MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: September 2014 all highlights

Detailed gravitational lens modelling of the galaxy cluster MACS J1149.5+2223

Observational constraints on the central mass distribution of galaxy clusters provide a key test of the nature of dark matter and contain invaluable information on the formation and evolution of the clusters and their brightest cluster galaxies. Scientists at the MPA have used an advanced lens modelling technique to map the mass distribution of the galaxy cluster MACS J1149.5+2223 over a wide range of distances. They found that this cluster has a large core and its mass profile therefore has to be shallower than what is expected from cold dark matter N-body numerical simulations.

Fig. 1: Image of the galaxy cluster MACS J1149.5+2223, observed with the Hubble Space Telescope. Several background images are multiply imaged (marked by circles). There is one particularly striking example of a face-on spiral galaxy; zoomed images of this galaxy are enlarged as insets. (From Rau et al. 2014)

Fig. 2: Contours of the cluster mass distribution including scaled cluster galaxies for two different models (blue: position based modelling; red: hybrid modelling). The grey background shows the same observation as in figure 1, but in just one colour filter (F555W). (From Rau et al. 2014)

Fig. 3: Results for the surface brightness modelling of the multiply imaged face-on galaxy. Images from left to right are the main images 1.1, 1.2, 1.3.1 and 1.3.2. The top row shows the model reconstruction, the middle row the observed data and the bottom row the residual (i.e. the difference between model and data). (From Rau et al. 2014)

At large scales, the cold dark matter model has been very successful in describing the observed properties of the Universe. With the use of N-body numerical simulations, detailed predictions have been made on the formation and evolution of the dark matter distribution at various scales. In particular, cold dark matter haloes are expected to be self-similar over a wide range of masses and to have a well-defined mass density distribution.

Gravitational lensing is a powerful tool to precisely measure the total mass distribution over a wide range of distances from the cluster centre. In combination with other measurements it therefore allows the scientists to study the interaction between the dark matter and the baryons in the cluster. In this work they focused on the galaxy cluster MACS J1149.5+2223 with the aim of providing a robust total mass model over a wide range of distances.

The galaxy cluster MACS J1149.5+2223 (located at redshift 0.544) was initially discovered by the Massive Cluster Survey and acts as a strong gravitational lens for at least 5 galaxies (with redshifts between 1.4 and 3.0), which are lensed in as many as 15 different images. One of the lensed galaxies is an impressive triply-imaged grand-design face-on spiral galaxy, which is also strongly lensed in two distinct Einstein rings by two cluster galaxies (see figure 1).

Previous gravitational lens models of this cluster were based on the reconstructions of a relatively limited number of image positions of the multiply lensed bright clumps and on simple scaling relations for the lensing contribution of the cluster member galaxies. Because of these limitations, many details of this lens system were reproduced only approximately.

In this work, they used a more sophisticated approach instead. They modelled all five cluster galaxies in the cluster centre that are close to multiply lensed images by using individual mass profiles. From the lensed background galaxies, they identified twice as many constraints as in previous models. Their advanced lens modelling technique uses not only the information on the positions of the multiply lensed images, but also their full surface brightness distribution.

The unique configuration of this lens system allowed them to reconstruct in particular the surface brightness distribution of the large central spiral galaxy in great detail. In addition, we were able to measure the mass profiles for several other individual cluster members and to determine the overall mass profile for the galaxy cluster as whole from its centre to a distance of up to 33 arcseconds (from 8 to 80 kpc) from the brightest cluster galaxy.

Our model indicates a large core (about 12 arcseconds) in the dark matter distribution of the cluster and we find that the total mass profile at the very centre is dominated by the brightest cluster galaxy. The inferred slope of the dark matter profile of MACS J1149.5+2223 is therefore shallower than the profile expected from pure dark matter simulations (the Navarro Frenk White (NFW) profile). This suggests that the baryons at the cluster centre have influenced the dark matter distribution.

Stefan Rau, Simona Vegetti and Simon White


References:

Lensing model of MACS J1149.5+2223, I. Cluster mass reconstruction Rau S., Vegetti S., White S. D. M. Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society 2014; 443:957-968, July 17, 2014 linkPfeilExtern.gifpaper at arxiv


drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2014-10-31

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: September 2014 Zur Übersicht

Ein detailliertes Modell der Gravitationslinsenwirkung im Galaxienhaufen MACS J1149.5+2223

Informationen aus Beobachtungen für die zentrale Massenverteilung von Galaxienhaufen sind ein wichtiger Test für die Natur der dunklen Materie. Sie enthalten außerdem wertvolle Hinweise auf die Entstehung und Entwicklung der Galaxienhaufen und ihrer hellsten Haufengalaxien. Wissenschaftler am MPA haben nun eine neue Technik verwendet, um die Massenverteilung des Galaxienhaufens MACS J1149.5+2223 auf ganz unterschiedlichen Längenskalen mit Hilfe des Gravitationslinseneffektes zu rekonstruieren. Sie fanden, dass dieser Galaxienhaufen einen ausgedehnten Kern besitzt und seine Massenprofil somit flacher ist als jenes, das man aufgrund von numerischen N-Teilchen-Simulationen kalter, dunkler Materie erwarten würde.

Abb. 1: Aufnahme des Galaxienhaufens MACS J1149.5+2223 mit dem Hubble-Weltraumteleskop. Mehrere Hintergrundgalaxien werden mehrfach abgebildet (durch Kreise gekennzeichnet). Ein besonders markantes Beispiel ist eine frontal sichtbare Spiralgalaxie; vergrößerte Bilder dieser Galaxie sind an der Seite eingefügt. (Von Rau et al. 2014)

Abb. 2: Konturen der Massenverteilung des Galaxienhaufens, einschließlich der skalierten Haufengalaxien für zwei verschiedene Modelle (blau: Positionsbasierte Modellierung, rot: Hybrid-Modellierung). Der graue Hintergrund zeigt die gleiche Beobachtung wie in Abb. 1, jedoch in nur einem Farbfilter (F555W). (Von Rau et al. 2014)

Abb. 3: Ergebnisse für die Helligkeitsmodellierung der mehrfach abgebildeten Spiralgalaxie. Die Abbildungen von links nach rechts sind die Mehrfach-Bilder 1.1, 1.2, 1.3.1 und 1.3.2. Die obere Reihe zeigt die Modellrekonstruktion, die mittlere Reihe die beobachteten Daten und die untere Reihe zeigt das Residuum (d.h. die Differenz zwischen Modell und Daten). (Von Rau et al. 2014)

Auf großen Skalen ist das Modell der kalten dunklen Materie bisher sehr erfolgreich, die beobachteten Eigenschaften des Universums zu beschreiben. Mit N-Körper-Simulationen konnten detaillierte Vorhersagen über die Entstehung und Entwicklung der Verteilung der dunklen Materie auf unterschiedlichen Skalen gemacht werden. Insbesondere erwartet man, dass die kalten Dunkle-Materie-Halos über einen weiten Massenbereich selbstähnlich sind und eine gut definierte Verteilung der Massendichte haben.

Der Gravitationslinseneffekt ist ein leistungsfähiges Werkzeug, um genau diese Verteilung der Gesamtmasse zu messen, und zwar vom Zentrum des Galaxienhaufens bis hin zu relativ großen Entfernungen. In Kombination mit anderen Messungen erlaubt es uns dieser Effekt daher, die Interaktion zwischen der dunklen Materie und den Baryonen im Galaxienhaufen zu untersuchen. Bei unserer Arbeit konzentrierten wir uns auf den Galaxienhaufen MACS J1149.5+2223, um ein robustes Modell für die Gesamtmasse über einen großen Bereich von Entfernungen hinweg zu erhalten.

Der Galaxienhaufen MACS J1149.5+2223 (bei einer Rotverschiebung von 0,544) wurde zunächst durch die "Massive Cluster"-Studie entdeckt und wirkt als starke Gravitationslinse für mindestens fünf Galaxien (mit Rotverschiebungen zwischen 1,4 und 3,0), die auf mehr als 15 verschiedene Bilder abgebildet werden. Eine der gelinsten Galaxien ist eine eindrucksvolle, dreifach abgebildete Spiralgalaxie, die zusätzlich von zwei Haufengalaxien in zwei Einstein-Ringe abgebildet wird (siehe Abbildung 1).

Bisherige Gravitationslinsenmodelle dieses Galaxienhaufens basierten auf der Rekonstruktion einer relativ begrenzten Anzahl der Bildpositionen einiger mehrfach abgebildeter heller Klumpen und auf einfachen Skalierungsrelationen für den Beitrag einzelner Haufengalaxien zum Linsensignal. Aufgrund dieser Einschränkungen wurden viele Details dieses Linsensystems nur ungenau reproduziert.

In unserer Arbeit verwenden wir stattdessen eine differenziertere Vorgehensweise. Wir modellieren alle fünf Haufengalaxien im Haufenzentrum, die nahe an gelinsten Bildern liegen, und verwenden hierfür individuelle Massenprofile. Bei den gelinsten Hintergrundgalaxien identifizieren wir doppelt so viele wichtige Punkte die das Modell einschränken wie bei früheren Modellen. Unsere fortschrittliche Technik zur Linsenmodellierung nutzt nicht nur Informationen über die Position der Mehrfachbilder, sondern auch deren gesamte Oberflächenhelligkeitsverteilung.

Die einzigartige Konfiguration dieses Linsensystem erlaubt es uns, insbesondere die Oberflächenhelligkeitsverteilung der großen zentralen Spiralgalaxie im Detail zu rekonstruieren. Darüber hinaus waren wir in der Lage, die Massenprofile für mehrere einzelne Haufengalaxien zu messen und das gesamte Massenprofil des Galaxienhaufens von seinem Zentrum bis hin zu einer Entfernung von 33 Bogensekunden von der hellsten Haufengalaxie (von 8 bis 80 kiloparsec) zu bestimmen.

Unser Modell zeigt einen ausgedehnten Kern (ca. 12 Bogensekunden) bei der Verteilung der dunklen Materie im Galaxienhaufen. Es zeigt außerdem, dass das gesamte Massenprofil im Zentrum von der hellsten Haufengalaxie dominiert wird. Die daraus ermittelte Steigung des dunklen-Materie-Profils von MACS J1149.5+2223 ist daher flacher als das Profil, das aufgrund von Simulationen mit rein kalter dunkler Materie (das Navarro, Frenk and White-Profil) erwartet wird. Dies deutet darauf hin, dass die Baryonen im Haufenzentrum die Verteilung der Dunklen Materie beeinflusst haben.

Stefan Rau, Simona Vegetti und Simon White.


References:

Lensing model of MACS J1149.5+2223, I. Cluster mass reconstruction Rau S., Vegetti S., White S. D. M. Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society 2014; 443:957-968, July 17, 2014 linkPfeilExtern.gifpaper at arxiv


drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 31.10.2014