MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: September 2012 all highlights

Trojan horses within molecular clouds: How do a few massive stars determine the fate of a whole galaxy?

Out of hundreds of new-born stars in a star-forming galaxy only a handful have a mass exceeding 8 solar masses. Nevertheless, these massive stars are special as they can determine the fate of a whole galaxy. Each massive star is acting like a Trojan horse disrupting its parental molecular cloud from within. Using high-resolution computer simulations, scientists at the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics have shown how the ionising UV radiation from a single massive star initiates the dispersal of the surrounding molecular cloud. When the star subsequently explodes as a Supernova the gas is further accelerated and eventually expelled from the galaxy, making it unavailable for future star formation. These feedback processes are likely to regulate the efficiency of galaxy-wide star formation in the Universe. The team has been awarded over 40 million CPU hours on SuperMUC, Europe's fastest super-computer, to simulate the whole life cycle of molecular clouds - from assembly and star formation to feedback and dispersal - in a galactic environment. For the first time it will be possible to directly follow the impact of feedback from massive stars from the sites of star formation on milli-parsec scales to kilo-parsec, galactic, scales in unprecedented detail.

Fig. 1: 3D simulation of an HII region (a largely ionised molecular gas cloud) expanding into a molecular cloud with 10,000 solar masses. The colouring indicates the column density along the projected direction. Black dots are new stars, which form in these self-gravitating simulations.

Fig. 2: Temperature profiles, showing the impact of a Supernova explosion in a 10 times more massive molecular cloud (100,000 solar masses). The three panels show from top to bottom: a) the adiabatic case (without radiative cooling); b) the case with radiative cooling; c) the full model, in which the cloud has been affected by ionising radiation even before the Supernova explodes.

Fig. 3: The SILCC project aims to capture the full life cycle of a molecular cloud in one simulation. The panels show the individual steps from cloud assembly to star formation, feedback and driving of large-scale galactic outflows. Each step has been studied in an individual simulation by members of the SILCC team.

Less than 1 % of all new-born stars have a mass of more than 8 solar masses by the time nuclear burning in their centres is initiated and they start to shine. Both, the life and death of a massive star are intriguingly different and much more exciting than those of a low mass star, such as our Sun. During its lifetime, a massive star heavily affects its parental gas cloud -- mostly consisting of cold (10 Kelvin), molecular gas -- by strong UV radiation and a fast stellar wind. Due to the emitted UV radiation, the surrounding molecular cloud is quickly ionised and heated to about 10,000 Kelvin, and a so-called HII region is formed. The hot, ionised bubble expands into the cold, turbulent environment, thereby sweeping up more and more gas and possibly triggering new star formation. The massive star exhausts its fuel fairly rapidly, burning for only a few million years. In death, it explodes as a Supernova Type II and releases an enormous amount of energy, which further accelerates and heats the surrounding gas to up to 100 million Kelvin.

Even though massive stars are rare, they are most important for galaxy formation and evolution. They represent the main source of stellar feedback energy and are able to destroy molecular clouds from within, thus regulating the star formation efficiency in the galaxy. Moreover, their feedback, and in particular their death in form of a Supernova explosion, may even drive large-scale galactic winds and outflows. Gas which is driven out of the galaxy by this process might ultimately be unavailable for new star formation.

Scientists at MPA study the dispersal of molecular clouds by UV radiation (see Fig. 1) and Supernova explosions of massive stars (see Fig. 2) in highly resolved, three-dimensional computer simulations. They show that relatively small molecular clouds with a mass of 10,000 solar masses may easily be disrupted by ionising radiation alone long before the star explodes as a Supernova. However, the disruption of more massive molecular clouds requires more drastic measures. While the initial ionising feedback due to radiation is still an essential ingredient when modelling the disruption of high-mass clouds, only Supernovae are actually able to disrupt clouds with 100,000 to 1 million solar masses. Modelling the stellar feedback involves complex, non-linear cooling processes in the interstellar medium. This means that the Supernova explosion is much more efficient when taking place in a pre-ionised, low-density HII region. By performing simulations of Supernova explosions in clouds with and without previous ionisation, the scientists are able to quantify how much the efficiency improves. In fact, for simulations with previous ionisation and cooling the results are remarkably close to the ideal and well-studied Sedov explosion case, in which the cloud is not at all allowed to cool radiatively. This result is very important for correctly estimating the impact of feedback in the interstellar medium.

Understanding how this feedback propagates over more than six orders of magnitude in spatial scale, from milli-parsec scales, at the sites of massive star formation, to galactic kilo-parsec scales, is a computationally challenging quest. The team is now ready to set the next milestone in performing deeply resolved SImulations of the whole LifeCycle of a molecular Cloud (SILCC-project). They have been awarded more than 40 million CPU hours on SuperMUC, the new 3 petaflop supercomputer, which has just been launched at the Leibniz-Rechenzentrum Garching. Currently, linkPfeilExtern.gifSuperMUC is Europe's fastest super-computer and number four in the known universe. The SILCC project will shed light into the intricate impact of massive stars, from molecular cloud assembly, over star formation and feedback, to gas ejection from the galactic disk (see Fig. 3). These complex three-dimensional simulations will involve a multitude of physical effects that, to date, have not yet been included in a single computation. Investigating all of these processes at the same time will give detailed insight about how feedback from massive stars can regulate the star formation efficiency in the galaxies.


Stefanie Walch, Thorsten Naab


Original publications:

Walch, S.K.; Whitworth, A.P.; Bisbas, T.; W√ľnsch, R., Hubber, D., "Dispersal of molecular clouds by ionising radiation", accepted for publication in MNRAS (2012); linkPfeilExtern.gifarXiv1206.6492



drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2012-9-5

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: September 2012 Zur Übersicht

Trojanische Pferde in Molekülwolken: Wie einige massereiche Sterne das Schicksal einer ganzen Galaxie bestimmen

Wenn Galaxien neue Sterne bilden erreichen nur wenige Prozent eine Masse von mehr als 8 Sonnenmassen. Trotz ihrer geringen Anzahl sind diese massereichen Sterne maßgebend für die Entwicklung einer gesamten Galaxie. Jeder einzelne massereiche Stern verhält sich sprichwörtlich wie ein trojanisches Pferd inmitten seiner Molekülwolke - er zerreißt die Wolke von Innen. Mittels hoch-aufgelöster Computersimulationen konnten Wissenschaftler am MPA zeigen, dass die ionisierende UV Strahlung eines einzelnen massereichen Sterns die Zerstörung einer Molekülwolke initiieren kann. Die nachfolgende Supernova Explosion beschleunigt das Gas noch zusätzlich. Es kann aus der Galaxie geschleudert werden und dann keine neuen Sterne mehr bilden. Diese "Feedback" Prozesse regulieren vermutlich die galaxienweite Sternentstehungseffizienz im Universum. Das Team wird jetzt über 40 Millionen CPU Stunden auf Europas schnellstem Supercomputer, SuperMUC, verwenden, um den gesamten Lebenszyklus von Molekülwolken - den Kollaps bis hin zur Sternentstehung und die anschließende Zerstörung durch Feedback - in einer realistischen, galaktischen Umgebung zu studieren. Mit diesen Simulationen wird es erstmals möglich sein, den Einfluss von massereichen Sternen von der milli-parsec Skala einzelner Sternentstehungsgebiete auf ganze Galaxien selbstkonsistent zu verfolgen.

Abb. 1: 3D-Simulation einer HII-Region (einer größtenteils ionisierten Gaswolke), die sich in eine Molekülwolke von 10.000 Sonnenmassen ausdehnt. Die Farbskala gibt die Säulendichte in Projektion wieder. Die schwarzen Punkte sind Sterne, die sich in diesen Simulationen unter dem Einfluss der eigenen Schwerkraft bilden.

Abb. 2: Diese Temperaturprofile zeigen die Auswirkungen einer Supernovaexplosion in einer zehnmal massereicheren Molekülwolke (100.000 Sonnenmassen). Die drei Felder zeigen (von oben nach unten): a) den adiabatischen Fall (ohne Strahlungskühlung), b) den Fall mit Strahlungskühlung und c) das vollständige Modell, bei dem noch vor der Supernovaexplosion ionisierende Strahlung auf die Wolke wirkt.

Abb. 3: Das Ziel des SILCC-Projekts ist es, den gesamten Lebenszyklus einer Molekülwolke in einer Simulation darzustellen. Die Felder zeigen die einzelnen Stadien von der Bildung der Wolke bis hin zur Entstehung von Sternen, dem Feedback und den großskaligen, galaktischen Winden. Jedes Stadium wurde bereits in einzelnen Simulationen von Mitgliedern des SILCC-Teams untersucht.

Weniger als 1 % aller entstehender Sterne erreichen eine Masse von mehr als 8 Sonnenmassen, bevor die Kernfusion in ihrem Inneren beginnt und sie anfangen zu leuchten. Leben und Tod eines solchen massereichen Sterns ist deutlich aufregender als bei massearmen Sternen, wie zum Beispiel der Sonne. Zu Lebzeiten verändert der massereiche Stern durch intensive UV Strahlung und einen schnellen, stellaren Windes das umgebende interstellare Medium, welches aus kaltem (10 Kelvin), molekularen Gas besteht. Die emittierte UV Strahlung ionisiert die umgebende Molekülwolke und heizt sie dadurch auf 10,000 Kelvin wodurch eine sogenannte HII Region entsteht. Die heiße, ionisierte Blase dehnt sich immer weiter in die kalte Umgebung aus wobei mehr und mehr kaltes Gas aufgesammelt wird aus dem sich neue Sterne bilden können. Nach nur wenigen Millionen Jahren explodiert ein massereicher Stern als Supernova Typ II. Bei dieser Explosion wird enorm viel Energie freigesetzt wodurch das umgebende Gas auf bis zu 100 Millionen Kelvin geheizt und teilweise stark beschleunigt wird. Obwohl massereiche Sterne selten sind, beeinflussen sie die Entstehung und Entwicklung einer Galaxie maßgeblich. Sie sind die Hauptquelle stellarer Feedback Energie und somit in der Lage Molekülwolken von innen heraus zu zerstören. Dadurch regulieren sie die Sternentstehung in einer Galaxie und können sogar Gas in großskaligen, galaktischen Winden aus der Galaxie blasen.

Mittels hochaufgelöster, drei-dimensionaler Computersimulationen untersuchen Wissenschaftler am MPA die Zerstörung von Molekülwolken durch ionisierende UV Strahlung (siehe Abb. 1) sowie durch Supernova Explosionen massereicher Sterne (siehe Abb. 2). Sie zeigen, dass relativ leichte Molekülwolken mit einer Masse von 10,000 Sonnenmassen schon durch die ionisierende Strahlung auseinandergeblasen werden können. Dies geschieht bevor der Stern als Supernova explodiert. Schwerere Wolken erfordern jedoch drastischere Ma\ss nahmen. Obwohl die ionisierende Strahlung auch hier eine wichtige Rolle spielt, können Wolken mit 100,000 bis 1 Million Sonnenmassen nur durch Supernova Explosionen zerstört werden. Um das stellare Feedback korrekt zu modellieren, müssen komplexe, nicht-lineare Kühlprozesse im interstellaren Medium berücksichtigt werden. Diese sorgen dafür, dass die Supernova viel effizienter auf das umgebende Medium einwirkt, wenn die Explosion in einer vor-ionisierten HII Region mit niedriger Dichte stattfindet. Die Wissenschaftler quantifizieren diesen Effekt, indem sie Simulationen von Supernovae in Wolken mit und ohne vorherige Ionisation stattfinden lassen. Dabei stellt sich heraus, dass Modelle welche die intrinsische Ionisation und die Kühlung des interstellaren Gases in Betracht ziehen, Ergebnisse liefern, welche der ausführlich behandelten Sedov Lösung erstaunlich nahe kommen. Die Sedov Lösung beschreibt den idealisierten Fall ohne Strahlungskühlung des interstellaren Gases. Dieses Ergebnis ist essentiell um den Einfluss von Feedback im interstellaren Medium korrekt abschätzen zu können.

Zu verstehen wie sich dieses Feedback über mehr als 6 Größenordnungen - von der milli-Parsec Skala auf welcher massereiche Sterne entstehen bis hin zu galaktischen Skalen von mehreren kilo-Parsec - fortpflanzt ist ein sehr anspruchsvolles numerisches Unterfangen. Durch den Zuspruch von mehr als 40 Millionen CPU Stunden auf dem neuen 3 Petaflop Supercomputer SuperMuc, welcher kürzlich vom Leibniz-Rechenzentrum Garching eingeweiht wurde, ist das Team nun bereit die Berechnung extrem hochaufgelöster Simulationen des gesamten Lebenszyklus von Molekülwolken (SILCC Projekt) durchzuführen und damit einen neuen Meilenstein zu setzen. linkPfeilExtern.gifSuperMUC ist momentan Europas schnellster Supercomputer und derzeit Nummer 4 im uns bekannten Universum. Das SILCC Projekt (Abb. 3) untersucht den Einfluss massereicher Sterne, von der Entstehung von Molekülwolken, über Kollaps, Sternentstehung und Feedback, bis hin zum Ausstoß des Gases aus der galaktischen Scheibe.

Die komplexen, dreidimensionalen Simulationen beinhalten eine solche Vielzahl an wichtigen physikalischen Prozessen, wie sie bis heute noch nie in ein und derselben Computersimulation berücksichtigt wurden. Aus diesem Grund kann das Team jetzt herausfinden wie das Feedback von massereichen Sternen die Sternentstehungseffizienz in Galaxien reguliert.


Stefanie Walch, Thorsten Naab


Originalveröffentlichung:

Walch, S.K.; Whitworth, A.P.; Bisbas, T.; Wünsch, R., Hubber, D., "Dispersal of molecular clouds by ionising radiation", accepted for publication in MNRAS (2012); linkPfeilExtern.gifarXiv1206.6492



drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 5.9.2012