MPA HOMEPAGE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Current Research Highlight :: January 2011 all highlights

Data analysis and steam engines

As astronomical telescopes become more and more sensitive, the analysis techniques become ever more sophisticated. But do we need a new theoretical approach for a modern image reconstruction method? Not necessarily, a well-known theory, originally developed for a better understanding of steam engines, does the trick: thermodynamics. Two researchers at the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics have now shown that the so called Gibbs energy in thermodynamics, known for more than a century, can be applied to the development of new, optimal imaging techniques.

Fig. 1: The development of powerful steam engines during the industrial revolution benefited from the theory of thermodynamics.
Copyright: linkPfeilExtern.gifBy Lardner, Dionysius and by F.A. Brockhaus, Berlin und Wien [both Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Fig. 2: Sky image of the galactic magnetic field as seen by the Faraday rotation effect on radio emissions (top) and a map of the statistical error of this image (bottom). The image was reconstructed from some 38,000 individual measurements using a mathematical method based on the concept of Gibbs energy.
Original Data: NVSS catalog and Taylor et al. (2010).
Image reconstruction: Oppermann et al. (2010)

Thermodynamics describes the molecular chaos that you find for instance inside a steam engine. It is impossible to calculate the positions and velocities of the each of the countless molecules in a boiler. However, if an engineer is interested in the typical velocities of these molecules, to determine the pressure in the boiler for example, he can use thermodynamics. This theory provides us with reliable calculations of such global properties by simplifying the very complicated dynamics of the individual molecules through statistical arguments.

Modern astronomers collect light from outer space to produce astronomical images in different wavelengths. At a first glance there is not much common ground with the typical applications of thermodynamics. When dealing with observations, however, there are also uncertainties that can only be dealt with in a statistical sense. The sky brightness has to be determined for theoretically an infinite number of pixels; but the data are coarse-grained, washed-out, noisy, most often incomplete, and always finite. Intelligent methods are needed to convert the telescope data into the most accurate image of the sky.

Unfortunately there are often an infinite number of possible images of the sky to match the observational data. These possibilities are just as confusing as the molecular chaos in a boiler but can be dealt with using the same statistical methods. In a steam engine, the behaviour of the water molecules is governed by two parameters: the internal energy U of the water and its entropy S. The former is the mean energy of the molecules due to their motion and the intramolecular attractive forces. The latter describes the amount of molecular chaos: the larger the entropy the more violent the motion. Thermodynamics postulates that the water will reach an equilibrium, so that the combination of internal energy, entropy and temperature T is minimised. This combination is called Gibbs energy: G = U - TS, and helps to understand water at different temperatures. At low temperatures the water molecules want to minimise their internal energy and therefore form drops or crystals. At high temperatures, they will form a gas, which even though energetically costly is very chaotic (and therefore has large entropy).

Torsten En▀lin and Cornelius Weig from the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics have now shown that the same terms, internal energy, entropy and Gibbs energy, can be applied to the problem of reconstructing digital images. The entropy describes the uncertainty of assigning a particular brightness to the individual sky pixels. The internal energy describes the probability of the various sky images, which have to be taken into account within the boundaries given by the uncertainty. The best possible sky image can then be calculated from the interplay between internal energy and entropy. Moreover, in contrast to traditional techniques, the new method also gives an error map, showing the uncertainty of all pixels.

The researchers were able to show that many long established imaging algorithms are based on this approach, which originated in the century-old thermodynamics. However, completely new algorithms can be developed as well. The entropy concept was already known in image reconstruction theory, but the internal energy, which is needed to determine the Gibbs energy, had not been introduced as such. The same thermodynamical laws contributing to the industrial revolution could again play an important role in today’s development of information technologies.


Torsten En▀lin and Cornelius Weig


References:

Torsten A. En▀lin and Cornelius Weig, "Inference with minimal Gibbs free energy in information field theory", Phys. Rev. E 82, 051112 (2010)
linkPfeilExtern.gifhttp://pre.aps.org/abstract/PRE/v82/i5/e051112 linkPfeilExtern.gifhttp://arxiv.org/abs/1004.2868

Niels Oppermann, Henrik Junklewitz, Georg Robbers, Torsten A. En▀lin, "Probing Magnetic Helicity in Different Astrophysical Contexts", submitted, arXiv:1008.1246
linkPfeilExtern.gifhttp://arxiv.org/abs/1008.1246

Taylor, A. R.; Stil, J. M.; Sunstrum, C., "A Rotation Measure Image of the Sky", Volume 702, Issue 2, pp. 1230-1236 (2009)
linkPfeilExtern.gifhttp://iopscience.iop.org/0004-637X/702/2/1230/

Links

linkPfeil.gifResearch Highlight August 2009


drucken.gif print version topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
last modified: 2010-12-22

MPA-STARTSEITE 
Zurueck zur Startseite
 

  Aktuelle Forschung :: Januar 2011 Zur Übersicht

Datenanalyse und Dampfmaschinen

Astronomische Teleskope werden immer empfindlicher, die Analyseverfahren immer raffinierter. Brauchen moderne Verfahren zur Bildrekonstruktion in der Astronomie neue theoretische Ansätze? Nicht unbedingt, eine alte Theorie, die zum Verständnis von Dampfmaschinen entwickelt wurde, vermag dies auch: die Thermodynamik. Zwei Forscher am Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik haben nun gezeigt, wie die seit mehr als hundert Jahren bekannte Gibbs-Energie der Thermodynamik zur Entwicklung neuer optimaler bildgebende Verfahren verwendet werden kann.

Abb. 1: Die Entwicklung von leistungsstarken Dampfmaschinen während der industriellen Revolution hat von der Theorie der Thermodynamik profitiert.
Bildnachweis: linkPfeilExtern.gifBy Lardner, Dionysius and by F.A. Brockhaus, Berlin und Wien [beide Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Abb. 2: Himmelsbild des galaktischen Magnetfeldes gesehen durch den Faraday-Rotationseffekt von Radiostrahlung (oben) und eine Karte der statistischen Bildfehler dieses Bildes (unten). Das Bild wurde aus etwa 38.000 Einzelmessungen mit einem mathematischen Verfahren zusammengesetzt, welches mittels der Gibbs-Energie hergeleitet wurde.
Ursprüngliche Daten: NVSS Katalog und Taylor et al. (2010).
Bildrekonstruktion: Oppermann et al. (2010)

“Wat is en Dampfmaschin? Da stelle mer uns mal janz dumm...”
(Die Feuerzangenbowle, 1944)

Im Inneren von Dampfmaschinen herrscht das molekulare Chaos. Die Positionen und Geschwindigkeiten der unzähligen Moleküle in einem Dampfkessel sind im Einzelnen unmöglich zu berechnen. Wenn ein Ingenieur sich nun aber für die typischen Geschwindigkeiten dieser Moleküle interessiert, um zum Beispiel den Druck in einem Dampfkessel zu bestimmen, so kann er die Thermodynamik zu Hilfe nehmen. Diese Theorie berechnet derartige globale Größen zuverlässig, wobei sie elegant die unglaublich komplizierte Dynamik der einzelnen Molekülbewegungen mit statistischen Argumenten vereinfacht.

Wenn moderne Astronomen mit ihren Teleskopen Licht aus den Tiefen des Weltalls einfangen, um Bilder des Himmels bei verschiedenen Wellenlängen anzufertigen, so hat dies mit den typischen Anwendungen der Thermodynamik auf den ersten Blick nur wenig zu tun. Doch auch hier gibt es Unsicherheiten, denen man nur mit statistischen Methoden beikommen kann: die Helligkeit des Himmel muss an jedem der theoretisch unendlich vielen Bildpunkte bestimmt werden, die Beobachtungsdaten sind allerdings oft grobkörnig, verwaschen, durch Rauschen gestört, fast immer unvollständig und in jedem Fall endlich. Intelligente Methoden sind daher nötig, um aus den Teleskopdaten ein möglichst getreues Abbild des Himmels zu machen.

Unglücklicherweise gibt es meist unendlich viele mögliche Bilder des Himmels, die sich mit den Beobachtungsdaten vertragen würden. Diese unendlichen Möglichkeiten sind genauso unübersichtlich wie das molekulare Chaos in einem Dampfkessel und lassen sich mit den gleichen statistischen Methoden zähmen. Bei der Dampfmaschine wird das Verhalten der Wassermoleküle von zwei Größen bestimmt: der inneren Energie U des Wassers und dessen Entropie S. Ersteres ist die mittlere Energie, die die Moleküle aufgrund ihrer Bewegung und der zwischenmolekularen Anziehungskräfte haben. Die Entropie ist ein Maß des molekularen Chaos, je größer die Entropie ist, umso wilder fliegen die Moleküle durcheinander. Die Thermodynamik besagt nun, dass das Wasser einen Gleichgewichtszustand einnimmt, so dass die Kombination aus innerer Energie, Entropie und Temperatur T möglichst gering ist. Diese Kombination, die so genannte Gibbs-Energie, ergibt sich aus der Formel G = U - TS. Somit kann man mithilfe der Gibbs-Energie verstehen, wie sich Wasser bei verschiedenen Temperaturen verhält. Bei niedrigen Temperaturen möchten die Wassermoleküle möglichst die innere Energie minimieren, was sie durch die Bildung von Wassertropfen oder Eiskristallen erreichen. Bei hohen Temperaturen bevorzugen sie einen energetisch teuren, aber mit viel Chaos (großer Entropie) verbundenen Gaszustand.

Torsten Enßlin und Cornelius Weig vom Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik haben nun gezeigt, dass dieselben Begriffe der inneren Energie, Entropie und Gibbs-Energie auf das Problem digitaler Bildrekonstruktionen angewendet werden können. Die Entropie beschreibt hierbei die Unsicherheit, mit der den einzelnen Himmelspunkten ein bestimmter Helligkeitswert zugeordnet werden kann. Die innere Energie beschreibt, wie wahrscheinlich die einzelnen möglichen Himmelsbilder sind, die im Rahmen der Unsicherheit in Betracht gezogen werden müssen. Aus dem Wechselspiel von innerer Energie und Entropie kann aus den Teleskopdaten so das bestmögliche Bild des Himmels errechnet werden. Zudem liefert das Verfahren im Gegensatz zu vielen herkömmlichen Verfahren eine Fehlerkarte, die die Unsicherheit aller Bildpunkte angibt.

Die Forscher konnten zeigen, dass viele bereits bewährte bildgebende Algorithmen im Grunde auf diesen neuen Ansatz, der auf der über hundert Jahre alten Thermodynamik beruht, zurückgeführt werden können. Es lassen sich aber auch ganz neuartige Algorithmen entwickeln. Der Begriff der Entropie war in der Theorie der Bildverarbeitung zwar schon bekannt, doch die innere Energie, die für die Bestimmung der Gibbs-Energie nötig ist, war zuvor noch nicht korrekt eingeführt worden. Dieselben Gesetze der Thermodynamik, die schon bei der industriellen Revolution einen wesentlichen Beitrag geliefert haben, könnten somit auch bei der heutigen Entwicklung von Informationstechnologien eine wichtige Rolle spielen.


Torsten Enßlin und Cornelius Weig


Referenzen:

Torsten A. Enßlin and Cornelius Weig, "Inference with minimal Gibbs free energy in information field theory", Phys. Rev. E 82, 051112 (2010)
linkPfeilExtern.gifhttp://pre.aps.org/abstract/PRE/v82/i5/e051112 linkPfeilExtern.gifhttp://arxiv.org/abs/1004.2868

Niels Oppermann, Henrik Junklewitz, Georg Robbers, Torsten A. Enßlin, "Probing Magnetic Helicity in Different Astrophysical Contexts", submitted, arXiv:1008.1246
linkPfeilExtern.gifhttp://arxiv.org/abs/1008.1246

Taylor, A. R.; Stil, J. M.; Sunstrum, C., "A Rotation Measure Image of the Sky", Volume 702, Issue 2, pp. 1230-1236 (2009)
linkPfeilExtern.gifhttp://iopscience.iop.org/0004-637X/702/2/1230/

Links

linkPfeil.gifAktuelle Forschung August 2009


drucken.gif Druckversion topPfeil.gif Top
© 2003—2017, Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, München
Letzte Änderung: 22.12.2010