MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: March 2013 all highlights

Stellar lithium abundances support standard Big Bang scenario

For decades, astronomers have faced serious difficulties reconciling the amount of lithium produced in the Big Bang with the abundances measured in very old stars. Both stable lithium isotopes have been the cause of much headache by posing a difficult paradox: the stars contain too much of the lighter 6Li and not enough of the heavier 7Li. With new and improved models of spectral line formation in the atmospheres of metal-poor stars, an international group of scientists led from MPA were able to shed new light on the problem. Finally, the revised abundances of the lithium isotopes in these old stars are not incompatible with the predictions from the standard model of Big Bang nucleosynthesis.

Fig. 1: The visualisation of a radiation-hydrodynamic simulation illustrates how the lithium line strength varies across the surface of a metal-poor stellar atmosphere.

Fig. 2: This image shows spatially resolved spectra of the lithium line, where a darker colour indicates a higher density of the line profiles. The spatially averaged profile is marked in black. The central positions of the 7Li and 6Li line components are marked at the top in black and red, respectively.

The measurement of the lithium isotope ratio in stars is extremely challenging, both from an observational and from a theoretical perspective. Observers need the highest quality data that modern telescopes and spectrographs can provide to disentangle the weak signature of the lighter isotope from the observational noise – in practice, the 6Li detection limit in metal-poor stellar spectra is only about 2% of the total lithium content. Moreover, many agents can influence the shape of spectral line profiles and hence affect the isotopic ratio, and they have to be modelled correctly.

First, thermal and convective gas motions cause Doppler shifts in the spectral lines, which call for realistic 3D radiation-hydrodynamic simulations of the atmospheres of stars, such as the Stagger models developed at MPA. Second, to correctly model the distribution of atoms in different states of excitation and ionisation one needs to account for the strong departures from local thermodynamic equilibrium (LTE). Such complex line-formation calculations are expensive and they must run for weeks on powerful multi-core machines. This is why until now, not all effects could be considered at the same time and simplifying assumptions have been made.

For the first time, a combined 3D, non-LTE technique has been be applied to model the lithium, sodium and calcium spectral lines in four very metal-poor stars. The aim was to constrain the lithium isotope ratios, while the other neutral elements serve as calibrators of the unknown projected rotational velocity of the stars. Surprisingly, the astronomers found that none of the stars displayed a significant presence of the lighter 6Li, contrary to evidence put forward in several studies over the past two decades.

The refined models show in particular that the assumptions of LTE leads to systematic overestimations, even false detections, of 6Li over a wide parameter space. The most interesting example is the metal-poor turn-off star HD84937, for which an undisputed detection has been demonstrated in at least three competing studies, while the new model shows no significant signs of 6Li.

The findings for all four stars are in gratifying agreement with the standard Big Bang nucleosynthesis model, which forges only insignificant amounts of the lighter isotope. What remains to be properly explained is why the element abundances of 7Li instead fall short of the primordial prediction. Our 3D, NLTE modelling strengthens the exciting claim that stars can act as sinks of both lithium isotopes, slowly draining their atmospheres of these and heavier elements over time. This slow diffusion process has been theoretically postulated and has the great potential to explain why the observed stellar abundances of heavy lithium are lower than expected. Thereby, both cosmological lithium problems, which have haunted particle physicists and astrophysicists since the launch of the WMAP satellite, can find their solution in improved physics of the stellar atmospheres.


Karin Lind (MPA), Jorge Melendez (Department of Astronomy, University of Sao Paulo, Brasil), Martin Asplund (Mount Stromlo Observatory, Australian National University, Australia), Remo Collet (Mount Stromlo Observatory, Australian National University, Australia), Zazralt Magic (MPA)


Reference

Lind K., Melendez J., Asplund M., Collet R. & Magic Z., "The lithium isotopic ratio in very metal-poor stars", (submitted to A&A)

Further reading

Asplund, M., Lambert, D. L., Nissen, P. E., Primas, F., & Smith, V.V., "Lithium Isotopic Abundances in Metal-poor Halo Stars", 2006, ApJ, 644, 229

Cayrel, R., Steffen, M., Chand, H., et al., "Line shift, line asymmetry, and the 6Li/7Li isotopic ratio determination", 2007, A&A, 473, L37


drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2013-2-21

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: März 2013 Zur Übersicht

Stellare Lithium-Häufigkeiten stützen Standardmodell des Urknalls

Seit Jahrzehnten bereitet es den Astronomen große Schwierigkeiten, die beim Urknall produzierte Menge an Lithium mit den gemessenen Häufigkeiten in sehr alten Sternen in Einklang zu bringen. Beide stabile Lithiumisotope führten zu vielen rauchenden Köpfen, da ein Widerspruch beobachtet wurde: die Sterne enthalten zu große Mengen des leichteren 6Li und nicht genug von dem schwereren 7Li. Mit neuen und verbesserten Modellen zur Entstehung der Spektrallinien in metallarmen Sternen war ein internationales, vom MPA geleitetes Wissenschaftlerteam nun in der Lage, neues Licht auf diese Fragestellung zu werfen. Letztlich stehen die neu berechneten Häufigkeiten der Lithium-Isotope in diesen alten Sternen nicht im Widerspruch zu den Vorhersagen aus dem Standardmodell der Urknall-Nukleosynthese.

Abb. 1: Diese Visualisierung einer 3D hydrodynamischen Strahlungssimulation zeigt, wie die Lithium-Linienstärke auf der Oberfläche einer metallarmen Sternatmosphäre variiert.

Abb. 2: Diese Grafik zeigt die entsprechenden Linienprofile zu Abb. 1, wobei eine dunkle Farbe eine höhere Dichte der Linienprofile andeutet. Das räumlich gemittelte Profil ist schwarz eingezeichnet. Die zentralen Positionen der Komponenten der 7Li- und 6Li-Linien sind oben schwarz und rot markiert.

Die Messung der Lithium-Isotopen-Verhältnisse in Sternen ist sehr schwierig, sowohl was die Beobachtungen als auch was die Theorie betrifft. Beobachter brauchen Daten von höchster Qualität, die nur moderne Teleskope und Spektrographen liefern können, um die schwache Signatur des leichteren Isotops von dem beobachteten Hintergrundrauschen entwirren zu können - in der Praxis beträgt die Nachweisgrenze von 6Li in metallarmen Sternspektren nur etwa 2% des gesamten Lithiumgehalts. Darüber hinaus können viele Effekte das Profil der Spektrallinie beeinflussen und dadurch das Isotopenverhältnis verändern, daher müssen diese im Modell korrekt beschrieben sein.

Zunächst führen thermische und konvektive Gasbewegungen zu Doppler-Verschiebungen in den Spektrallinien, so dass realistische 3D hydrodynamische Simulationen der Sternatmosphären nötig sind, wie beispielsweise die am MPA berechneten Stagger-Modelle. Zweitens muss man die großen Abweichungen vom lokalen thermodynamischen Gleichgewicht (engl. local thermodynamic equilibrium - kurz LTE) berücksichtigen, wenn die Verteilung der Atome in verschiedenen Anregungs- und Ionisationszuständen korrekt beschrieben werden soll. Derartig komplexe Berechnungen der Linienbildung sind teuer und müssen mehrere Wochen lang auf leistungsstarken Multi-Core-Computern laufen. Daher konnten bisher nicht alle Effekte gleichzeitig berücksichtigt werden und vereinfachende Annahmen wurden gemacht.

Zum ersten Mal wurde nun eine kombinierte 3D, nicht-LTE-Methode angewendet, um die Lithium-, Natrium-und Kalzium-Spektrallinien in vier sehr metallarmen Sterne zu modellieren. Dabei sollte das Lithium-Isotopenverhältnis bestimmt werden, die anderen neutralen Elemente wurden zur Kalibration der unbekannten, projizierten Rotationsgeschwindigkeit der Sterne herangezogen. Überraschenderweise fanden die Astronomen in keinem der Sterne bedeutende Vorkommen des leichteren 6Li, entgegen der in mehreren Studien der vergangenen zwei Jahrzehnte vorgelegten Hinweise.

Die verfeinerten Modelle zeigen insbesondere, dass die LTE-Annahme zu einer systematischen Überschätzung und sogar zu Fehldetektionen von 6Li über einen breiten Parameterbereich hinweg führt. Ein interessantes Beispiel hierfür ist der metallarme Stern HD84937, der einen Großteil seines Brennstoffes aufgebraucht hat. Mindestens drei konkurrierende Studien führen einen unstrittigen Nachweis von 6Li vor, während das neue Modell keine signifikanten Anzeichen des Isotops zeigt.

Die Ergebnisse für alle vier Sterne stimmen erfreulicherweise sehr gut mit den Vorhersagen des Standardmodells der Urknall-Nukleosynthese überein, bei der nur unwesentliche Mengen des leichteren Isotops entstehen. Damit bleibt allerdings die Frage offen, warum die Elementhäufigkeiten von 7Li geringer sind als die Vorhersagen aus dem Urknall. Unser 3D NLTE-Modell stärkt die spannende Hypothese, dass Sterne für beide Lithiumisotopen als Senke wirken können, was im Laufe der Zeit zum einem allmählichen Verschwinden dieser und schwererer Elemente aus ihren Atmosphären führt. Diese langsame Diffusion wurde theoretisch postuliert und könnte erklären, warum die beobachteten stellaren Häufigkeiten von schwerem Lithium niedriger sind als erwartet. Somit könnten beide kosmologischen Lithium-Probleme, mit denen Teilchenphysiker und Astrophysiker seit dem Start des WMAP-Satelliten kämpfen, durch eine verbesserte Physik der Sternatmosphären gelöst werden.


Karin Lind (MPA), Jorge Melendez (Department of Astronomy, University of Sao Paulo, Brasil), Martin Asplund (Mount Stromlo Observatory, Australian National University, Australia), Remo Collet (Mount Stromlo Observatory, Australian National University, Australia), Zazralt Magic (MPA)


Originalveröffentlichung

Lind K., Melendez J., Asplund M., Collet R. & Magic Z., "The lithium isotopic ratio in very metal-poor stars", (submitted to A&A)

Weitere Artikel

Asplund, M., Lambert, D. L., Nissen, P. E., Primas, F., & Smith, V.V., "Lithium Isotopic Abundances in Metal-poor Halo Stars", 2006, ApJ, 644, 229

Cayrel, R., Steffen, M., Chand, H., et al., "Line shift, line asymmetry, and the 6Li/7Li isotopic ratio determination", 2007, A&A, 473, L37


drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 25.2.2013