Zurueck zur Startseite

  Current Research Highlight :: December 2013 all highlights

D³PO: Denoising, Deconvolving, and Decomposing Photon Observations

A common problem for scientists analysing astronomical images is the separation of diffuse and point-like components. This analysis has now become easier: scientists at the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics have recently published the D³PO algorithm, which removes noise effects and instrumental artefacts from the observed images, while simultaneously separating diffuse and point-like contributions.

Fig. 1: Simulated observation showing a 32 × 32 arcmin2 patch of the sky with a resolution of 0.1 arcmin.

Fig. 2: Reconstruction of the point-like photon flux, where each marker indicates a source, and its gray scale the corresponding flux.

Fig. 3: Reconstruction of the diffuse photon flux in which noise and instrumental artefacts have been removed.

Modern observatories provide raw images of the sky with high spatial resolution. In the X-ray and gamma-ray domain, individual photons are collected and depicted in photon count images. Since the number of photons detected is random to a certain degree, the raw image suffers from granularity due to the so-called shot noise. Further, an inhomogeneous sky exposure - especially for larger area surveys - and other instrumental effects leave unwanted imprints in the observational data. Imperfect instrument optics can, for example, cause point sources to be spread out so that they appear as smeared out blobs in the raw image. Furthermore, the sky emission is often an overlay of emission from different sources. Distinguishing between them on the image is ambiguous as it is often not clear from which of the sources a particular photon originates. It is therefore a real challenge to extract the original, astrophysical information contained in these noisy images and to sharpen them to high resolution.

To refine such raw images and reconstruct the original emission sources as reliably as possible, researchers from Garching have now developed a novel, intelligent imaging algorithm, which denoises, deconvolves, and decomposes photon observations — thus the name "D³PO". The removal or suppression of noise is commonly denoted as "denoising". In case of photon count images, this requires that the shot noise statistics is taken fully into account. "Deconvolution" in this context denotes the rectification of instrumental artefacts such as by imperfect optics. Spread out point sources are hereby remapped and sharpened to a single position on the image. Finally, "decomposition" is the separation of the photon count image into two different images, one for the extended and one for the point-like sources. The distinction between these morphologically different components is the most difficult task since the algorithm needs to decide on how to split the observed photons into the two possible source classes.

In order to achieve all this simultaneously, the D³PO algorithm relies on probabilistic inference that considers and weighs virtually all possible images of the sky while taking into account the raw photon image and all available a priori knowledge of how the sky could look like. For example, from the knowledge of how the observatory works, one has a decent idea of how a point source should look like in the raw image. Given an observation, one can judge how likely it is that a certain feature is a point source, diffuse emission, or just shot noise. This probabilistic reasoning has been designed using the framework of linkPfeil.gifInformation Field Theory, which provides a convenient language for the derivation of optimal imaging methods.

The images delivered by the D³PO algorithm are not only cured from noise and instrumental artefacts, but also provide a separation of the photon flux into extended and point-like sources. This is crucial for analysing high energy observations with respect to the astrophysical nature of the emission. On the one hand, extended emission regions, such as galactic clouds, galaxy clusters, or unresolved cosmic background emission, can be studied in the images without blooming point sources. And on the other hand, the analysis of point sources, like neutron stars and quasi-stellar objects (so-called quasars), can be carried out in images, where the background has been removed.

The D³PO algorithm is currently applied to data from the Chandra X-ray observatory and the Fermi gamma-ray space telescope at the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics. The resulting images will hopefully provide the astrophysical community with a sharpened view on the high energy Universe.

Marco Selig, Torsten Enßlin, and Hannelore Hämmerle


The D³PO algorithm has been developed by Marco Selig at the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics. Marco Selig is currently a PhD student in the research group of Torsten Enßlin and investigates information field theory-based imaging methods for high-energy astrophysics. His implementation of the D³PO algorithm will be released to the public in the near future.


Marco Selig and Torsten A. Enßlin, "Denoising, Deconvolving, and Decomposing Photon Observations", submitted to Astronomy & Astrophysics, linkPfeilExtern.gif

drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2016, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2013-11-25

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: Dezember 2013 Zur Übersicht

Entrauschen, Entfalten und Entwirren von Photonenbeobachtungen

Die Trennung von diffusen und punktförmigen Komponenten ist ein alltägliches Problem für Wissenschaftler, die astronomische Bilder analysieren. Die Analyse wird jetzt einfacher: Forscher am Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik haben vor kurzem den D³PO Algorithmus veröffentlicht, der Rauscheffekte und Instrumentenfehler aus Beobachtungsaufnahmen entfernt, während er gleichzeitig diffuse und punktförmige Strahlungsquellen trennt.

Abb. 1: Simulierte Beobachtung, die einen 32 x 32 arcmin2 Ausschnitt des Himmels mit einer Auflösung von 0.1 arcmin zeigt.

Abb. 2: Rekonstruktion des punktförmigen Photonenflusses, wobei jede Quelle markiert ist und die Graustufen die jeweils zugehörigen Flüsse anzeigen.

Abb. 3: Rekonstruktion des diffusen Photonenflusses, welcher von Rauschen und Instrumentenfehlern bereinigt wurde.

Moderne Observatorien liefern Bilder des Himmels mit hoher räumlicher Auflösung. In der Röntgen- und Gamma-Astronomie werden einzelne Photonen detektiert und in Rohbilder eingetragen. Da die Anzahl der detektierten Photonen zu einem gewissen Grad zufällig ist, leiden die Rohbilder unter einer Granulierung aufgrund des sogenannten Schrotrauschens. Des Weiteren hinterlassen auch eine inhomogene Himmelsabdeckung und instrumentelle Effekte ihre ungewünschten Spuren. Die unvollkommene Optik eines Teleskops kann beispielsweise Punktquellen zu verschwommenen Klecksen verschmieren. Außerdem ist die Emission am Himmel oft eine schwer zu entwirrende Überlagerung verschiedener Quellen, da die einzelnen Photonen nicht eindeutig den ursprünglichen Quellen zugeordnet werden können. Daher stellt es eine große Herausforderung dar, das ursprüngliche Himmelsbild hochaufgelöst zu rekonstruieren und die astrophysikalisch relevante Information über die einzelnen Strahlungsquellen aus den Daten zu extrahieren.

Zu diesem Zweck entwickelten die Garchinger Wissenschaftler einen neuartigen, intelligenten Bildgebungsalgorithmus, der die Photonenbeobachtungen entrauscht, entfaltet und entwirrt. Dies drückt die englische Abkürzung "D³PO" aus, welche für "Denoise, Deconvolve, and Decompose Photon Observations" steht. "Entrauschen" bezeichnet hier eine Rauschunterdrückung, die die spezifischen statistischen Eigenschaften des Schrotrauschens berücksichtigt. "Entfaltung" ist die Korrektur instrumenteller Artefakte, wie sie die unvollkommene Optik des Instruments verursachen kann. Verschmierte Punktquellen werden hierbei auf ein einzelnes Pixel abgebildet und somit geschärft. Schlussendlich, bedeutet "Entwirrung" die Aufspaltung des Rohbildes in zwei separate Bilder, eines mit ausgedehnten, diffusen und eines mit punktförmigen Quellen. Diese "Entwirrung" ist die schwierigste Aufgabe, weil der Algorithmus entscheiden muss, wie die beobachteten Photonen auf die zwei unterschiedlichen Quellbilder am natürlichsten aufzuteilen sind.

Um all dies gleichzeitig zu erreichen, nutzt der D³PO Algorithmus die sogenannte Wahrscheinlichkeitslogik. Diese bewertet mögliche Bilder des Himmels gemäß ihrer Wahrscheinlichkeit, dass dieses Bild die beobachteten Daten erzeugt hat — gleichzeitig muss es konsistent mit unserem Vorwissen über die Photonenquellen sein. So kennt der Beobachter beispielsweise das typische Fleckenmuster, das Punktquellen in den Rohbildern erzeugen. Dieses Vorwissen nutzt D³PO um zu entscheiden, ob eine bestimmte Bildstruktur eher eine Punktquelle, eine ausgedehnte Quelle oder nur ein Rauschartefakt ist. Die von D³PO verwendete Wahrscheinlichkeitslogik wurde mittels der linkPfeil.gifInformationsfeldtheorie entwickelt, welche eine bequeme Sprache zur Herleitung optimaler Bildgebungsmethoden bereitstellt.

Die Bilder, die der D³PO Algorithmus liefert, sind nicht nur von Rausch- und Instrumentfehlern bereinigt, sondern trennen auch den Photonenfluss in ausgedehnte und punktförmige Quellen — ein essentieller Schritt für die Dateninterpretation in der Röntgen- und Gamma-Astronomie. So können einerseits ausgedehnte Emissionsgebiete, wie galaktische Wolken, Galaxienhaufen oder unaufgelöste kosmische Hintergrundstrahlung, ohne die sie überstrahlenden Punktquellen studiert werden. Andererseits, können Punktquellen, wie Neutronensterne oder quasi-stellare Objekte (sogenannte Quasare), in den Aufnahmen frei von irgendwelchen Hintergründen untersucht werden.

Der D³PO Algorithmus wird derzeit am Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik auf Daten des Chandra-Röntgenobservatoriums und des Fermi-Gammastrahlen-Weltraumteleskops angewandt. Die resultierenden Bilder werden den Astrophysikern hoffentlich bald eine schärfere Sicht auf das hochenergetische Universum ermöglichen.


Marco Selig, Torsten Enßlin und Hannelore Hämmerle


Background:

Der D³PO Algorithmus wurde von Marco Selig am Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik entwickelt. Marco Selig ist derzeit ein Doktorand in der Forschergruppe von Torsten Enßlin und untersucht Methoden in der Informationsfeldtheorie zur Bildgebung in der Hochenergieastrophysik. Seine Implementierung des D³PO Algorithmus wird in naher Zukunft öffentlich zugänglich sein.

References:

Marco Selig and Torsten A. Enßlin, "Denoising, Deconvolving, and Decomposing Photon Observations", submitted to Astronomy & Astrophysics, linkPfeilExtern.gifhttp://arxiv.org/abs/1311.1888



drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 25.11.2013