neutrino-nucleon scattering, Astrophysical Journal Letters, 808, L42 (2015); e-print linkPfeilExtern.gifarXiv:1504.07631

Danksagungen:

Elena Erastova und Markus Rampp (Max Planck Computing and Data Facility (MPCDF)) wird für die Anfertigung der Bilder der Abbildungen 3 und 4 herzlich gedankt ebenso wie Aaron Döring für seine Arbeit an den Filmen der Supernovaexplosionen. Die Forschung wurde finanziell vom Europäischen Wissenschaftsrat durch das Projekt ERC-AdG No. 341157-COCO2CASA unterstützt. Rechenzeit stand durch die Europäische PRACE Initiative auf den Höchstleistungsrechnern SuperMUC (GCS@LRZ, Germany) und MareNostrum (BSC, Spanien) zur Verfügung. Die Auswertung der Simulationsdaten wurde auf dem IBM iDataPlex System hydra des Max Planck Computing and Data Facility (MPCDF) durchgeführt.

Kontakt:

Dr. Hans-Thomas Janka
Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik, Garching
Tel.: +49 89 30000-2228
email: hjankampa-garching.mpg.de



drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 1.8.2015