MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: July 2011 all highlights

Faraday caustics: Light patterns from cosmic magnetism

Similar to the light pattern at the bottom of a swimming pool on a sunny day, recent work by scientists at the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics predicts that future images of cosmic magnetic fields will contain networks of bright structures. These structures should play a key role in the three-dimensional cartography of galactic magnetic fields, such as the one permeating the turbulent plasma in the Milky Way. Studying these in detail has been difficult in the past but will strongly benefit from the new generation of radio telescopes which permit 3-dimensional mapping of magnetic structures. The MPA scientists have now predicted that among the first structures to be seen by this novel method will be bright sheets of polarized emission, which they named 'Faraday caustics'. These Faraday caustics are images of magnetic field reversal in our galaxy and elsewhere, and therefore open a new window to study cosmic magnetism in greater detail.

Fig. 1: Optical caustics at the bottom of a swimming pool. Ripples on the surface of the pool refract the sunlight to produce a bright network of features on the floor. Similarly with Faraday caustics, particular magnetic field configurations produce bright features in polarized radio emission.
Image credit: linkPfeilExtern.gifGregory Massal

Fig. 2: a) A simulated Faraday spectrum, i.e. the polarized intensity separated by the amount of Faraday rotation suffered. The spectrum shows examples of Farday caustics, circled in red and green.
b) The Faraday rotation as a function of distance along the line of sight (LOS).
c) The LOS component of the magnetic field as a function of LOS distance. This effects the Faraday rotation. Faraday caustics appear when this is zero.
d) The magnetic field in the plane of the sky as a function of line of sight distance. The caustics, circled in red or green in the Faraday spectrum, are associated with features in the magnetic field distribution marked by the like colored lines.

Imagine a sunny day at the pool. Looking down at the bottom of the pool reveals a network of ridges of bright light that is constantly in motion. These structures, known as optical caustics, are an effect of the sunlight being focused to a single point as it is refracted by the wavy surface of the water. The rippling surface causes light to "pile up" in certain regions at the bottom of the pool instead of filling all the space equally.

What does this have to do with astrophysics? Recently, Michael Bell, Henrik Junklewitz and Torsten Enßlin have shown that similar features, which they are calling "Faraday caustics", can be seen in images of polarized radio emission produced using next generation radio telescopes. Just as the caustics at the bottom of the pool trace conditions at the surface of the water, Faraday caustics trace specific properties of magnetic fields in the universe. In the same way that one might study the properties of the pool's surface by observing the network of light patterns at the bottom, the authors propose that Faraday caustics may be very useful for learning about the distribution of magnetic fields in the universe and to help shed light on their yet unknown origins.

Magnetic fields can be found everywhere in the cosmos. They are generated by planets, like the Earth, stars or other celestial objects, and permeate the vast space of the largest structures in the universe, such as galaxy clusters. Nevertheless, although we know of their existence, it is often difficult to measure their exact properties. For those observing radio waves, an effect known as Faraday rotation can be a good tracer of some of the magnetic fields' properties. The effect of Faraday rotation is that the plane of polarization of a radio wave is rotated as it passes through a magnetized plasma. The amount of rotation depends, among other things, on the properties of the magnetic field and the observed frequency. Since this rotation can be calculated from polarization sensitive observations at different frequencies, Faraday rotation has been a very useful tool for studying cosmic magnetism.

Astronomers face the problem that the radiation from a single direction might have been emitted by two different radio sources. The radiation from each source would have traveled through different magnetic fields and been rotated by different amounts. How can astronomers distinguish between these sources? To overcome this problem a new measurement technique was devised in recent years called "Rotation Measure Synthesis". This technique uses the same mathematical approach used to analyze the different frequency components that produce a complicated acoustic signal, like a song. After measuring polarized radio emission at many different frequencies, we can reconstruct the 'Faraday spectrum', i.e. separate the polarized emission into components that are rotated by different amounts due to Faraday rotation. In this spectrum, Faraday caustics are predicted to leave a tell-tale trace.

The scientists of the Max Planck Institute have shown that Faraday caustics are caused by reversals of the magnetic field orientation along a line of sight. Such reversals are quite common in turbulent astrophysical environments, therefore Faraday caustics are predicted to appear in many observations. The behavior and statistics of the Faraday caustics will reveal structural and statistical properties of cosmic magnetic fields.

The authors show that the new European radio telescope LOFAR, in whose construction the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics is participating, will be ideally suited to observing Faraday caustics. Using LOFAR and other telescopes, future observations specifically designed to look at Faraday caustics will greatly improve our understanding of the magnetic fields in our own and other galaxies, and help to unravel their yet unknown origins. This is the aim of the German research unit "Magnetisierung des interstellaren und intergalaktischen Mediums“ (Magnetization of the interstellar and intergalactic medium) funded by the German Society of Research (DFG) of which Michael Bell, Henrik Junklewitz and Torsten Ensslin are members.


Michael Bell, Henrik Junklewitz, and Torsten Enßlin


Related Links

linkPfeilExtern.gifLOFAR Telescope Array
linkPfeilExtern.gifLOFAR in Deutschland
linkPfeilExtern.gifMPA LOFAR Project

linkPfeilExtern.gifResearch group about "Magnetisation of Interstellar and Intergalactic Media"


Related Publication

M. R. Bell, H. Junklewitz, T. A. Enßlin, "Faraday caustics: Singularities in the Faraday spectrum and their utility as probes of magnetic field properties", submitted to A&A. linkPfeilExtern.gifhttp://arxiv.org/abs/1105.2693



drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2012-8-13

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: Juli 2011 Zur Übersicht

Faradaykaustiken: Lichtspiele kosmischer Magnetfelder

Ähnlich wie sonnendurchflutete Swimmingpools sollten auch zukünftige Bilder kosmischer Magnetfelder besonders helle Strukturen enthalten, wie Wissenschaftler am Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik kürzlich herausfanden. Diese Strukturen sollten eine Schlüsselrolle bei der dreidimensionalen Kartographierung galaktischer Magnetfelder, wie beispielsweise dem im turbulenten Plasma unserer Milchstraße, spielen. Bisher ließen sich diese Magnetfelder nur schwer vermessen, eine neue Generation von Radioteleskopen verspricht jetzt erstmals dreidimensionale Bilder galaktischer Magnetfelder. Die MPA-Forscher sagen nun voraus, dass unter den ersten Strukturen, die in diesen Bildern sichtbar sein werden, Schichten von intensiver polarisierter Strahlung enthalten sein sollten. Diese "Faradaykaustik" getauften Strukturen sollten durch Magnetfeldumkehrungen in unserer oder anderen Galaxien entstanden sein und erlauben einen neuen Blickwinkel auf kosmische Magnetfelder.

Abb. 1: Optische Kaustiken am Grund eines Schwimmbeckens. Kleine Wellen an der Wasseroberfläche brechen das Sonnenlicht und erzeugen ein helles Muster auf dem Boden. In ähnlicher Weise erzeugen auch bei Faradaykaustiken bestimmte Konfigurationen von Magnetfeldern helle Muster in polarisierter Radiostrahlung.
Bildnachweis: linkPfeilExtern.gifGregory Massal

Abb. 2: a) Ein simuliertes Faradayspektrum, d.h. die polarisierte Intensität aufgeteilt nach der Größe der Faradayrotation, die sie erfahren hat. Das Spektrum zeigt Beispiele von Faradaykaustiken, hier rot und grün eingekreist.
b) Die Faradayrotation als Funktion der Entfernung entlang der Sichtlinie.
c) Magnetfeldkomponente entlang der Sichtlinie als Funktion der Entfernung. Dies beeinflusst die Faradayrotation. Faradaykaustiken entstehen, wo diese Komponente Null ist.
d) Das Magnetfeld in der Himmelsebene als Funktion der Entfernung entlang der Sichtlinie. Die Kaustiken, die im Faradayspektrum rot bzw. grün eingekreist sind, entsprechen bestimmten Merkmalen in der Magnetfeldverteilung, die hier durch Linien gleicher Farbe markiert sind.

Man stelle sich einen sonnigen Tag im Schwimmbad vor. Ein Blick auf den Grund des Schwimmbeckens eröffnet die Sicht auf ein fortwährend bewegtes Muster von Linien hellen Lichtes. Diese Strukturen sind sogenannte optische Kaustiken, die dadurch zu Stande kommen, dass das Sonnenlicht bei der Brechung an der Wasseroberfläche auf einzelne Linien fokussiert wird. Die unruhige Oberfläche bringt das Licht also dazu, sich nur an bestimmten Stellen des Beckengrundes zu konzentrieren, statt einfach den ganzen Boden gleichmäßig auszuleuchten.

Aber was hat das alles nun mit Astrophysik zu tun? Vor kurzem haben Michael Bell, Henrik Junklewitz und Torsten Enßlin vom Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik gezeigt, dass es ganz ähnliche Erscheinungen auch in der polarisierter Radiostrahlung unserer Galaxie geben sollte und tauften diese Strukturen "Faradaykaustiken". Faradaykaustiken sollen in den drei-dimensionalen Magnetfeldbildern der nächsten Generation von Radioteleskopen sichtbar werden. Genauso wie sich aus den Lichtkaustiken am Grund eines Wasserbeckens die Stärke und Größe der Wellen an der Wasseroberfläche ablesen lassen, sollten die Faradaykaustiken Eigenheiten der Struktur von galaktischen Magnetfeldern zeigen. Eine solche Kaustik zeigt an, dass das galaktische Magnetfeld entlang der Sichtrichtung seine eigene Richtung ändert. Die Beobachtungen der Kaustiken würde es daher ermöglichen, die Struktur des Magnetfeldes genauer zu vermessen und damit möglicherweise seine noch unbekannte Entstehung zu erhellen.

Magnetfelder sind nahezu allgegenwärtig im Universum. Sie werden unter anderem in Planeten und Sternen erzeugt, durchdringen aber auch die größten kosmischen Strukturen wie Galaxien und Galaxienhaufen. Obwohl die Existenz kosmischer Magnetfelder in vielen Regionen des Weltalls außer Frage steht, ist ihre genaue Vermessung äußerst schwierig. Der Effekt der Faradayrotation erlaubt es Magnetfeldeigenschaften auf die Spur zu kommen. Dabei wird die Polarisationsebene einer aus dem Kosmos stammenden Radiowelle gedreht, sobald diese ein magnetisiertes ionisiertes Gas durchquert. Die Stärke der Rotation hängt von den Eigenschaften des Magnetfeldes und der Beobachtungsfrequenz ab. Da diese Rotation durch Messungen bei verschiedenen Frequenzen gut bestimmbar ist, ist die Faradayrotation ein sehr nützliches Instrument zur Erforschung kosmischer Magnetfelder.

Die Astronomen haben allerdings das Problem, dass die aus einer Richtung empfangene Strahlung von zwei verschieden weit entfernten Radioquellen stammen könnte. Deren Strahlung ist durch unterschiedliche Magnetfelder gereist und hat daher unterschiedliche Faradayrotationen erfahren. Wie können die Astronomen diese Quellen auseinanderhalten? Die Lösung liegt in der neuen Messmethode der "Faradayrotationssynthese". Diese kann auf spektral hochaufgelöste Daten der nächsten Generation von Radioteleskopen angewendet werden. Bei dieser Technik wird dieselbe mathematische Methode angewandt, nach der man auch ein komplexes akustisches Signal, wie z.B. ein Lied, in seine unterschiedlichen Spektralanteile oder Tonhöhen zerlegen kann. Aus der Messung polarisierter Radiostrahlung kann man dann ganz analog ein "Faradayspektrum" gewinnen. Dieses stellt eine Zerlegung der polarisierten Strahlung in die Anteile dar, die durch Faradayrotation unterschiedlich stark verdreht wurden.

In genau diesem Spektrum werden nun die Faradaykaustiken als prominente Strukturen erwartet. Die Wissenschaftler des Max-Planck-Institutes zeigten, dass Kaustiken polarisierter Strahlung entstehen, wann immer kosmische Magnetfelder in Sichtrichtung ihre Richtung umkehren. Solche Wechsel in der Feldrichtung sind ein häufiges Ereignis in turbulenten, astrophysikalischen Umgebungen. Demnach erwartet man, dass die Faradaykaustiken ein typisches Muster in den nun kommenden Beobachtungen sein sollten. Damit können dann räumliche und statistische Eigenschaften kosmischer Magnetfelder anhand von Faradaykaustiken gewonnen werden.

Mit passenden zukünftigen Beobachtungen, zum Beispiel mit dem gerade entstehenden europäischen LOFAR-Teleskopverbund an dem sich das Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik beteiligt, könnten daher neue Erkenntnisse über kosmische Magnetfelder gewonnen werden, die es vielleicht ermöglichen deren noch immer nicht verstandenen Ursprung zu entschlüsseln. Dies ist das erklärte Forschungsziel des durch die Deutsche Forschergemeinschaft finanzierte Forschergruppe zur "Magnetisierung des interstellaren und intergalaktischen Mediums", der Michael Bell, Henrik Junklewitz und Torsten Enßlin angehören.


Michael Bell, Henrik Junklewitz und Torsten Enßlin


Weitere Links

linkPfeilExtern.gifLOFAR Telescope Array
linkPfeilExtern.gifLOFAR in Deutschland
linkPfeilExtern.gifMPA LOFAR Project

linkPfeilExtern.gifResearch group about "Magnetisation of Interstellar and Intergalactic Media"


Originalveröffentlichung

M. R. Bell, H. Junklewitz, T. A. Enßlin, "Faraday caustics: Singularities in the Faraday spectrum and their utility as probes of magnetic field properties", submitted to A&A. linkPfeilExtern.gifhttp://arxiv.org/abs/1105.2693



drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 13.8.2012