MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: June 2014 all highlights

Stellar halos reveal galactic accretion: Big fish eat small fish

Galaxies contain not only "home-made" stars, but also quite a large fraction of stars that were accreted from other galaxies, as a new analysis of SDSS images has recently shown. The scientists at the MPA "stacked" a large number of individual galaxy images to reveal the faint light of the stellar halo of distant galaxies. For the most massive, early-type galaxies the fraction of accreted stars in the stellar halo can be up to 70%.

Fig. 1: Up: Image of a single SDSS galaxy which goes into a stack. Below: The stack of early-type galaxies in the highest mass range. The contours indicate the ellipticity measured at various distances from the centre. For the individual galaxy image only the central, high surface brightness regions are visible, the outer areas are dominated by noise. While a typical single SDSS image allows one to go to a depth of 26 magnitudes/arcsec2, in our stacked image we can achieve a depth of nearly 32 magnitudes/arcsec2 in the r-band.

Fig. 2: Fraction of accreted stellar light for early-type galaxies as a function of galaxy mass.

Fig. 3: Same as Fig.2 for late-type galaxies. Here the same trend can be seen, although the fraction of accreted stellar light is much smaller.

Fig. 4: The stellar halo with a Sagitarius-like stream of Messier 63 from Martinez-Delgado et al. 2010, The Astronomical Journal, 140, 962

In recent years, deep photometric observations of the local universe have revealed that galaxies are surrounded by a "stellar halo", a group of stars that extend to a distance of up to 100 kpc and more from the centre of the galaxy. This stellar halo consists of field stars, older globular clusters, and stars stripped from in-falling satellite galaxies. Too often, this stellar halo is too faint to observe with present day imaging.

For our own galaxy, the individual stars of the stellar halo have been resolved with the help of the SDSS survey up to a distance of 50 kpc from the galactic centre. In addition, deep integrated light studies have revealed the stellar halo of neighbouring galaxies in the local universe. However, for large-scale studies of these stellar halos, many more observations are required. Unfortunately, with present telescopes and reasonable integration times, we can only detect the stellar halos of nearby galaxies.

An alternative approach to deep observations of individual galaxies would be to stack a large number of images of similar galaxies. SDSS with nearly 60,000 galaxies in its spectroscopic sample, for which accurate redshifts and stellar masses are available, is just the right survey for the job. Even though the stellar halos of individual galaxies cannot be directly observed in the photometric images, by stacking these images we can increase the signal-to-noise (S/N) ratio, and thus study the average stellar halos of the galaxies as a function of various galaxy properties.

The theory of galaxy formation through hierarchical merging predicts not only that galaxies grow in size and mass through minor mergers, but also that these minor mergers give rise to the stellar halo. This implies that the stellar halos of galaxies consist of stars which are not born in the same galaxy (in-situ stars) but rather of stars which are born in smaller galaxies that have been accreted (the accreted component).

Studying the stellar halos of galaxies gives us vital clues to further constrain the theory of galaxy formation. For example, the fraction of stellar material accreted from other galaxies is an important physical constraint in the theory of galaxy formation. In addition, the local over-densities in the stellar halo of a galaxy often contain vital clues of the accretion history of the individual galaxy, since the low density and large relaxation times of stars in the stellar halo preserves information from the distant past.

A variety of theoretical simulations have been carried out that help us to better understand the formation of stellar halos. In particular, the particle-tagging simulations done here at MPA have predicted the stellar halos of a large range of galaxies and their accreted fractions. Although the exact properties of the stellar halos of galaxies depend on the individual accretion history of a galaxy, one can predict the average stellar halo properties of galaxies as a function of the dark matter halo mass, of the stellar mass, or as a function of other properties of the galaxy.

To constrain these theories, we require observations of the stellar halos of a large number of galaxies, or alternatively stacked images as mentioned above. In this work, we have used SDSS images of galaxies in various bins of stellar mass and divided them into late-type and early-type galaxies. In each stack, we have an average of nearly 3000 galaxies. Before stacking, each image of a galaxy was transformed to a common redshift (z=0.1) and oriented along the major axis. Other galaxies and stars in the image are masked out.

The stacked images of the galaxies reveal extra light out to nearly 100 kpc (see Fig. 1) and we find that the amount of extra light in the stellar halo is a strong function of stellar mass: Larger galaxies have more extended stellar halos than smaller galaxies. Similarly, early-type galaxies have larger stellar halos than late-type galaxies. Also, the ellipticity of the stellar halo is a function of stellar mass and the haloes of early-type galaxies are more elliptical than those of late-type galaxies.

To characterize the stellar halo of the galaxy stacks in more detail, we model the two-dimensional light distribution with a ''Sersic'' profile (first published in 1963), a general mathematical function to describe the radial light intensity distribution of a wide variety of galaxy types. While this provided a good fit in the past, deviations from the Sersic profile have often been found, as deeper high-resolution data became available with newer telescopes and instruments.

For our stacked images, we find that the two-dimensional light distribution cannot be fit by a single Sersic profile, but rather needs multiple components: a double Sersic profile is needed for early-type galaxies, and a triple Sersic profile is required for late-type galaxies.

Each Sersic component traces a different physical and dynamical component of the galaxy. Under the assumption that the inner Sersic profile fits the in-situ component, and that the outer Sersic profile fits the accreted stellar component, we obtain an observational measure of the average accreted stellar light fraction of the galaxy. For early-type galaxies, the fraction of accreted stellar light rises from 30% to 70% while for late-type galaxies it is much smaller, increasing from 2% to 25% over the same mass range (See Figures 2 and 3). This provides important observational constraints for a range of galaxy masses and types, which can help differentiate between various theories of the formation of stellar halos and of the galaxies themselves.

Richard D'Souza, G. Kauffmann, J. Wang, S. Vegetti


References:

1) R. D'Souza, G. Kauffmann, J. Wang, S. Vegetti, "Parametrizing the Stellar Haloes of Galaxies", linkPfeilExtern.gifsubmitted to MNRAS

2) Cooper, A.P.; D'Souza, R.; Kauffmann, G.; "Galactic accretion and the outer structure of galaxies in the CDM model", linkPfeilExtern.gifMNRAS, 434/4, p.3348-3367, 2013


drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2014-8-6

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: Juni 2014 Zur Übersicht

Stellare Halos zeigen wie Galaxien wachsen: Die Großen fressen die Kleinen

Galaxien enthalten nicht nur "selbstgemachte" Sterne sondern auch eine recht großen Anteil an Sternen, die aus anderen Galaxien akkretiert wurden, wie eine neue Analyse der SDSS-Bilder vor kurzem zeigte. Die Wissenschaftler am MPA "stapelten" eine große Anzahl einzelner Galaxienbilder, um das schwache Licht des stellaren Halos von fernen Galaxien sichtbar zu machen. Für die massereichsten Galaxien des frühen Typs erreicht der Anteil der akkretierten Sterne im stellaren Halo bis zu 70%.

Fig. 1: Oben: Bild von einer einzelnen SDSS-Galaxie, die in einen Stapel eingeht. Unten: Der Stapel der Galaxien frühen Typs im höchsten Massenbereich. Die Konturen zeigen die Elliptizität, die bei verschiedenen Abständen vom Zentrum gemessen wurde. Bei dem Bild der einzelnen Galaxie sind nur die zentralen Regionen mit einer hohen Helligkeit sichtbar, die äußeren Bereiche werden durch Rauschen dominiert. Ein typisches Einzelbild bei SDSS ermöglicht es, eine Tiefe von bis zu 26 Magnituden pro Quadratbogensekunde zu erreichen; unser gestapeltes Bild erreicht fast 32 Magnituden pro Quadratbogensekunde im R-Band.

Fig. 2: Der Anteil an akkretiertem Sternlicht für Galaxien des frühen Typs als Funktion der Galaxienmasse.

Fig. 3: Wie Abb. 2 für die späten Galaxien. Hier ist der gleiche Trend ersichtlich, auch wenn der Anteil des akkretierten Sternlichts insgesamt viel kleiner ist.

Fig. 4: Der stellare Halo von Messier 63. (aus Martinez-Delgado et al. 2010, The Astronomical Journal, 140, 962)

Tiefe, photometrische Beobachtungen des lokalen Universums zeigten in den letzten Jahren, dass Galaxien von einem sogenannten "stellaren Halo" umgeben sind, einer Gruppe von Sternen, die sich in Entfernungen von bis zu 100 kpc und mehr vom Zentrum der Galaxie befinden. Diese stellaren Halos bestehen aus Feldsternen, älteren Kugelsternhaufen und Sternen, die aus einfallenden Satellitengalaxien abgestreift wurden. Allerdings sind diese stellaren Halo oft zu lichtschwach, um sie mit den heutigen bildgebenden Methoden beobachten zu können.

Bei unserer eigenen Galaxie konnten die einzelnen Sterne dieses Halos mit Hilfe des SDSS-Surveys in einer Entfernung von bis zu 50 kpc vom galaktischen Zentrum aufgelöst werden. Darüber hinaus gibt es auch tiefe Aufnahmen von benachbarten Galaxien im lokalen Universum, die den integrierten Lichtschein der stellaren Halos enthüllten. Für große, detaillierte Studien dieser stellaren Halos sind jedoch viele weitere Beobachtungen nötig. Leider können wir mit den jetzigen Teleskopen und mit zumutbaren Integrationszeiten nur die stellaren Halos von nahen Galaxien nachweisen.

Ein alternativer Ansatz zur tiefen Beobachtung vieler einzelner Galaxien wäre es, eine große Anzahl von Bildern ähnlicher Galaxien zu stapeln. Die richtigen Daten für diese Aufgabe liefert SDSS mit fast 60.000 Galaxien in ihrem spektroskopischen Katalog, für die genaue Rotverschiebungen und Sternmassen zur Verfügung stehen. Auch wenn die stellaren Halos der einzelnen Galaxien nicht direkt in den photometrischen Bildern beobachtet werden können, erhöht sich durch das Stapeln dieser Bilder das Signal-zu-Rauschverhältnis. Damit kann der durchschnittliche stellare Halo der Galaxien als Funktion von verschiedenen Galaxieneigenschaften untersucht werden.

Die Theorie der Galaxienbildung durch hierarchische Verschmelzungen sagt nicht nur voraus, dass Galaxien an Größe und Masse durch kleinere Fusionen anwachsen, sondern auch dass diese Verschmelzungen zum stellaren Halo führen. Dies impliziert, dass die stellaren Halos aus Sternen bestehen, die nicht in der gleichen Galaxie (in-situ) geboren wurden, sondern aus Sternen der kleineren, akkretierten Galaxien (die akkretierte Komponente).

Die Studie der stellaren Halos von Galaxien gibt uns wichtige Punkte, um die Theorie der Galaxienbildung weiter einzuschränken. So ist zum Beispiel der Anteil der Sternmaterie aus anderen, akkretierten Galaxien eine wichtige physikalische Einschränkung für die Theorie der Galaxienentstehung. Darüber hinaus enthalten die lokalen Überdichten im stellaren Halo einer Galaxie oft wichtige Hinweise auf die Akkretionsgeschichte der einzelnen Galaxie, da aufgrund der geringen Dichte und der großen Relaxationszeiten der Sterne im stellaren Halo Informationen aus der frühen Vergangenheit erhalten bleiben.

Eine Vielzahl von theoretischen Simulationen sind durchgeführt worden, mit denen wir die Bildung von stellaren Halos besser verstehen können. Insbesondere wurden hier am MPA Teilchen-Simulationen durchgeführt, mit denen die stellaren Halos einer Vielzahl von Galaxien samt den akkretierten Anteilen vorhergesagt werden können. Obwohl die genauen Eigenschaften der stellaren Halos von der individuellen Akkretionsgeschichte einer Galaxie abhängt, kann man die durchschnittlichen Eigenschaften der stellaren Halos von Galaxien als Funktion Masse im Halo aus Dunkler Materie, als Funktion der Sternmasse oder als Funktion anderer Eigenschaften der Galaxie vorhersagen.

Um diese Theorien näher einzuschränken, benötigen wir Beobachtungen der stellaren Halos einer großen Anzahl von Galaxien oder alternativ, wie oben erwähnt, die "gestapelten" Bilder. In unserer Arbeit verwendeten wir SDSS-Bilder von Galaxien mit verschiedenen Sternmassen und teilten sie in frühe Typen und späte Typen. In jedem Stapel befinden sich im Schnitt fast 3000 Galaxien. Vor dem Stapeln wurde jedes Galaxienbild zu einer einheitlichen Rotverschiebung (z = 0.1) transformiert und entlang der Hauptachse ausgerichtet. Andere Galaxien und Sterne im Bild wurden maskiert.

Die gestapelten Bilder der Galaxien zeigen dann einen zusätzlichen Lichtschein, der sich auf fast 100 kpc Entfernung erstreckt (siehe Abb. 1). Unsere Analyse zeigt, dass diese zusätzliche Lichtmenge im stellaren Halo eine starke Funktion der Sternmasse ist: die stellaren Halos größerer Galaxien sind weiter ausgedehnt als bei kleineren Galaxien. Ebenso haben frühe Galaxien einen größeren stellaren Halo als Galaxien des späten Typs. Auch die Elliptizität des stellaren Halos ist eine Funktion der Sternmasse und die Halos früher Galaxien sind elliptischer als bei späten Galaxien.

Um die stellaren Halos der gestapelten Galaxie näher zu charakterisieren, modellieren wir die zweidimensionale Lichtverteilung mit einem ''Sersic-Profil" (das im Jahre 1963 veröffentlicht wurde). Diese allgemeine mathematische Funktion beschreibt die radiale Lichtstärkeverteilung einer breiten Anzahl von Galaxientypen. Ursprünglich konnte man mit diesem Profil eine gute Übereinstimmung erzielen, die tieferen, hochaufgelösten Daten mit neueren Teleskopen und Instrumenten zeigten aber oft Abweichungen vom Sersic-Profil.

Für unsere gestapelten Bilder finden wir, dass die zweidimensionale Lichtverteilung nicht durch ein einzelnes Sersic-Profil angepasst werden kann sondern mehrere Komponenten enthalten muss: ein Doppel-Sersic-Profil ist nötig für die Galaxien des frühen Typs, und ein dreifaches Sersic-Profil für späte Galaxien.

Dabei folgt jede Komponente des Sersic-Profils einer anderen physikalischen und dynamischen Komponente der Galaxie. Unter der Annahme, dass das innere Sersic-Profil zur in-situ-Komponente passt und dass das äußere Sersic-Profil zur akkretierten stellaren Komponente gehört, erhalten wir ein beobachtetes Maß für den durchschnittlichen Anteil an akkretiertem Sternenlicht. Für frühe Galaxien nimmt der Anteil der akkretierten Sterne von 30% auf 70 % im beobachteten Massenbereich zu, während sich bei frühen Galaxien ebenso ein Anstieg zeigt, hier sind die absoluten Zahlen aber deutlich kleiner, von 2% auf 25 % (siehe Abbildungen 2 und 3). Diese Beobachtungen liefern wichtige Bedingungen für einen ganzen Bereich von Galaxienmassen und -typen, und können somit helfen, zwischen verschiedenen Theorien zur Bildung von stellaren Halos und auch der Galaxien selbst unterscheiden zu können.

Richard D'Souza, G. Kauffmann, J. Wang, S. Vegetti


Referenzen:

1) R. D'Souza, G. Kauffmann, J. Wang, S. Vegetti, "Parametrizing the Stellar Haloes of Galaxies", linkPfeilExtern.gifsubmitted to MNRAS

2) Cooper, A.P.; D'Souza, R.; Kauffmann, G.; "Galactic accretion and the outer structure of galaxies in the CDM model", linkPfeilExtern.gifMNRAS, 434/4, p.3348-3367, 2013


drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 6.8.2014