MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: May 2015 all highlights

Understanding X-ray emission from galaxies and galaxy clusters

By combining data for more than 250,000 individual objects, an MPA-based team has for the first time been able to measure X-ray emission in a uniform manner for objects with masses ranging from that of the Milky Way up to that of rich galaxy clusters. The results are surprisingly simple and give insight into how ordinary matter is distributed in today's universe, and how this distribution has been affected by energy input from galactic nuclei.

Fig. 0: Images of a galaxy (NGC 1132, left) and a galaxy cluster (Abell 1689, right) taken with the ESA/NASA Hubble Space Telescope. Observed in optical light, these systems look very different, as a galaxy cluster may contain hundreds or even thousands of galaxies. On the other hand, the X-ray emission from these systems looks remarkably similar.
Credit: NASA, ESA, and the Hubble Heritage (STScI/AURA)-ESA/Hubble Collaboration
Credit: NASA, ESA, L. Bradley (JHU), R. Bouwens (UCSC), H. Ford (JHU), and G. Illingworth (UCSC)

Fig. 1: Stacked X-ray images of the emission around the central galaxies of rich galaxy clusters (left) and lower mass galaxy groups (right). These are two of the twenty produced in this study. In both images, the black circle indicates the radius "R500", which roughly matches the size of the dark matter halo. The X-ray emission is centrally concentrated but clearly extends out to a significant fraction of this radius. The numbers in the top right of each image denote the stellar mass of the central galaxies (log M_star; see Fig.2) which were stacked. As the rulers show, R500 is about 2.5 times larger (and the mass about 15 times larger) for the clusters than for the groups. However the radial distribution of emission is similar in the two images.

Fig. 2: Average X-ray luminosity for each of the 20 stacked images as a function of the stellar mass of the central galaxy. At higher masses the relation between the two is a power law (a straight line in this plot). For the seven data points at lowest mass, the X-ray emission from the hot gas is too faint to measure reliably, and the X-ray signal is also contaminated by emission from X-ray binaries in these galaxies - their estimated luminosity is shown with the blue and red dotted lines, corresponding to high-mass X-ray binaries and low-mass X-ray binaries respectively.

While galaxies, with their billions of stars, may seem unfathomably large, the Universe contains even bigger objects. Clusters of galaxies are the largest known equilibrium structures. They can contain many hundreds of galaxies and a total mass thousands of times that of the Milky Way system. Galaxies and clusters appear very different when viewed in optical light (see Fig. 0), but computer simulations such as the Millennium Simulation suggest that their dark matter distributions should look very similar. The technical term for this is 'self-similarity', which in this context means that the dark matter halos of galaxy clusters are more or less just scaled-up versions of those which surround galaxies.

Both galaxies and galaxy clusters (and their dark matter halos) are expected to be suffused with hot gas as well. This gas, which is heated to temperatures of millions of Kelvin, emits high-energy radiation and can be studied with X-ray telescopes like ROSAT and XMM-Newton. Studies of dozens of galaxy clusters show that the X-ray luminosity of the hot gas increases with the total mass of the cluster. Independently, studies of dozens of elliptical galaxies have shown that the X-ray luminosity of their hot gas increases with the stellar mass of the galaxy. These two correlations connect X-ray luminosity to two different quantities (total mass for clusters, stellar mass for galaxies), and have typically been measured in different ways for the different types of object.

A team at MPA has now combined these two relations using an archived X-ray map of the whole sky. They analysed emission around a sample of 250,000 galaxies in the ROSAT All-Sky Survey - more than a thousand times the number used in any previous galaxy study - and carefully combined the X-ray emission from several thousand similar mass galaxies into a set of average images in a process known as "stacking". Example stacked images are shown in Figure 1 for two different stellar masses. By eye, the distribution of the hot gas in galaxy clusters looks just like a scaled-up version of that around much smaller galaxies. The full results are shown in Figure 2, which shows the relation between mean X-ray luminosity and stellar mass. This relation follows a straight line all the way from the individual galaxy regime (small masses) up to the rich cluster regime.

However, a more detailed analysis shows that the slope of this line is steeper than would be expected if the hot gas were perfectly self-similar. This is probably due to a combination of effects, with a major contribution coming from heating by supermassive black holes at the centres of galaxies. As gas falls into a supermassive black hole, it loses large amounts of energy which are pumped into the hot gas atmosphere surrounding the galaxy. This is known "active galactic nucleus (AGN) feedback" and is thought to be important in the formation of both galaxies and galaxy clusters. AGN feedback has a bigger effect on less massive systems, lowering the X-ray luminosity of galaxies much more than that of clusters.

This effect makes the relation in Figure 2 steeper than it would be if the hot gas were perfectly self-similar. The new measurements of X-ray luminosity over a broad range of masses gives a powerful clue to help understand AGN feedback. Comparing these measurements against predictions from numerical simulations, the MPA team showed that gentle, 'self-regulated' AGN feedback is preferred over more violent input of energy.

Detailed comparison with previous measurements show that the new results are perfectly consistent with previously measured scaling relations for galaxies, as well as with scaling relations measured for optically selected samples of galaxy clusters. This suggests that a single relation can indeed describe both types of object. Studies of scaling relations for galaxy clusters selected by their X-ray properties have typically shown a similar slope but a systematically higher mean brightness at given total mass. This is most likely a reflection of the diversity of X-ray properties among clusters of a given total mass, which may have been underestimated in earlier work.

Finally, this work complements a similar analysis performed for the same galaxies and galaxy clusters using data from the Planck satellite. That analysis used the shadows which hot gas atmospheres cast on the cosmic microwave background to measure the total thermal energy of the hot gas, as opposed to its X-ray luminosity, finding this to scale with mass self-similarly. Combining these two results implies that a large reservoir of hot gas surrounds galaxies, but is too rarefied as a result of AGN feedback to emit strongly in X-rays. This would resolve the long-standing problem of the location of the baryons which "should" be associated with the galaxies but had not previously been detected directly.

Mike Anderson, Massimo Gaspari, Simon White (MPA), Wenting Wang (Institute for Computational Cosmology, University of Durham), Xinyu Dai (Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Oklahoma)


Publications:

Anderson, Michael E.; Gaspari, Massimo; White, Simon D. M.; Wang, Wenting; Dai, Xinyu Unifying X-ray scaling relations from galaxies to clusters, linkPfeilExtern.gifMNRAS Volume 449, Issue 4, p.3806-3826 (2015)

Planck Collaboration Planck intermediate results. XI. The gas content of dark matter halos: the Sunyaev-Zeldovich-stellar mass relation for locally brightest galaxies, linkPfeilExtern.gifAstronomy & Astrophysics, Volume 557, id.A52, 17 pp. (2013)



drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2015-4-30

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: Mai 2015 Zur Übersicht

Was die Röntgenemission von Galaxien und Galaxienhaufen verrät

Durch die Kombination der Daten von 250.000 einzelnen Objekten ist es einem vom MPA geleiteten Wissenschaftlerteam zum ersten Mal gelungen, die Röntgenemission einheitlich für Objekte zu messen, deren Massen von Milchstraßen-ähnlichen Objekten bis hin zu mächtigen Galaxienhaufen reichen. Die Ergebnissen sind überraschen einfach und geben neue Einsichten, wie die gewöhnliche Materie heute im Universum verteilt ist – und wie diese Verteilung durch den Energieeintrag von galaktischen Kernen beeinflusst wird.

Abb. 0: Bilder einer Galaxie (NGC 1132, links) und eines Galaxienhaufens (Abell 1689, rechts) aufgenommen vom ESA/NASA Hubble Space Teleskop. Bei optischen Wellenlängen sehen diese System sehr unterschiedlich aus, da ein Galaxienhaufen hunderte oder sogar tausende von Galaxien enthalten kann. Andererseits sind die Röntgenemissionen von diesen Systemen bemerkenswert ähnlich.
Credit: NASA, ESA, and the Hubble Heritage (STScI/AURA)-ESA/Hubble Collaboration
Credit: NASA, ESA, L. Bradley (JHU), R. Bouwens (UCSC), H. Ford (JHU), and G. Illingworth (UCSC)

Abb. 1: Gestapelte Röntgenbilder der Strahlung um die Zentralgalaxien von mächtigen Galaxienhaufen (links) und weniger massereiche Galaxiengruppen (rechts). Dies sind zwei 20 für diese Studie 20 erzeugten Bilder. In beiden Bildern zeigt der schwarze Kreis zeigt den Radius "R500", was in etwa der Größe des Halos aus Dunkler Materie entspricht. Die Röntgenstrahlung ist zentral konzentriert, erstreckt aber deutlich nach außen. Die Zahlen in der oberen rechten Ecke jedes Bildes bezeichnen die Sternmasse der Zentralgalaxien (log M_star, siehe Abb. 2). Wie die Balken zeigen, ist R500 für die Haufen etwa 2,5-mal größer (und die Masse etwa 15-mal größer) als für die Galaxien. Die Form der Röntgenemission scheint jedoch bei beiden Bildern ziemlich ähnlich zu sein.

Abb. 2: Mittlere Röntgen-Leuchtkraft für jedes der 20 gestapelten Bilder in Abhängigkeit der Sternmasse ihrer Zentralgalaxie. Bei höheren Massen ist die Beziehung zwischen diesen beiden Größen ein Potenzgesetz (eine gerade Linie). Für die sieben Datenpunkte bei kleinen Massen ist die Röntgenstrahlung des heißen Gases zu schwach, um sie zuverlässig messen zu können. Außerdem wird das Röntgensignal durch die Emission von Röntgendoppelsternen in diesen Galaxien verunreinigt - deren geschätzte Helligkeit ist durch die blau und rot gestrichelten Linien dargestellt, für massereiche und massearme Röntgendoppelsterne.

Auch wenn Galaxien mit ihren Milliarden Sternen unfassbar große Objekte zu sein scheinen, so gibt es im Universum sogar noch größere Objekte: Galaxienhaufen sind die größten Strukturen im Gleich­gewicht. Sie können Hunderte von Galaxien enthalten und eine Gesamtmasse tausendmal als die der Milchstraße umfassen. Im sichtbaren Licht scheinen sich Galaxien und Galaxienhaufen erheblich zu unterscheiden (siehe Abb. 0), Computersimulationen wie die Millennium-Simulation haben aber gezeigt, dass die Verteilung der Dunklen Materie in Galaxien und Galaxienhaufen in sehr ähnlich aussehen sollte. Der Begriff dafür ist "Selbstähnlichkeit" und in diesem Zusammenhang bedeutet es, dass die Dunklen Materie-Halos von Galaxienhaufen mehr oder weniger nur skalierte Versionen der Dunklen Materie-Halos von Galaxien sind.

Die Wissenschaftler gehen davon aus, dass sowohl Galaxien als auch Galaxienhaufen (und deren Halos aus dunkler Materie) von heißem Gas durchsetzt sind. Dieses Gas, das auf Temperaturen von mehreren Millionen Kelvin aufgeheizt wird, strahlt energiereiche Strahlung ab, die mit Röntgenteleskopen wie ROSAT und XMM-Newton untersucht werden kann. Studien Dutzender Galaxienhaufen zeigen, dass die Röntgen-Leuchtkraft des heißen Gases mit der Gesamtmasse des Haufens ansteigt. Unabhängige Untersuchungen Dutzender elliptischer Galaxien haben gezeigt, dass die Röntgen-Leuchtkraft des heißen Gases hier mit der Sternmasse der Galaxie ansteigt. Diese beiden Korrelationen verbinden die Röntgenleuchtkraft mit unterschiedlichen Größen (Gesamtmasse für Haufen, Sternmasse für Galaxien) und wurden typischerweise auf unterschiedliche Art für die verschiedenen Objekttypen gemessen.

Ein Team am MPA kombinierten diese beiden Relationen nun, indem sie archivierte Beobachtungen des gesamten Himmels auswerteten. Sie analysierten die Strahlung rund um 250.000 Galaxien aus der ROSAT-Himmelsdurchmusterung - über tausend Mal mehr als in früheren Galaxienstudien verwendet wurden - und kombinierten die Röntgen­emission von mehreren tausend Galaxien ähnlicher Masse sorgfältig zu einigen mittleren Bildern, ein Prozess, der als "Stapeln" bekannt ist. Beispiele für derartige gestapelte Bilder sind in Abb. 1 für zwei unterschiedliche Massenbereiche gezeigt. Mit bloßem Auge sieht die Verteilung des heißen Gases in Galaxienhaufen aus wie eine vergrößerte Version des heißen Halos um die viel kleineren Galaxien. Die vollständigen Ergebnisse sind in Abbildung 2 dargestellt, die die Beziehung zwischen der Röntgen-Leuchtkraft und der Sternmasse zeigt. Diese Relation folgt einer geraden Linie, von den einzelnen Galaxien (kleine Massen) bis hinauf zu den mächtigen Galaxienhaufen.

Eine genauere Analyse zeigt jedoch, dass die Steigung dieser Linie steiler ist, als man erwarten würde, wenn das heiße Gas vollkommen selbstähnlich wäre. Dies beruht wahrscheinlich auf einer Kombination mehrerer Effekte; ein wichtiger Beitrag dürfte von der Heizung durch supermassereiche Schwarze Löcher in den Zentren von Galaxien stammen. Wenn Gas in ein supermassereiches Schwarzes Loch fällt, verliert es große Mengen an Energie, die in den heißen Halo um die Galaxie gepumpt wird. Dieses "AGN-Feedback" (Rückkopplung durch den aktiven galaktischen Kern) ist ein Prozess, der wahrscheinlich für die Bildung von Galaxien und Galaxienhaufen enorm wichtig ist. Das AGN-Feedback hat auf weniger massereiche Komponenten einen größeren Einfluss, so dass es die Röntgen-Leuchtkraft von Galaxien stärker senkt als diejenige von Galaxienhaufen.

Dieser Effekt macht die Relation in Abb. 2 steiler als sie für ein vollkommen selbstähnliches Gas wäre. Die Messung der Röntgen-Leuchtkraft über einen so weiten Bereich an Objekten gibt wichtige Hinweise darauf, wie man das AGN-Feedback verstehen kann. Durch einen Vergleich dieser Messungen mit Vorhersagen aus numerischen Simulationen konnte das MPA-Team zeigen, dass das sanfte, "selbstregulierte" AGN-Feedback bevorzugt ist gegenüber einem sehr heftigen Energieeintrag.

Detaillierte Vergleiche der Ergebnisse mit früheren Messungen zeigten, dass die neuen Ergebnisse völlig im Einklang sind mit gemessenen Skalierungsrelationen für Galaxien und auch für die Skalierungs­relationen für Galaxienhaufen, die optisch ausgewählt wurden. Dies deutet darauf hin, dass eine einzige Skalierungsrelation tatsächlich beide Objekttypen beschreiben kann. Studien der Skalierungsrelation von Galaxienhaufen, die aufgrund ihrer Röntgeneigenschaften ausgewählt wurden, zeigen typischerweise eine ähnliche Steigung, haben aber eine systematisch höhere Leuchtkraft bei einer bestimmten Masse. Dies liegt wahrscheinlich an der großen Bandbreiten der Röntgeneigenschaften von Haufen einer bestimmten Masse, die in früheren Arbeiten möglicherweise unterschätzt wurde.

Letztlich komplementiert diese Arbeit eine ähnliche Analyse für die gleichen Galaxien und Galaxienhaufen mit Daten des Planck-Satelliten. Diese Analyse nutzte den Schatten, den die Atmosphäre aus heißem Gas auf den kosmischen Mikrowellenhintergrund wirft, um die gesamte thermische Energie des heißen Gases zu messen, im Gegensatz zu seiner Röntgen-Leuchtkraft, und fand, dass diese Energie selbstähnlich mit der Masse skaliert. Die Kombination dieser beiden Ergebnisse deutet darauf hin, dass es rund um Galaxien ein sehr großes Reservoir an heißem Gas gibt. Dieses wird durch das AGN-Feedback aber zu stark verdünnt, um starke Röntgenstrahlung emittieren zu können. Damit könnte das seit langem bestehende Problem lösen, wo sich die Baryonen befinden, die mit den Galaxien verbunden sein „sollten“, die man aber bisher nicht direkt nachweisen konnte.

Mike Anderson, Massimo Gaspari, Simon White (MPA), Wenting Wang (Institute for Computational Cosmology, University of Durham), Xinyu Dai (Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Oklahoma)


Publikationen:

Anderson, Michael E.; Gaspari, Massimo; White, Simon D. M.; Wang, Wenting; Dai, Xinyu Unifying X-ray scaling relations from galaxies to clusters, linkPfeilExtern.gifMNRAS Volume 449, Issue 4, p.3806-3826 (2015)

Planck Collaboration Planck intermediate results. XI. The gas content of dark matter halos: the Sunyaev-Zeldovich-stellar mass relation for locally brightest galaxies, linkPfeilExtern.gifAstronomy & Astrophysics, Volume 557, id.A52, 17 pp. (2013)



drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 30.4.2015