MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: April 2014 all highlights

New analytical model for turbulence pressure in galaxy clusters

Mass determinations of galaxy clusters based on observations of the hot intracluster gas often neglect non-thermal processes, most importantly intracluster turbulence. This introduces a systematic error in the estimate. A group of scientists at MPA has therefore developed an analytical, one-dimensional model for the non-thermal pressure contribution, which combines the growth of galaxy clusters in a cosmological context and the physics of turbulence. If further tests against both observations and simulations confirm the initial positive results, this new model could improve the determination of cluster masses and thus make galaxy clusters a more accurate cosmological tool.

Fig. 1: The galaxy cluster Abell 1689, one of the biggest and most massive galaxy clusters known. Most of the mass is in the form of dark matter, so astronomers need to use indirect methods such as gravitational lensing, the SZ-effect or X-ray observations of the hot intracluster gas to determine the mass of a galaxy cluster.
Credit: X-ray: NASA/CXC/MIT/E.-H Peng et al; Optical: NASA/STScI

Fig. 2: This analytical equation is at the heart of the new method: it describes the evolution of pressure due to turbulence in galaxy clusters.

Fig. 3: The predicted total (dash-dotted) and thermal (solid) pressure profiles calculated with the new model. The calculations were performed for a group of clusters at a mean redshift z=0.1 with a average mass of 300 trillion solar masses. The thick dashed line shows the profile derived from X-ray and SZ observations.

The expansion of the present-day Universe is accelerating, and the origin of this acceleration is unknown. It indicates either the presence of “Dark Energy” - a mysterious energy component in the Universe with negative pressure, or a breakdown of Einstein’s General Relativity - how gravity works on cosmological scales. In order to distinguish between these two explanations, we must measure how structures in the Universe evolve over time.

Galaxy clusters (see Fig. 1) grow in mass by accreting material from their surroundings over cosmic history. They are the largest known gravitationally bound objects in the Universe and therefore are an excellent probe of the growth of large-scale structures – and thus of the origin of the cosmic acceleration. If we want to use galaxy clusters as a probe of the acceleration, we need to accurately determine their masses. Although these giants are dominated by invisible “dark matter”, we can infer their total mass from observations of the intracluster gas under the assumption of a hydrostatic equilibrium between the gravitational pull and the gas pressure, or more accurately the gradient of the gas pressure.

Observations of the intracluster gas, however, typically measure only the thermal pressure of the gas. Non-thermal pressure, especially from turbulent gas motion, has been recognized to provide an additional pressure gradient and therefore has to be taken into account as well. Neglecting this contribution would result in a deviation of the inferred cluster mass from the true mass and in consequence this would influence the study of cosmic acceleration.

So far, the amplitude of the turbulence pressure has mainly been estimated with large-scale hydrodynamical numerical simulations. These state-of-the-art simulations, however, yield quantitatively different results when using different numerical methods. Moreover, they are computationally expensive and do not lead to a direct physical understanding of what is happening in the galaxy clusters.

Therefore, we took a different approach to this problem by gathering physical insights about how turbulence arises and dissipates in the intracluster gas. From this input, we formed a one-dimensional analytical model of the non-thermal pressure contribution, which describes the velocity dispersion due to turbulence at each radius as the galaxy cluster grows in mass (Fig.2).

This new analytical model predicts that the non-thermal fraction of the gas pressure increases towards cluster outskirts as it takes significantly longer for turbulence to dissipate at larger distances from the cluster centre. Another prediction is that the non-thermal fraction is larger in clusters with higher masses and in clusters observed at higher redshift (i.e. at earlier cosmic times), since they grow faster which triggers more turbulence.

With the help of an existing model of the total pressure, the new model also gives the thermal pressure as well as the biased mass estimate derived from this thermal pressure gradient. If we compare our results with observations of a population of galaxy clusters, the predicted thermal pressure profile is in excellent agreement with the data (Fig.3).

Thus, our model has passed an important observational test; in addition we found qualitative agreement with simulation data. More specific tests on the predicted mass and redshift dependence will be performed both against observations and numerical simulations. If all the tests are passed successfully, the physical understanding provided by the new model will lead to a better determination of the cluster masses. We can then use galaxy clusters as a competitive probe of the origin of cosmic acceleration.


Xun Shi and Eiichiro Komatsu


Original publication:

Xun Shi, Eiichiro Komatsu, "Analytical model for non-thermal pressure in galaxy clusters", submitted to MNRAS linkPfeilExtern.gifarXiv:1401.7657



drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2014-3-27

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: April 2014 Zur Übersicht

Analytisches Modell für die Stärke der Turbulenz in Galaxienhaufen

Massenbestimmungen von Galaxienhaufen, die auf der Beobachtung des heißen Gases im Haufen basieren, vernachlässigen oft nicht-thermische Prozesse wie Turbulenz, wodurch sich ein systematischer Fehler bei der Massenabschätzung ergibt. Eine Gruppe von Wissenschaftlern am MPA hat daher ein analytisches, eindimensionales Modell für den nicht-thermischen Druck entwickelt, bei dem das Wachstum der Galaxienhaufen im kosmologischen Kontext und die Physik der Turbulenz kombiniert werden. Wenn weitere Tests sowohl mit Beobachtungen als auch mit Simulationen die ersten positiven Ergebnisse bestätigen, könnte das neue Modell die Bestimmung der Massen verbessern und damit Galaxienhaufen zu einem genaueren kosmologischen Werkzeug machen.

Abb. 1: Der Galaxienhaufen Abell 1689, einer der größten und massereichsten Galaxienhaufen. Der Großteil der Masse liegt in Form von dunkler Materie vor, deshalb müssen Astronomen indirekte Methoden wie den Gravitationslinseneffekt, den Sunyaev-Zeldovich-Effekt oder Röntgenbeobachtungen des heißen Gases im Haufen verwenden, um die Masse eines Galaxienhaufens zu bestimmen.
Credit: X-ray: NASA/CXC/MIT/E.-H Peng et al; Optical: NASA/STScI

Abb. 2: Diese analytische Gleichung ist das Herzstück der neuen Methode: Sie beschreibt die Entwicklung des Drucks aufgrund von Turbulenzen in Galaxienhaufen.

Abb. 3: Der vorhergesagte Gesamtdruck (strichpunktierte Linie) und thermische Druck (durchgezogene Linie), berechnet mit dem neuen Modell. Die Berechnungen wurden über eine Auswahl beobachteter Galaxienhaufen mit einer typischen Rotverschiebung z=0.1 und einer typischen Masse von 300 Billionen Sonnenmassen gemittelt. Die dicke, gestrichelte Linie zeigt das gemessene mittlere Druckprofil, das von Röntgen- und SZ-Beobachtungen abgeleitet wurde.

Gegenwärtig beschleunigt sich die Ausdehnung des Universums; der Ursprung dieser Beschleunigung ist allerdings unbekannt. Dies könnte entweder auf die so genannte "Dunkle Energie" - eine geheimnisvolle Energiekomponente im Universum mit negativem Druck - zurückzuführen sein, oder aber zeigen, dass Einsteins Allgemeine Relativitätstheorie – die die Schwerkraft auf kosmologischen Skalen beschreibt – nicht allgemein gültig ist. Um zwischen diesen beiden Erklärungen zu unterscheiden, müssen Astronomen analysieren, wie sich die Strukturen im Universum im Laufe der Zeit entwickeln.

Galaxienhaufen (siehe Abb. 1) nehmen an Masse zu, indem sie durch ihre gravitative Anziehung Material aus ihrer Umgebung im Laufe der kosmischen Geschichte ansammeln. Sie sind die größten bekannten, gravitativ gebundenen Objekte im Universum und sind daher hervorragend dazu geeignet, das Wachstum von großräumigen Strukturen nachzuvollziehen - und dadurch Rückschlüsse auf den Ursprung der kosmischen Beschleunigung zu ziehen. Dafür ist es allerdings notwendig die Massen der Galaxienhaufen genau zu bestimmen. Obwohl diese Riesen von unsichtbarer "dunkler Materie" dominiert werden, können wir ihre Gesamtmasse aus Beobachtungen des Gases im Galaxienhaufen unter der Annahme des hydrostatischen Gleichgewichts ableiten, d.h. wir nehmen an, dass sich die Anziehungskraft der Gravitation und der Gasdruck, oder genauer der Gradient des Gasdrucks die Waage halten.

Beobachtungen des Gases im Galaxienhaufen messen jedoch typischerweise nur den thermischen Druck des Gases. Man weiß aber, dass der nicht-thermische Druck, vor allem aus turbulenten Gasbewegungen, ein zusätzliches Druckgefälle verursacht und daher ebenfalls berücksichtigt werden muss. Vernachlässigt man diesen Beitrag, würde die daraus abgeleitete Masse des Galaxienhaufens von der wahren Masse abweichen und in der Folge würde dies auch die Rückschlüsse auf die kosmische Beschleunigung beeinflussen.

Bisher wurde die Stärke des turbulenten Drucks vor allem mit großen hydrodynamischen Computersimulationen abgeschätzt. Aktuelle Simulationen ergeben jedoch quantitativ unterschiedliche Ergebnisse bei Verwendung unterschiedlicher numerischer Verfahren. Darüber hinaus sind sie rechnerisch sehr aufwendig und führen nicht zu einem direkten physikalischen Verständnis dessen, was in den Galaxienhaufen passiert.

Deshalb entwickelten die Wissenschaftler am MPA einen anderen Ansatz und lösten dieses Problem, indem sie physikalische Erkenntnisse darüber heranzogen, wie Turbulenz im Gas des Galaxienhaufens entsteht und sich anschließend in Wärme umwandelt. Daraus entwickelten sie ein eindimensionales analytisches Modell des nicht-thermischen Druckbeitrags, das die Geschwindigkeitsdispersion aufgrund von Turbulenzen, die durch die oben erwähnt Massenzunahme entstehen, als Funktion des Abstands zum Zentrum des Galaxienhaufens beschreibt.

Dieses neue analytische Modell sagt voraus, dass sich der nicht-thermische Anteil am Gasdruck zu den Rändern des Haufens hin erhöht, da es in größeren Entfernungen vom Galaxienhaufenzentrum deutlich länger dauert, Turbulenzen abzubauen. Als eine weitere Vorhersage sollte der nicht-thermische Druckanteil in Galaxienhaufen mit größeren Massen und bei höherer Rotverschiebung (d.h. zu früheren kosmischen Zeiten) größer sein, da sie schneller wachsen und dadurch mehr Turbulenzen ausgelöst werden.

Mit Hilfe eines Modells für den Gesamtdruck kann man mit dem neu entwickelten Modell auch den thermischen Druck sowie die daraus abgeleitete Massenschätzung berechnen. Ein Vergleich mit Beobachtungen von Galaxienhaufen zeigt, dass das vorhergesagte thermische Druckprofil in sehr guter Übereinstimmung mit den Daten ist (Abb. 3).

Damit hat das neue Modell einen wichtigen Beobachtungstest bestanden. Daneben stimmt es qualitativ mit Simulationsdaten überein. Weitere spezielle Tests in Bezug auf die vorhergesagte Abhängigkeit von Masse und Rotverschiebung werden sowohl mit Beobachtungen und numerischen Simulationen durchgeführt werden. Wenn alle Tests erfolgreich bestanden werden, kann das mit dem neuen Modell gewonnene physikalische Verständnis dazu dienen, die Massen der Galaxienhaufen genauer zu bestimmen. Galaxienhaufen können dann als konkurrenzfähige Beobachtungsquelle für den Ursprung der kosmischen Beschleunigung eingesetzt werden.


Xun Shi und Eiichiro Komatsu


Originalveröffentlichung:

Xun Shi, Eiichiro Komatsu, "Analytical model for non-thermal pressure in galaxy clusters", submitted to MNRAS linkPfeilExtern.gifarXiv:1401.7657



drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 27.3.2014